We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kylesku Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kylesku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kylesku Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylesku
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed for five nights from 19th May, just as the midges were starting to show up (keep them at bay with 'Smidge' - available from the outdoor clothing shop in Ullapool). Our third visit to Kylesku, with three different proprietors, getting better each time. Just a few minor practical annoyances including mis-squirting the dreaded liquid soap, but overall I would endorse all previous positive accolades. If the menu seems fashionably over-complicated for your taste don't be afraid to ask for new potatoes and a few salad leaves to accompany your perfectly-cooked scallops or langoustines. Very good wines available by the glass. Thankfully no music in the dining room. Lovers of the North West Highlands are extremely fortunate that the present owners bravely left the safety of lucrative employment down South to bring their high standards to this wonderful spot, which they are generously happy to share with all their guests. Slight embarrassment at all the awards heaped upon them because there are further improvements they want to make - not easy when your plumber is in Granton on Spey! Any small niggles are more than outweighed by both the outstanding location and genuine friendliness of owners and all their staff.

Room Tip: 'Family' room 4 rear-facing (doesn't matter as superb views from lounge and dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Wyn,
What a lovely review, thank you. I'm so pleased you both enjoyed your return visit to Kylesku. I know it's sometimes easy to be disappointed on a return visit, especially if have have very fond memories of a place.
We do hope you won't leave it another 5 years before returning!
In the meantime we wish you both a fruitful summer, and hope to see you very soon.
We shall be working on those niggles ;-)
Kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    64
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
78
333
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Recently returned from a lovely stay in the Kylescu Lodges and was looking forward to visiting the Kylescu hotel as I had read excellent reviews about the food and was certainly not disappointed. Everything about this place works and it richly deserves all the fantastic praise it receives. The staff during our several visits last week were outstanding - very friendly and helpful and also knowledgable and obviously love the area themselves. The food was beautiful - all fresh, tasty and with excellent chips. I particularly enjoyed the mussels which were plentiful and perfectly cooked. We also ordered the langoustines on our last night which were stunning! I would love to come back and stay here sometime as we thoroughly enjoyed the food, staff, atmosphere and outstanding views over the loch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adisgruntledcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Adisgruntledcustomer,
Thank you for your kind comments. This is great feedback for the whole team. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in the area, and of course, your meals with us. We are indeed lucky to have such a marvellous larder on our doorstep.
We hope to see you again soon,
kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stopped there for lunch on our way to the Summer Isles Hotel. We decided to limit ourselves as we did not wish to spoil our appetite dinner. That was our biggest mistake, as what we had was truly excellent and had we known what was in store for us in the evening we would have had a full meal at lunchtime. This hotel and restaurant is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xenical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Xenical,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us.
We do hope you'll come and see us again,
Kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochinver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

After literally years of hearing great reports about this wonderful place I finally got to sample it for myself. Locally sourced food cooked and presented beautifully. And friendly staff too. Not forgetting the stunning location. All in all it adds up to a brilliant package worthy of all its awards and recommendations.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Leigh,
Thank you! It was lovely to meet you properly and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your meal.
We hope to see you before too long. Here's to a great summer in this beautiful part of the NW highlands!
Kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our second trip to visit this stunning hotel. Excellent hospitality, very good company and outstanding food. I particularly enjoyed the walk opposite the hotel by the loch and slipway. Thank you Sonja and Tanya and staff.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the loch view and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culturalattache2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Culturalattache2011,
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your return visit to Kylesku. We have plenty more great walks to tempt you with for next time...
kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I spent a long weekend here in July 2013 for a birthday treat with my son. I had always wanted to visit the Kylesku Bridge, having been involved in a small way with its construction in the early 1980s. We enjoyed our short stay so much in the Kylesku Hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and most helpful, the food was absolutely superb. I was so impressed with the Hotel and of course the magnificent scenery that I am returning again with my wife in a fortnight's time for a whole week this time. We are really looking forward to our visit. Fingers crossed for good weather!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear J0jen,
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit so much last year, and we look forward to welcoming you back imminently!
Indeed, fingers crossed regarding the weather. It's been a cracking start to the year so far. Long may it continue!
Kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Brilliant stay, they looked after 8 hill walkers very well. Exceptionally friendly and helpful owner/staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food expensive but fantastic - massive langoustines. Only change would be better cask ales!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Philip,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm really pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your walking weekend up here.
Sorry to hear though that the ales weren't to your liking. We showcase 4 different local ales at any one time- these change constantly, so hopefully you'll find one to suit next time!
We hope to welcome you all back again soon,
kind regards
Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kylesku
10.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
11.6 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
20.4 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
13.4 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
6.9 mi away
Croft 338 B&B
Croft 338 B&B
#1 of 2 in Drumbeg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kylesku Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kylesku Hotel

Property: Kylesku Hotel
Address: Kylesku, Kylesku IV27 4HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Kylesku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylesku
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kylesku Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome in the heart of real Highland wilderness. Kylesku is a delightfully peaceful village on the shores of two large sea-lochs, Loch Glendhu & Loch Glencoul. Set in the heart of real Highland wilderness, it makes a perfect base for exploring Sutherland and North West Scotland.The Kylesku Hotel itself is an old coaching inn dating from 1680, and is situated by the former ferry slipway on the shores of the loch. The hotel, bar and restaurant are open to residents & non-residents alike. It is an independently run small hotel with current owners Tanja Lister & Sonia Virechauveix eager to provide a warm welcome.The views from the hotel overlooking the loch and the local mountains are awesome with the bar, restaurant & lounge providing a perfect vantage point for overseeing the local wildlife - an abundance of seals, red deer and birds, or even our more elusive neighbour, the local otter.We are passionate about food, and with local fishing boats landing daily in Kylesku, seafood is a speciality. Fresh langoustines, lobsters, spineys, crabs, mussels and haddock are available, alongside quality meat & game. We also offer a choice of vegetarian options, all of which can be washed down with wide selection of wines, beers & malt whiskies. We are proud to be included in the 2012 Michelin Guide to Eating in Pubs. Our aim is simple: to tempt you with the freshest, local, quality food, in welcoming, friendly and comfortable surroundings. We hope our wealth of local knowledge will help you to get the most out of your stay here. There is something for everyone, be it walking, climbing, fishing, wildlife watching or simply combing the many deserted white sandy beaches of the North West Coast. We are happy to help you to plan your itineraries whether by car, on foot or pedal power.Our hotel is also featured in the 2012 Good Hotel Guide and in Claire MacDonald’s famous recipe book Scottish Highland Hospitality, where she states that “Kylesku Hotel combines everything I consider to be essential for a visitor to the Highlands - comfort, really good food in an old hotel with all the present-day amenities, and truly spectacular scenery wherever you look.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kylesku Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing