We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little guest house at the ends of Scotland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Orchid Guest House
Ranked #9 of 11 Durness B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cute little guest house at the ends of Scotland”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

After a long day of driving, we arrived here to a warm welcome from our hosts. Basic room, with a good clean bathroom. Did not miss having a TV, but people who need one should note this. Breakfast was fine in the conservatory, but no offers of gluten free bread which we had got used to in our travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnenJimEuropeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    44
    46
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
66
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caleta De Velez, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at this B&B while promoting the North Highland Way. The owners and staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Nice conservatory for breakfast which was very filling - we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day! No TV in rooms wasn't a problem as there is a spacious lounge. Rooms were comfortable and welcoming. A great stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGoNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a small double room and that is what it was "Small" It still cost £70 for one night .The guest sitting room was comfortable . Breakfast in the morning you had to make your own toast and help yourself to coffee from the coffee machine.full English cooked breakfast was average .Sorry but if we were coming back to Scotland we would not stay here .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

This is a basic guest house. It is dated but very clean.

Breakfasts are quite good.

Showers small but serviceable.

No tv in room.

The bed and pillows were quite good.

Would recommend staying if you can not go higher end.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gongboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This guest house has everything necessary for a comfortable stay, with a large guest sitting room and a nice conservatory for breakfast. The standard of accomodation and the breakfast were average. Our room (1) lacked some of the finer points, such as a mirror in the bedroom (there was one in the bathroom) and a bedside table for one bed. The owners were very friendly.

Although I have rated this guest house as average I would be happy to stay there again. ( In my experience guest house and B&B standards in Scotland have risen a lot in recent years, so my expectations are high)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My friend and I only had the chance to stay at this lovely bed and breakfast for one night, but the rooms were very clean and welcoming and the bed was very comfortable. The service from the owners was very good, nothing was too much trouble. Would really love to stay again one day!! Thank you. Oh, and the breakfast, awesome xx

Room Tip: Awesomely recommend tis lovely bed and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesHarpaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A couple of years ago I was driving coaches and one of my last jobs was to drive to Durness from Poole with another driver. After a very drawn out drive with the coach having an alternator fail and traffic delays we were almost up on our driving hours when we got there. We arrived at about 3pm and needed to catch some sleep as we were aiming to be back on the road for the long hike back after our 9 hours rest. The lady who ran the B&B said as we had not go there in time for breakfast and as we were aiming to leave at midnight that she would make us an evening meal. We woke up about 8:30pm and were given what has to be the best homemade steak and ale pie, homemade chips and peas ive ever tasted. It was delicious. And for pudding a homemade bread and butter pudding.The lady and her staff were great hosts and I strongly recommend this b&b if youre up that way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dontbuysunholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
13.4 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
328 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
293 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Orchid Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Guest House

Property: Wild Orchid Guest House
Address: Durness, Durness IV27 4PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Guest House Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing