We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Wonderful town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights while attending a wedding in the beautiful village of Dorncoh. The hotel looks fantastic in a perfect location in the centre of the historic town (not a modern building or tacky shop in sight) opposite the Cathedral. Enjoyed everything, staff very friendly and helpful, bar the nicest in Dornoch with real ales and malts, food great and room clean and of a decent size. I missed not having a bath in the room but the shower at least was very spacious.
Would love to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedropeteGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

This is a lovely Hotel having an excellent location in the centre of town. The staff are pleasant and the food at both breakfast and dinner is plentiful and imaginative. The Hotel was busy and they could only offer us a 'Superior' room on this visit. This entitled us to complimentary sherry, chocolates, slippers and bottled water. However none of this made up for the fact that the room itself was awful! No view, no bath a cracked sink & mis-matched furniture. Cleanliness of the bathroom was suspect, looked as if loo had not been flushed or perhaps the plumbing does not work Chambermaid should check that. I KNOW the Hotel has some lovely rooms - just make sure you ask to see your room before agreeing to pay the extra for a Superior room that just may not live up to the name.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrkneygalPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I always like to stay in one nice hotel when I'm on my yearly golfing trip to Scotland. This year it was the Dornoch Castle Hotel. It is a very fine place with comfy rooms, a breakfast that is second to none and an excellent, very competent staff. At 118 pounds, it is a bit steep but very memorable. Once again, I got lucky! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobobirdiebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Booked two nights at Dornoch castle for or anniversary. Asked for a room in the old part of the castle which was fantastic.The service and staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was very good. Dornoch is a lovely town with the most gorgeous beach. We spend to great days and are hoping to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack3462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

we booked the castle superior double room...and it was very different from the photo available in the official castle website. To be honest all the castle (facilities, dining room, restaurant) is poor, crumbling and just old...not ancient.
There is no Hall (they checked us in and out in the Bar...above the drink counter)..and then assigned us a room with old closets and dirty moquette.
The restaurant room is not in the castle but is a wooden prefabricated building...and also the garden rooms are in another prefabricated building (as we noticed while we were having breakfast in the garden..a very small garden).
So to summarize our stay, we spent 175 & to sleep one night in a cold and dusty room and to have breakfast in a wooden hut.
However they have arranged a beautiful website...unfortunately very different from the real offer.

Cristina

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisFMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2010

Thank you for the comments you have posted on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to accept criticism of service where it is due, and do our utmost to respond to any adverse comments positively.

You are certainly entitled to your opinion, however we have thousands of happy guests who return and visit us each year. Perhaps The Dornoch Castle just wasn’t for you.

Kindest Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Reviews had been mixed, but we very much enjoyed our 2 night stay. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful from the receptionist to the breakfast waitress. the hotel is in a great location in the centre of this delightful small town. Dornoch was a revelation to us and we would love to return. There did not seem to be a residents' lounge, though the public bar seemed to serve that purpose. We had a garden room which was pleasant with a view over the garden. We noted however that it had thin walls and we could hear conversations next door. The food was good, if not exceptional. Good helpings of nice food, rather than finesse and sublety!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Spent a couple of nights here, in a very well appointed family room - which was one of the best we've come across on our travels in this region. We had lunch & dinner in the hotel on our 2nd day and we were delighted with the local produce that was offered. The Dornoch mussels were wonderful, the fillet of beef was very tasty & the kids menu was very reasonably priced with smaller portions of the main menu offered. Kids loved the fresh battered fish and the very generous puddings. This is a family run hotel, with one son working in the bar & the other in the restaurant, both are very knowledgable & enthusiastic about the food & wine they offer, we were even offered samples of other wines produced by a SA winery we had not come across before.
The reception/bar area and our family room were all very pleasant and in keeping with the castle's history. However, the dining room is bit tired looking and is not deserving of the fine food and wonderful service offered - don't let it put you off eating there!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mssaffron101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, General Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and food on offer in our restaurant. We do our best to source as much food locally as we can and are delighted you picked up on this.

We are currently refurbishing the dining room, where a new carpet has just been laid and new tables and linen expected in afew weeks time.

We hope that you will return for another visit in the future.

Kindest regards
All the Staff and Dornoch Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
201 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: £126 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing