We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, wonderful hosts”
Review of Hillside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside B&B
Ranked #6 of 12 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We can’t say enough about Tony and Jill. They are such lovely people, friendly and welcoming. When we asked Tony about walks in the area, he spent quite a bit of time going over a map with us and showing us the various books provided in the guest lounge. The guest lounge and dining area are spacious and comfortable, and Tony and Jill provide excellent breakfasts! The room was very comfortable and the shower was excellent. Hillside is in walking distance to Smoo Cave and to the Smoo Cave Hotel where we ate dinner both nights that we were there. We enjoyed staying here tremendously, and wished that we had stayed longer than two nights. If you visit Durness, Tony and Jill are absolutely the people with whom to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our car broke down a mile outside Durness. Tony not only fetched us, and took us back again to meet the break-down truck two hours later, but got our bikes, bike rack and possessions back to Hillside, AND took us 30 miles to Tongue when the car was ready for collection. What hotel would provide this service? Plus, lovely breakfasts and a really nice en-suite room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squiz0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Couldn't agree more. It is really like being at home (except someone else does the cooking and cleaning!).

We felt really relaxed and comfortable at Hillside. Tony and Jill are very very welcoming and accommodating - Tony even provided the French translation for "gooseberry"!

Thanks for a great time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mr_Haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

When you arrive at Jill and Tony B&B. It is like to arrive at home. They are really nice and welcoming person. Place is really cozy and peaceful. You stay with pleasure in the living room. On the morning, breakfast is really good and complete.
Message for biker, you will also find welcome there, Jill and Tony have developped a special area to park your motorbike. For sure, I ll go again there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely B&B with great owners. Tony is very welcoming and happy to help out with information and recommendations for the area. I just love that about B&Bs...you get to meet people living within the community and if you're lucky you get owners like Tony and Jill!

Our beds were quite cozy, breakfast was delicious (mmm...warm croissants), and the location is central to all the major to-dos in Durness. What more do you need?

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very warm welcome from Jill and Tony who made us feel totally at home with a wonderful treat of banana bread with a brew. Our room was lovely with an incredibly comfortable bed and a nice modern bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and set us up perfectly for the rest of our day. Will hopefully go back again sometime to stay a bit longer!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caddy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Was a one night stop over in Durness and im glad tripadvisor brought me to Hillside B&B. Jill and Tony (the owners) are fantastic they truely welcome you to their home. Well recommended and i will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pwilson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hillside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside B&B

Address: Durness IV27 4QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New property situated in the small village of Durness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside B&B Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing