We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorhome holiday in Highlands”
Review of Sango Sands Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sango Sands Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We hired a motorhome from Perth with our 3 little girls. We headed up through brora and caithness, john o'groats. We booked at Sango for 2 nights because we had plans to see lots of locations nearby such as the smoo caves, cape wrath, which were amazing. The pitch we had was fabulous, just on the cliff edge overlooking the beach. Felt a little bit too close to the other motorhomes, but I expect that's so everyone can get a good view too. The facilities were quite poor. The laundry room was a bit grotty. The showers are unisex, very dated and not clean. I headed to the showers with our 3 daughters only to hear a man loudly clearing the contents of his nose under his running shower. The showers were also quite dark even during the daytime. My youngest daughter pointed out a pair of men's underpants lying in full view on the floor outside the shower block door, and they looked like they had been there for days. Needless to say we decided not to use the onsite showers. The toilets were freezing and smelly. No sockets for hairdryers. The chemical toilet waste area was right next to the fresh drinking Water tap!! This site seemed to have lots of campers with dogs Which is fine With us but walking along the grassy hilltop from the site down to the beach Was a nightmare with our children as there was dog mess everywhere . Why can 't people clear up after their own pet . We would stay again if the site updated their facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank ustravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Sango Sands Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We are from
London and have 2 under 5's. This was our first time in Scotland and we loved it. The campsite has great location. Just a min away are two stunning white sand beaches. 3 min away are the shops. The facilities are good. I would like the bathroom to be modernised but it had plenty of hot water.
Due to the proximity to the Ocean be prepared for high wind.

All in all one of the best campsite I've been.
Recommended ...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank AnCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I'll start with the positive..... :) Great short grass/fairly flat/easy to peg out and to pitch a tent.......wonderful sea & mountain views.......clean white big sandy beach.....shop & very good restaurant /pub within 8 minutes’ walk......site price very reasonable .....Wonderful walks/cycling/fishing/sightseeing/boat & bus trip to Cape Wrath.....It has almost everything one would need for a happy relaxing time whether alone, couples or family in Scotland’s beautiful North West
But and it’s a huge but.....Dirty bordering on disgusting showers with human hair blocking the drainage hole so the water floods the floors with grey used soppy water....Floor & wall tiles cracked with black mouldy grouting....paper towel bins overflowing mixing with the grey water on the floor that you have to stand in waiting in queue for the shower........Toilets with the same black tiles & grouting..... floors that have not seen a mop for days and the smell :( ....... and there’s more........Refuge bins fly ridden overflowing right outside the Shower/Toilet Block right next to the drinking water tap........& when I raised these points with staff I was told the I " was a bloody nuisance ".....when I complained to the owner David all he said was " The site should only have a Max. Of 96 to 100 campers on site at any one time & he had double plus that number and his staff were over worked and tired”
True the site was full.... fit to bust!!!!.... We were crammed in with only 2/3 meters apart and not the legal Fire regulations minimum 5 meters from the next tent.
The washing & toilet/showers are old and dirty and belong in the 90's when they were built and have no place in the 21st century.
What a crying shame that such a perfect camp site motto is profit first.......

5  Thank vwdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Located at Sango Sands beach hilltop this is a great location with on site showers kitchen facilities and a decent bar restaurant. Reasonably priced and accommodates tents, vans and has a variety of electrical hookups. Plenty of walks from here and a couple of convenience stores within 100 yards. Midges a bit of bother but thats to be expected in the geography also can get a bit windy but then again thats all part of the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mathilde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaFataIgnorante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hgeurtsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
13.3 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
355 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
337 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
19.2 mi away
Farr Cottage Bed & Breakfast
19.5 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sango Sands Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sango Sands Oasis

Address: Sango Bay, Durness IV27 4PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Durness
Also Known As:
Sango Sands Oasis Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing