We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & super service from new restaurant”
Review of Golspie Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golspie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golspie Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Golspie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Golspie Inn has just re-opened with new owners and management and we’d heard the food was good so chose to eat there on recently. The Inn is a fabulous old building that provides a very comfortable environment for eating out and we were not disappointed.

We had Steak and Chicken Breast stuffed with Black Pudding and Haggis from the standard menu, from the blackboard we had a portion of the Gravalax Salmon to start and Cheescake and Choco desert off the menu again for pud. All was accompanied by a pleasant bottle of smooth Chilean Merlot that was one of the house reds.

The food was very tasty, well presented and delivered timely - the service was friendly, attentive but not oppressive – just right!

Good luck with the new venture to the staff and management.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tidi-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Golspie Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Went for a meal and encountered one of the most blatant acts of degrading behaviour towards people less fortunate than the general populace.
The staff were friendly and helpful but the steak I received was over cooked, this was remedied by a fresh one but there was a tremendous amount of salt put on the already seasoned frozen chips.
My friend and I then took the opportunity to have a blether and relax with a drink. After a while some workmen that were staying in the hotel started being very derogatory toward some people with disabilities and were blatantly laughing at them, I found this very distasteful especially as the bar person did nothing to discourage this behaviour, instead participated in the laughter. I said my piece and left.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Travelling down from Orkney on our way to Glasgow, this was a last minute stopover for us, a lot of work is going on here as it has only been opened then for about 6wks, so plenty of work going on which didn't bother us. Room was ok, can't say much for the bed which sank in the middle. Breakfast was ok plenty on the plate, nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltybobful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stopped in for the night for a rest for carrying on South from Orkney. Have driven by many times and always admired the exterior. Owner was very welcoming and showed us to our room and explained they were new and doing some renovations. The room was O.K., it was large and new carpeting was evident but definitely needing some more updating. We decided to eat in the bar restaurant since it was conveniently located downstairs. The meal was excellent and good value for money. I had the monkfish which was cooked perfectly and my husband loved his homemade soup. We sent back compliments to the chef. The girls who waited on us were lovely and couldn't do more for you. Went for a walk afterwards to get some fresh air and came back for a pint in their bar where we enjoyed a chat with the locals. We wish the new owners the best of luck in their new endeavor and will stop in again to stay and see the new renovations on our next trip South!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Staff were very polite and friendly.
however the food wasnt good. The fish was dripping in fat and the chips had half a tone of salt on them. The salad however was very good. Every so often you could hear what we presume to be the chef shouting, which really wasnt very professional, very of putting. We will not be returning for another meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just had a very enjoyable meal at The Golspie Inn. The service was excellent and the waitresses attentive and polite. Monkfish was cooked perfectly with ample portions. Homemade Apple Pie and custard is delicious and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We went to the Golspie Inn for a pub meal on a Friday night in September during a long-weekend in Golspie with friends. The website says there are 4 different places to eat in the Inn - I suspect the food may all be the same. We were greeted well and made to feel welcome. The waitresses, who were all lovely girls, didn't know if the bar had IPA or Guinness on tap - this is basic. The waitress then got our drinks order wrong - we said nothing, sometime you know you're on a loser! They also didn't know anything about the wine list. The staff have potential - they need to be trained. The shortcomings are not their fault.

We all had soup for a starter - the chicken soup tasted suspiciously like Heinz with something added. The Brora Crab Bisque was ok. My wife had the curry as her main course. When the waitress served it the cling-film (from the microwave) was hanging off the bottom of the plate. The curry looked like one solid mass - the presentation was poor. I had the steak and ale pie - which was fine. The fresh vegetables served as a side dish were excellent. The mince and potatoes main was good.

The place is being renovated - difficult to see what has been done to date - the decor in the dining room is very 1970s, the gents' toilets were clean but grim. The reception area is scruffy.

We witnessed a few clangers from the staff including, leaving the wrong food in front of one diner for a good few minutes before taking it away and giving it straight to somebody on the next table (I wonder of they stole a chip!)

If you want an evening free from sophistication this is the place to go. There are much better place to eat in the area. That being said, we may visit the place next time we're in the area to see if the new owners have made progress - if they haven't I don't think we'd risk it again!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golspie
7.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
469 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
198 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
799 reviews
11.9 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golspie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golspie Inn

Address: Old Bank Road, Golspie KW10 6RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Golspie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Golspie
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golspie Inn Hotel is an historic coastal Coaching Inn built in 1808 with a long, rich and varied history over more than two centuries. Being next door to the 189-roomed Dunrobin Castle, it has witnessed at first hand many local historical events, notably the Clearances commencing in the early 1800's. Oh, and we have the oldest active post box in Scotland! We are ideally situated on the A9 for touring the whole of Sutherland - the only county in Britain with 3 coasts - and the Northern Highlands of Scotland. Our restaurants and bars serve high quality and value for money food and drink all day, including fresh shellfish from our own family boat. We do many functions and live musical and cultural events that reflect our traditional roots. We do many packages including golf, weddings, Christmmas and New Year to name but 3, and also many tours including sightseeing. distillery, castles, culture and heritage. As flexibility is our middle name, we have designed our own packages for you but are equally happy to put together made to measure packages customised by you. Golspie has become a popular venue for various sporting events. The award-winning mountain biking Highland Wildcat, considered by many to best the best in Britain, tracks down Ben Bhraggie whilst blending into the natural environment. Safe and secure bike storage and washing and drying facilities are available here at the Golspie Inn Hotel. We are also on the John O' Groats to Land's End bicycle route and we are an ideal staging post for either the first night on the way down or the last night on the way up! For swimmers, Golspie is home to an award-winning beach and there are many safe sandy beaches all around. Fishing is available on the local rivers and lochs and sea fishing can be arranged. Horse riding is available at local stables with guided treks provided. This is a stunningly beautiful area with much to do and see. For the walker,for example, the hour long round trip to the hidden gem of the lovely Big Burn walk with all its magnificence and thundering waterfall starts from our own front door - but you may well want to tarry! Or let us take you on a leisurely 6 mile walk along the beach from Brora to Golspie passing 2,000 years of history before returning to the hotel for tea and freshly-baked hot scones. There is an abundance of outstanding wildlife, flora and fauna on our doorstep. Salmon, thousands of wading and other seabirds, seals and otters. Wild mountain goats, deer, pine marten and the naturally shy wildcat - the emblem of Sutherland - to name but a few. These are just some of the many diverse activities and attractions to be enjoyed when you come to and stay at the Golspie Inn Hotel and we look forward welcoming you here in the near future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golspie Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing