We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Spacious House. Good B and B.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golspie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granite Villa Guest House
Ranked #4 of 9 Golspie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Granite Villa is a fine turn-of-the-century Scottish style house with strong lines and solid construction. We stayed in room 3. Large and spacious and well appointed. Busy floral wallpaper. Well appointed modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable too.

The breakfast on offer was very good. Serried ranks of jams and marmalades and even peanut butter. Well cooked eggs and good bacon. The plate was very hot. Huge selection of cereals and good fruiit and yoghurt.

Two small niggles. The wi-fi in room three was not useable (although it was fine on the landing on the stairs), and there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the entrance hall, and also on the towels.

Even so - Thank you, Jane, for an enjoyable and comfortable stay. A lovely house and you treated us very well. And it was nice to meet the dogs.

Room Tip: Room 3 is large and faces the front. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidity060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

Everything was fine. Would stay here again. "Shabby chic"--that's ok by me. Breakfast room was modern in decor and that was ok by me also. Homemade lemon curd was excellant! Nice off street parking area. Super large room. Enjoyed the space. Small point: the carpet on the stairs really needed a good "hoovering" but everything else was just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlw1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Warm welcome. House in a quiet location. Very well furnished, bright & spacious room for three with comfortable beds & modern bathroom. All very clean & well maintained. Good breakfast-selection with homemade! honey & lemon curd, very delicious! We really liked our stay & would certainly return

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth2553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great stay, lovely breakfast & in the ideal place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raeboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

“One of Scotland’s finest B&Bs”

Granite Villa’s ideal and convenient location sits on a very quiet residential street off the main road through Golspie. This beautiful home is surrounded by a well manicured yard and a parking area to allow off street parking. The exceptional period details of Granite Villa include a hand restored tile entry. Our room was very comfortable, clean, spacious and well maintained. Jane’s warm personality and friendliness made us feel very welcome and more than just passing tourists. She served an outstanding, delicious breakfast, most of which was provided from local farms and included a wide variety of her own honey and homemade jams. For dog-lovers, her four-footed ambassadors of goodwill were an unexpected and welcome benefit to our stay. For those who aren’t dog-lovers, you may not even know they are there, as both dogs are very quiet, well-mannered, and only come out upon special request. With no hesitation, we highly recommend Granite Villa as it would make a great home base to tour the castle and other local attractions!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Perfect B & B, providing everything anyone could want, Situated in a quiet street but very handy for trips all over the neighbourhood and for good for walking around Goslpie

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Golspie is ideally situated for starting the JOGLE. Jane was such a wonderful host and really made our stay with her deligthful. Whether it was the full cooked breakfast or porridge with home 'grown' honey the quailty of the food was the best. Well appointed rooms made the stay comfortable and after a long day cycling Jane was very helpful in getting us fuelled for the next day. The use of a large sitting room meant that we were never under each others feet when getting ready for a night out and Jane's dogs made ours very welcome. Jane was a great fountain of knowledge for the best places to go for a dog friendly walk while the guys cycled the day away. We were sorry to leave and are already planning another visit soon!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent - we had the family room and its was very spacious. Although we did arg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOGLE-CYCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Granite Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granite Villa Guest House

Address: Granite Villa Fountain Road, Golspie KW10 6TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Golspie
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Golspie
Price Range: £32 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Granite Villa Guest House Golspie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing