We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Golspie Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golspie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golspie Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Golspie B&B and Inns
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Travelling down from Orkney on our way to Glasgow, this was a last minute stopover for us, a lot of work is going on here as it has only been opened then for about 6wks, so plenty of work going on which didn't bother us. Room was ok, can't say much for the bed which sank in the middle. Breakfast was ok plenty on the plate, nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltybobful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    46
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
38
49
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orkney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stopped in for the night for a rest for carrying on South from Orkney. Have driven by many times and always admired the exterior. Owner was very welcoming and showed us to our room and explained they were new and doing some renovations. The room was O.K., it was large and new carpeting was evident but definitely needing some more updating. We decided to eat in the bar restaurant since it was conveniently located downstairs. The meal was excellent and good value for money. I had the monkfish which was cooked perfectly and my husband loved his homemade soup. We sent back compliments to the chef. The girls who waited on us were lovely and couldn't do more for you. Went for a walk afterwards to get some fresh air and came back for a pint in their bar where we enjoyed a chat with the locals. We wish the new owners the best of luck in their new endeavor and will stop in again to stay and see the new renovations on our next trip South!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Staff were very polite and friendly.
however the food wasnt good. The fish was dripping in fat and the chips had half a tone of salt on them. The salad however was very good. Every so often you could hear what we presume to be the chef shouting, which really wasnt very professional, very of putting. We will not be returning for another meal.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just had a very enjoyable meal at The Golspie Inn. The service was excellent and the waitresses attentive and polite. Monkfish was cooked perfectly with ample portions. Homemade Apple Pie and custard is delicious and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We went to the Golspie Inn for a pub meal on a Friday night in September during a long-weekend in Golspie with friends. The website says there are 4 different places to eat in the Inn - I suspect the food may all be the same. We were greeted well and made to feel welcome. The waitresses, who were all lovely girls, didn't know if the bar had IPA or Guinness on tap - this is basic. The waitress then got our drinks order wrong - we said nothing, sometime you know you're on a loser! They also didn't know anything about the wine list. The staff have potential - they need to be trained. The shortcomings are not their fault.

We all had soup for a starter - the chicken soup tasted suspiciously like Heinz with something added. The Brora Crab Bisque was ok. My wife had the curry as her main course. When the waitress served it the cling-film (from the microwave) was hanging off the bottom of the plate. The curry looked like one solid mass - the presentation was poor. I had the steak and ale pie - which was fine. The fresh vegetables served as a side dish were excellent. The mince and potatoes main was good.

The place is being renovated - difficult to see what has been done to date - the decor in the dining room is very 1970s, the gents' toilets were clean but grim. The reception area is scruffy.

We witnessed a few clangers from the staff including, leaving the wrong food in front of one diner for a good few minutes before taking it away and giving it straight to somebody on the next table (I wonder of they stole a chip!)

If you want an evening free from sophistication this is the place to go. There are much better place to eat in the area. That being said, we may visit the place next time we're in the area to see if the new owners have made progress - if they haven't I don't think we'd risk it again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel, so I cannot comment on the rooms. My wife and I went for a meal on a thursday night.
I had prawn cocktail , a duck special and "homemade" apple pie.
She had mushroom and garlic chicken.
The food was lovely, the only flaw for me was the apple pie may have been " home assembled" , but was not " home made" the apples were clearly tinned or a ready mix. Far too soft and sugary for me. The duck was cooked to perfection however, as was the chicken.
The opinion around the village appears to be the service at the Golspie is slow or poor. Personally I found the waitresses to be extremely polite and courteous, but I have to agree that their attentiveness needs some work. I could see other tables looking about to ask to pay, and after 10 mins of waiting ourselves we went to the bar to settle our bill.
All said, that's a minor issue as far as I am concerned.
Value was good as well, two starters, two mains and a pudding as well as five drinks came to under £50.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldocapaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

It is perhaps unfair to write a review just a couple of weeks after a restaurant has been taken over by new owners as it takes a bit of time to get a grip of a new place. I have however give this review with that caution.

The bar and dining areas need a little attention to the decor and lighting which is currently bland and lifeless. The staff, while friendly, are slightly disorganised. The food was good without being excellent but I believe there is a market there for good pub food if the owners chose to provide it.

I would encourage other reviewers to update the progress of the new owners and it will be interesting to see how the Golspie Inn develops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golspie
4.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
7.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
11.9 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golspie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golspie Inn

Property: Golspie Inn
Address: Old Bank Road, Golspie KW10 6RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Golspie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Golspie
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golspie Inn Hotel is an historic coastal Coaching Inn built in 1808 with a long, rich and varied history over more than two centuries. Being next door to the 189-roomed Dunrobin Castle, it has witnessed at first hand many local historical events, notably the Clearances commencing in the early 1800's. Oh, and we have the oldest active post box in Scotland! We are ideally situated on the A9 for touring the whole of Sutherland - the only county in Britain with 3 coasts - and the Northern Highlands of Scotland. Our restaurants and bars serve high quality and value for money food and drink all day, including fresh shellfish from our own family boat. We do many functions and live musical and cultural events that reflect our traditional roots. We do many packages including golf, weddings, Christmmas and New Year to name but 3, and also many tours including sightseeing. distillery, castles, culture and heritage. As flexibility is our middle name, we have designed our own packages for you but are equally happy to put together made to measure packages customised by you. Golspie has become a popular venue for various sporting events. The award-winning mountain biking Highland Wildcat, considered by many to best the best in Britain, tracks down Ben Bhraggie whilst blending into the natural environment. Safe and secure bike storage and washing and drying facilities are available here at the Golspie Inn Hotel. We are also on the John O' Groats to Land's End bicycle route and we are an ideal staging post for either the first night on the way down or the last night on the way up! For swimmers, Golspie is home to an award-winning beach and there are many safe sandy beaches all around. Fishing is available on the local rivers and lochs and sea fishing can be arranged. Horse riding is available at local stables with guided treks provided. This is a stunningly beautiful area with much to do and see. For the walker,for example, the hour long round trip to the hidden gem of the lovely Big Burn walk with all its magnificence and thundering waterfall starts from our own front door - but you may well want to tarry! Or let us take you on a leisurely 6 mile walk along the beach from Brora to Golspie passing 2,000 years of history before returning to the hotel for tea and freshly-baked hot scones. There is an abundance of outstanding wildlife, flora and fauna on our doorstep. Salmon, thousands of wading and other seabirds, seals and otters. Wild mountain goats, deer, pine marten and the naturally shy wildcat - the emblem of Sutherland - to name but a few. These are just some of the many diverse activities and attractions to be enjoyed when you come to and stay at the Golspie Inn Hotel and we look forward welcoming you here in the near future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golspie Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing