We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B and B in Durness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Orchid Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Orchid Guest House
Ranked #9 of 11 Durness B&B and Inns
La Bouexiere, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“B and B in Durness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Good time in B and B "Wild Orchid" in Durness. Nice people and Owners. We spent two weeks in that place. Quiet, breackfast was perfect. It is a good place to stay in Durness. Just at the entrance of the village, near the "spar". Be aware that you have to pay by cash. No card accepted.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franckducz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    42
    42
    7
    1
See reviews for
10
63
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Wild Orchid. The accommodation is basic but comfortable and certainly adequate for our needs. We stayed for about three nights and wanted to get out and about exploring. The hosts were very welcoming and had several excellent suggestions of what to do in the local area. We shared a meal with them on the final night which was a really nice touch.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PI00980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Having the need for a 9 hour legal break, our time here was from 3pm to midnight, not your normal Bed and Breakfast then.
WELL, this was soon put right by the ever welcoming Kathy, cup of Tea and a slice of home made bread pudding went down well. our breakfast was to be an evening meal, Pie, Chips and Peas was our choice, and what a choice that turned out to be, the STEAK PIE, enormous and just melted in the mouth, I would go as far to say I have never tasted better, SO, if you are ever offered an evening meal, go for the steak pie.
Rooms, a little on the small side, but there again you only sleep in them, clean, tidy and accomodating, well done to the owners.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed 1 night at the Wild Orchid Guesthouse and were very happy with the standard of the rooms. We had a decent night's sleep and found the room very quiet. Everything was spotlessly clean and there were plenty of soft towels and toiletries provided (the 4 star hotel we stayed in the previous night didn't even provide soap to wash our hands!). The owners were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast, which was served in the conservatory, was copious and delicious with the added bonus of freshly cooked scottish pancakes that day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anneinyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed two nights and rented three bedrooms that had different standards for the same price: Two double with very small beds (1.20 m wide) and a twin. We missed at one double a bed table where to put the cup of tea. All rooms en suite with tiny bathrooms. The landlady was friendly and served an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The rooms at this guest house are tiny, and may even give a claustrophobic feeling, so is the en suit bathroom. The beds are much too soft, with worn out mattress springs. I have seen more friendly host in northern Scotland, but they may have had some bad experience with wild guests at the Wild Orchid.
If you are looking for something to eat and drink in the evening, The Smoo Cave Hotel is 1.4 miles away on foot, and about a 2 miles car ride. The way back may be a bit too much with gale winds and some beer in the belly.
In the morning you have your typical Scottish breakfast in a very nice glass paneled dining room.
I would consider this option only if there are no vacancies at B&B's closer to Smoo Cave.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Only stayed 1 evening in Durness but we were very pleased with our accommodation.

Janet and Kathy were extremely accommodating. We arrived before the room was available and they kindly offered for me to sit in the lounge area to do some work on my computer.

The room was very comfortable, with ensuite and all we needed. They also provided a delicious evening meal (with prior notice) at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
13.4 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
17.5 mi away
Borgie Lodge
Borgie Lodge
#4 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Orchid Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Guest House

Property: Wild Orchid Guest House
Address: Durness, Durness IV27 4PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Guest House Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing