We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hosts, great view”
Review of Bae Seren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bae Seren
Ranked #3 of 11 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alfeld (Leine), Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hosts, great view”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very nice family. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and some little cakes. Talked about our apparently similar taste in books. I like it when B&B hosts do not just show you your room and make you breakfast but try to get to know you and talk a little. The room was nice and comfortable and you habe a nice view of the cost. Breakfast was good.
Would stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Citty29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
89
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Its the little things you appreciate isn't it? Being welcomed with cake and tea, finding a jug of fresh milk in your room for a cup of tea at your leisure. Karen made us so welcome, while effortlessly managing also to look after her three very well behaved children. The rooms are spacious and very clean and a range of toiletries are provided in your ensuite room. The breakfast was delicious and plenty of it in the lounge/dining room for guests. Would recommend visits to Smoo cave and the Cocoa Mountain chocolatier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikerj3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lully, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It is a tastefully decorated B&B in Durness where we spent a restful night. Our hosts were attentive and kind. We were welcomed with a nice cup of tea and delicious homemade cookies. If you get the same room than us and you are lucky with the weather (it is Scotland…), you will have the opportunity of admiring a splendid sunset over the North Sea from your bed, as we did. The breakfast was also nice and before we went off to watch the puffins, Karen gave us very detailed instructions on where to stay to watch them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in Bae Seren for two nights while on fieldwork in the area. The room we stayed in was very cosy and clean, and the beds were lovely after a long day of driving and hiking. We were also recommended the Smoo Cave Hotel for dinner, which was very tasty. Breakfast was delicious, and we were especially appreciate our host helping us fix our car when he noticed it needed some work!

All in all, I would recommend Bae Seren wholeheartedly, and hope to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnumnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A lovely B&B with very friendly hosts. we were made to feel very welocme and the three resident children were very kind in letting our 5 year old play with them. The only slightly negative thing for me was that the bed was a wee bit soft - I prefer a harder mattress. But overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddyBadger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After a scenic overload bus trip on the Tongue for Transport bus I arrived in Durness hoping to stay at the Lazybackpackers YHA. No luck there-- full of American soldiers doing war games.! Other hostel not open for another three days. Panic! Saved by the helpful staff at the Tourist Information centre who put me in touch with Karen and hey presto no... worries. Cup of tea and cake and introductions to the three children and newly arrived chickens which were being loved almost to death: the chickens that is.
Had a fine but blustery time exploring; beaches, Smoo cave and the headland to the east of it. Fine views but got blown over by the wind. The Landlord of the Smoo Cave Hotel later described it as "just a wee breeze". Called in there for a glass of wine to help recover and to check out the menu for a later evening meal,
Returned to Bae Seren for more chicken adoration and impromptu ukelele lessons and Karens' confirmation that the Durness bus would stop outside the stile to transport me away the following morning.
So back to the Smoo Cave Hotel for supper and another glass of the Merlot , both very reasonable. A slightly less windy wander back "home", a quick read then off to a very comfortable room and a good nights sleep.
All in all a very pleasurable experience. I would recommend Bae Seren wholeheartedly and I would go back again without hesitation although I would have to admit to having forgotten the names of the chickens! Almost had a tear in my eye as I waved farewell.
If you are exploring by public transport, the ride on the Durness bus to Lairg is a joy.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryWelch1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Bae Seren was a haven as our day driving from Inverness via John O'Groats moved into an early night. Karen and her three delightful children welcomed my husband, my 22-year-old son and me into their warm home and we settled in with a cup of tea and mince tarts in the downstairs lounge room available for guests. Karen suggested we dine at the Smoo Cave Hotel, nearby: the dinner was tasty and filling. Our bedrooms at Bae Seren were very comfortable, decorated with local works of art. The next morning, we ate a delicious breakfast before setting off on our drive to the Isle of Skye. We would recommend Bae Seren without hesitation. It is an excellent B&B.

Room Tip: Both attractively decorated bedrooms are upstairs, with views across to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quabothoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
18.4 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
13.5 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bae Seren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bae Seren

Property: Bae Seren
Address: Smoo, Durness IV27 4QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bae Seren is a new property with Cape Wrath and sea views. All local amenities within walking distance. Large parking area. All rooms have en-suite facilities and tarif includes breakfast. £65 For a double room and £50 for single occupancy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bae Seren Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing