We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feast!”

Kylesku Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Kylesku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$52
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bussum
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A feast!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We've already given five stars to the hotel, now it is time to give the same five stars for the restaurant. Great place it is. The contrast of the nature, rough and wild, and the warmth of the place make your presence here a kind of fairy tale and people surrounding you - personages from some kind of a book.
Now the food. We had Fish and Chips which was probably the King of its kind, and the venison pie... Where else could you get a pie from venison? It tastes fantastic.
The service is also special, making you feel... Well, special.
We have just came back, but we are already making plans to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilya1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Ilya 1967,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We try and keep our cooking simple and let the star ingredients shine. We use local line caught haddock for our fish and chips, and local venison for the pie. When it's so fresh, you really don't have to do too much.
We hope to see you again soon,
kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    94
    35
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A warm welcome & excellent food”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stopped off for an early evening meal at the Kylesku Hotel on Tuesday 10/9/13 quite by chance having enjoyed a drive along the spectacular single track coastal road & over the nearby bridge. It was a rather cool & drizzly day but we were immediately warmed by the friendly welcome we received on arriving into the bar of the Kylesku Hotel. We drank a good warming coffee whilst perusing the menu and enjoying the ambiance of the bar - there being several tables occupied and a few people checking into the accommodation. The food, once ordered, arrived within a reasonable time (too quick & I get suspicious!) and was hot and delicious. Oh, and I must mention the spectacular location & scenery from the window. Excellent service, food and view - what more could you ask!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tattyowdbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Tattyoldbit,
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent meal after some local sightseeing! We specialise in local produce- especially seafood- to be honest there is an abundance to choose from.
We do hope you'll visit us again if you're in the area,
kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kylesku Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Slightly disappointed with the food. The Kylesku came highly recommended by several people and I was really looking forward to the meal. Had the fish pie as i wanted to compare it to my wife's version of the same dish. Result wife 2 Kylesku nil. It wasn't bad but not as good as I'd hoped. I forget what my wife ate but she said it was OK.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank droxxolid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Droxxolid,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always very keen to know when our food has not lived up to diners' expectations- and why!
We did have some issues with our fish pie earlier on this season- which is when you came to visit us (in April), as we were preparing the fish pie in such a way that unfortunately the potato topping had a habit of sinking into the fish mixture. We have since changed the way we prepare this dish, and I hope this has improved the outcome (even if we can't compete with your wife's version!).
If you are ever visiting the area, I do hope you come and give us another try,
kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gem. Caters for all tastes”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were staying in Lochinver and called in to Kykesku on the way back from a day out. We were so impressed, we came back 2 nights later. I am a vegetarian and it was a lovely surprise to find several suitable veggie meals (and they knew the difference between meat stock and vegetarian stock for soups) The staff and owner were very friendly and obviously valued our and others'custom. There was a wide range of food, wines and beers - no one could be disappointed and it was all well cooked and excellent value. We ate in the small friendly bar with great views and were very well looked after. We didn't sample the langioustines and scallops but other diners were raving about them. We will definitely return next year and hopefully stay here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Jane046,
Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review. It's great to get such lovely feedback. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your meals here- as you have said, we have a vegetarian menu, as there is no reason why you shouldn't also be able to enjoy a range of dishes. In fact we are very lucky to be able to receive some lovely local vegetables from Croft 16 just up the road. Delicious!
We look forward to seeing you next year,
kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service and location”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Loved everything about this restaurant. Lunch on two occasions;relaxed;efficient and unexpectedly fabulous food as well as excellent service. Definitely not to be missed if you are within an hour radius. Oh yes, the seals and otters and Dogs were welcomed too!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeborahJM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear DeborahJM58,
Thank you for such a great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent meals with us. It is indeed a great spot from which to spot the wildlife, and sample some of the food that lives on our doorstep!
We hope to see you again soon if you are planning another trip to the other end of the country!
Kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kylesku Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Scourie, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty
 
Drumbeg, Scottish Highlands
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Kylesku Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing