We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”
Review of Kylesku Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kylesku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kylesku Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylesku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just spent 3 nights at the Kylesku. We ate there last year and wanted to return and stay.
The owners, Sonia and Tanja couldn't do enough for their guests, always going the extra mile. Their staff are just as friendly and helpful. While the food is obviously their strength (great variety of fresh seafood with meat and vegetarian options) the ambience and location is also well worth a visit. The loch facing rooms are obviously the best to observe the ever changing scenery, but the rear facing room was also very comfortable with every thing you could need.

Room Tip: Loch facing have better view, but not many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Jane046,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is really humbling.
Our team is as passionate about the area as we are and we all are also keen happy eaters. This is an inspiring place with loads of amazing fresh produce so I am pleased to read that you were able to find something exciting on the menu very night.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great start to every day spent at this hotel - lovely breakfast, the hotel owners were always available to help us plan the day, and then a nice evening meal at the hotel restaurant to look forward to

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea - it was really beautiful to wake up to such a majestic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquilina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Barivisitor,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your few days up here. We try to make you feel as much as home as possible and to keep you busy, should you choose to be!
It would be lovely to see you again and show you yet more places to discover.

Kind regards,
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I called in on my way from Scourie to Inchnadamph for a quick lunchtime snack.

I have eaten here many times over the years and have had generally enjoyable visits over the course of a number of different owners.

I had a plate of their locally dived scallops on basmati rice and served with a pea puree - yum, yum!!

Lovely view and friendly staff (one of whom speaks excellent French).

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PBJCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear pbjchesshire,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.
Kylesku has been know for its seafood way back before our time and its is very nice to hear that we do it justice.
Do not hesite to pop back for another lunch snack!

Kind regards
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Although we had read review, etc, the proof of the pudding as they say is in the eating and WOW what a place to eat!
Rooms were bigger than they looked on the outside, clever trick that !
But really right from the moment we checked in, received a lovely welcome, then given a nice cuppa in the Lounge it felt like this stay was going to special and it was.
Not only do all the staff chat to you, they explain the menus and give any help they can if you need it. Then the evening meal, well, what a choice ! Took us ages to make our minds up but at least we know that next time we go we will still have a fantastic choice.
As has already been said this is the (goo) old fashioned way of running a hotel, friendly staff (who know you name !) absolutely fantastic location (surely there can't better view from a dining room anywhere!),management who actually take time to mix with everyone and the food just topped it all off ! Not like a lot of hotels we've been to where we feel anonymous and just 'another' guest.
Absolutely fantastic, definitely going back again, and again......... !

Room Tip: All good as far as we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ_fae_fyvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear russ_fae_fyvie,

What wonderful comments! Thank you.
We take great pride in making everyone feel welcome. After all, we live here and wish for everyone to return and enjoy Sutherland as much as we do. We are very lucky to live in a place of such awesomeness and we hope our passion comes out.
The food is important too and everyone has been on Freebird, the local langoustine boat, and lifted the creels. It does make it inspiring!
We hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

If possible would give 5 star plus!!!
Tanja and Sonia are wonderful hosts and could not do more to make our stay so fabulous.
Fantastic food from their 'seafood larder' delivered on their doorstep each morning and wonderful ever changing views down the loch.
Loads of hot water and deep tub to soak in after a long walk, not to mention the luxury Scottish toiletries available in the room.
Thankyou to the rest of the staff who were just as pleasant and helpful with special thanks to Mark.
So good we booked for next year before leaving. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Prisoner7,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I know the team will be delighted by your comments.
We are incredibly fortunate to have such a larder on our doorstep- it's a great reward to be able to dream up great ways to show it off at its best.
We hope you have a great summer, and we look forward to welcoming you back next year,
Kind regards
Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The owners and staff at Kylesku could make a fortune in showing all other hotels in Britain how to do it. From the understated decor, superb friendly relaxed yet professional service, well thought out incredibly comfortable rooms and the sublime food and drink. This really is a understated hotel that excels in everything they do.
Two warnings though. 1) It is highly addictive place to visit and you will not want to return home. 2) Do not try to go to bed early otherwise Heather in the bar does her best to make you stay up resulting in a great hangover!!!
Can not recommend it highly enough, and we are already planning our return.

Room Tip: Its worth the extra for a loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uncleTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear UncleTJ,
Thank you for taking the time to write your very kind review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us, even if Heather was attempting to lead you astray!!
We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon,
Kind regards
Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Why the warning you may ask? Because Kylesku Hotel may just A) change your view of the Hospitality Industry for ever and B) because, with their string of awards and accolades, you need to look at this hotel like you have done too no other, who boast such recognition.

So lets deal with point ‘A’: small, personal, professional to the last lettuce leaf. It’s a tight team, who not only answer your call or email for the booking, but it is they that server your food and drink, who clean your room, who cook your food, who give you the care that makes Kylesku Hotel, what it is. Tanja and Sonia have harvested the pick of the crop in staff; the crop is bespoke to this establishment, so this team are good. They know their stuff and are proud of what they do. (one of the team told me, that she had the choice of coming to Kylesku or Inverlochy Castle and – chose here, another in his third season, new to the industry, has transformed his career and life path, just to be at Kylesku – does that not speak for itself?). So without resting on the utter delights which Sutherland has to offer and sit back and run an average hotel, these people have commitment, dedication and spirit. It’s exactly like nowhere else. The fish is landed on the jetty, yards from the front door, it’s on your plate that night. The rooms are spotless and a la mode with no ostentation but, with what the modern traveller expects in 2014. They know that with such platforms as Trip Advisor, EVERY guest is a home made ‘hotel inspector’ so quality is the very ethos of everything they do. This is rare. That’s why it may just change your view of the bland, monochrome bed spaces that are out there in abundance. It’s what makes Kylesku Hotel unique.

Point ‘B’: oh that’s simple; don’t be fooled by what many other establishments, with a string of awards, may have delivered you in the past. Humility by the owners over these awards oozes, if that’s possible! Their drive to constantly always improve, steers their path. They don’t boast about what they have deservedly been given, instead they strive each day, aye, each hour to sustain the best reputation that they can, knowing at the click of a mouse, they could have some over pretentious, award hunter, kick them when they are ‘up’ – If you are expecting, butlers, plastic corporate shiny reception lobbies, a dedicated wine waiter or dinner served with white gloves, this is what the warning is about – you see, their awards are achieved, because they are NOT like that – the chances are it will be Heather or Denise (to name a few) that are not just your butler, but your receptionist, your porter, your bartender and your waiter (the only gloves I saw them wearing was to take their turn of going round each morning looking for stray litter in the grounds – which was also done with dedication and pride).

Which leads me to my conclusion: you need to book well in advance, you need to forget what the others do and you need to step into a world that perhaps may take your breath away; you have been warned. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alasdair-Roxburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Alasdair,

I can't thank you enough for your very generous comments. However, I am a little concerned that you were so busy evaluating the hotel that you weren't spending enough time enjoying your holiday!!
On a serious note, you have summed up our ethos incredibly articulately. We aim to provide fun, friendly and professional service but in a very relaxed setting.
I know the team are delighted with this feedback. Sonia and I are indeed very fortunate to have such a great team working alongside us. We certainly couldn't do it without them.
We have been very fortunate indeed to have received some very prestigious accolades recently, however, we will always be 'restlessly dissatisfied' with our offer. We will never stand still, and will always seek to improve the enjoyment our guests get from being here.
We look forward to seeing you (briefly) in August,
Kind regards
Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kylesku
10.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
398 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
13.3 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Drumbeg Hotel
The Drumbeg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumbeg
86 reviews
13.4 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
6.9 mi away
Croft 338 B&B
Croft 338 B&B
#1 of 2 in Drumbeg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kylesku Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kylesku Hotel

Address: Kylesku, Kylesku IV27 4HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Kylesku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylesku
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kylesku Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome in the heart of real Highland wilderness. Kylesku is a delightfully peaceful village on the shores of two large sea-lochs, Loch Glendhu & Loch Glencoul. Set in the heart of real Highland wilderness, it makes a perfect base for exploring Sutherland and North West Scotland.The Kylesku Hotel itself is an old coaching inn dating from 1680, and is situated by the former ferry slipway on the shores of the loch. The hotel, bar and restaurant are open to residents & non-residents alike. It is an independently run small hotel with current owners Tanja Lister & Sonia Virechauveix eager to provide a warm welcome.The views from the hotel overlooking the loch and the local mountains are awesome with the bar, restaurant & lounge providing a perfect vantage point for overseeing the local wildlife - an abundance of seals, red deer and birds, or even our more elusive neighbour, the local otter.We are passionate about food, and with local fishing boats landing daily in Kylesku, seafood is a speciality. Fresh langoustines, lobsters, spineys, crabs, mussels and haddock are available, alongside quality meat & game. We also offer a choice of vegetarian options, all of which can be washed down with wide selection of wines, beers & malt whiskies. We are proud to be included in the 2012 Michelin Guide to Eating in Pubs. Our aim is simple: to tempt you with the freshest, local, quality food, in welcoming, friendly and comfortable surroundings. We hope our wealth of local knowledge will help you to get the most out of your stay here. There is something for everyone, be it walking, climbing, fishing, wildlife watching or simply combing the many deserted white sandy beaches of the North West Coast. We are happy to help you to plan your itineraries whether by car, on foot or pedal power.Our hotel is also featured in the 2012 Good Hotel Guide and in Claire MacDonald’s famous recipe book Scottish Highland Hospitality, where she states that “Kylesku Hotel combines everything I consider to be essential for a visitor to the Highlands - comfort, really good food in an old hotel with all the present-day amenities, and truly spectacular scenery wherever you look.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kylesku Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing