We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoo cave”
Review of Smoo Cave

Smoo Cave
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Durness
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smoo cave”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great place to be . We drive from Aberdeen . Cave is huge and I hope they soon find another cave and we will back and see . Worth to go,many beautiful places around.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    271
    69
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing cave in the far north”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very interesting deep high cave with a lovely waterfall you can look at from a wooden platform - needs to be low tide. The cove is narrow and a little like Boscastle when you look down it to the sea. YOu can just walk inside the main bit for free and glance round and stroll around at low tide. YOu need to choose your time therefore also with the short boat trip into the inner cave which is fascinating. Very good staff who run it. A wonderful experience. to do boat trip you need to be able to get down a short ladder to the inflatable boat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lorneslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Take the boat trip to get the best experience”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A short walk from the car park and toilets is all you need to find the cave itself. There are boards telling you about the cave and the digs they've done and what they've found. The boat trip is the best thing to access (£4 per person) as Colin will take you round to the most isolated part of the cave where you disembark and he tells you about the rock and what he expects to find at his next dig (he digs in the winter). If you want to check out the digs the address is smoocavetours.weebly.com You also get to go right underneath the waterfall which is wonderful to see. Top tip: You have to duck to get under the bridge whilst on the boat and when it's raining the cave river swells so the boat tours can't run. Colin is an expert so you won't get stuck, but if it's been raining a lot go straight for the tour then have a walk round the cave after so you don't miss it. Right near Smoo caves is the John Lennon memorial garden - John used to holiday in Durness as a child, and he took Yoko there to visit it. It's free so worth 10 minutes to stop and have a look.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cheezoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Was really looking forward to Smoo Cave and wasn't disappointed. Its at 10-15 min walk down to caves but the walk is down steps so quite to steep to walk back up. Take care. The cave is awesome and a lot bigger than I imagined. Unfortunately we arrived for the last boat trip and it was full so we missed getting the boat right round the inside of the cave and waterfall so I was a little disappointed. I advise to arrive mid afternoon to guarantee you get the boat trip. Didn't take away the awesome sight though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam190777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botucatu, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was travelling with my girlfriend then we saw the signs to visite the cave. The visit was amazing because the tour was in "Portinglesh". We are from Brazil and Colin has a good portuguese! Thanks Colin.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CesarBassetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smoo Cave also viewed

Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Smoo Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing