We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of rooms, good breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Orchid Guest House
Ranked #10 of 12 Durness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here after the place we originally booked had a family crisis and couldn't host us. We were happy to find somewhere on a very wet and cold day. The room was small with twin beds and no tv, but comfortable enough with hot water in the shower. The breakfast was good. It was just a bigger motel type place and we were really looking for small home style type bed and breakfast style. But we loved Durness!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sohappyincuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

After a long day of driving, we arrived here to a warm welcome from our hosts. Basic room, with a good clean bathroom. Did not miss having a TV, but people who need one should note this. Breakfast was fine in the conservatory, but no offers of gluten free bread which we had got used to in our travels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnenJimEuropeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at this B&B while promoting the North Highland Way. The owners and staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Nice conservatory for breakfast which was very filling - we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day! No TV in rooms wasn't a problem as there is a spacious lounge. Rooms were comfortable and welcoming. A great stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsGoNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a small double room and that is what it was "Small" It still cost £70 for one night .The guest sitting room was comfortable . Breakfast in the morning you had to make your own toast and help yourself to coffee from the coffee machine.full English cooked breakfast was average .Sorry but if we were coming back to Scotland we would not stay here .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a basic guest house. It is dated but very clean.

Breakfasts are quite good.

Showers small but serviceable.

No tv in room.

The bed and pillows were quite good.

Would recommend staying if you can not go higher end.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Gongboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This guest house has everything necessary for a comfortable stay, with a large guest sitting room and a nice conservatory for breakfast. The standard of accomodation and the breakfast were average. Our room (1) lacked some of the finer points, such as a mirror in the bedroom (there was one in the bathroom) and a bedside table for one bed. The owners were very friendly.

Although I have rated this guest house as average I would be happy to stay there again. ( In my experience guest house and B&B standards in Scotland have risen a lot in recent years, so my expectations are high)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My friend and I only had the chance to stay at this lovely bed and breakfast for one night, but the rooms were very clean and welcoming and the bed was very comfortable. The service from the owners was very good, nothing was too much trouble. Would really love to stay again one day!! Thank you. Oh, and the breakfast, awesome xx

Room Tip: Awesomely recommend tis lovely bed and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesHarpaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
19.0 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
351 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
370 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
19.3 mi away
Farr Cottage Bed & Breakfast
19.6 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Orchid Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Guest House

Address: Durness, Durness IV27 4PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Guest House Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing