We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!”
Review of Bae Seren B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bae Seren B&B
Ranked #4 of 12 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night but could have easily stayed longer! We loved it here. Jill and Tony were so helpful and friendly. The lounge was a real comfy treat and the breakfast was superb! We ate in the Smoo cave hotel which was great and then took in some breathtakingly views at the very nearby beach. We love our cosy stay here and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dj a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

I arrived soaking wet / dripping ! A cup of tea put into my hand where I was told to give everything to Karen, who very kindly took from me and whilst baking a cake looking after three gorgeous kids and preparing food for the bairns, got my room sorted out offered me a jumper for visiting the pub for my tea - greeting other guessed and showing them the same hospitality that I received (they did have more clothes on ! ) I relaxed in the lounge / sitting room area and warmed up with a lovely wood burning stove. A large selection of local maps / books were all at hand to read.
I can't thank Karen enough a H.O.G. springs to mind which She definitely has. After a really good night sleep I opened my door to find magic pixies had washed dried and folded all the clothes that were sodden from my previous days cycling.
I never write reviews but this had to be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthbyNorthWest90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Karen and Kevan didn't make it happen but we enjoyed three of the sunniest days (out of 36) in Scotland while staying in Durness. But they did make the days even better because we had a great place to return to in the evenings. Karen helped us with local information as well. And then there were the breakfasts: Wow. I had hoped to loose a little weight while on holiday. Breakfasts like this didn't help!

We would definitely recommend staying at Bae Seren.

Room Tip: The room on the northwest corner gives a great view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnutGeorgiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very nice welcome from Karen with tea and banana loaf – delicious! We only stayed one night but could not fault it in any way. Very comfortable room. We used the guest lounge which was much better than just spending time in our room. Plentiful breakfast set us up for a great day in the area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spend three nights in Bae Seren and enjoyed the incredible hospitality and service of Karen & Kev. Rooms flawless, service flawless, breakfast flawless and behold...even the scenery of durness is flawless (which is not in the owners' hands). Totally recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitemantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Gorgeous location for this B & B, not too far from Durness and convenient for visiting the area. Above all, Karen and Kevan will offer you a warm welcome, a clean and spacious room and comfortable beds (try absolutely the comfortable mattresses ... perfect for unforgettable sleep), with a beautiful view to the outside. Value for money unbeatable. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenatoPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Wonderful value for money.double bed but it was comfortable. Family were delightful , different set up with lounge for guests downstairs, rather than tv in room, felt a little like we were intervening in their life, but they just encouraged us to use the room ,which we did on second night. Both Kevan N Karen very helpful with any info on the area .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
18.6 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
357 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bae Seren B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bae Seren B&B

Address: Smoo A838, Durness IV27 4QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Price Range: £45 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bae Seren is a new property with Cape Wrath and sea views. All local amenities within walking distance. Large parking area. Both double rooms have en-suite facilities and tariff includes breakfast. £70 For a double room and £50 for single occupancy.Family room available with a private bathroom but without a shower.Family room has a kingsize bed and a single bed and available from £70 for double occupancy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bae Seren B&B Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing