We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return”
Review of Kylesku Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kylesku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kylesku Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylesku
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Although I wrote a review when I had a wonderful stay two years ago, I was so impressed with the return trip that I decided to add to it!
When you return to a hotel that must have seen hundreds of guests pass through since you were there before but that welcomes you like a good friend, that is something quite special. The rooms, the view, the food were all just as great as before, Tanja, Sonia and the team as concerned as ever to ensure you have the very best holiday you can while you are in the area.
Arranging for a stag to sleep for the night on the grass outside my window, ensuring there was the most water I have ever seen in Eas a' Chual Alluin were feats they refused to take credit for - but making sure I went to the north coast on a day that was dismal everywhere else ensured I stayed out of the rain. Oh and did I mention the food? To watch the boat at the mussel farm and then to eat the mussels - under one food mile - is a special experience!
I'm booked in for next year which says all I need to about this very special spot! Thank you all for spoiling me so comprehensively.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are superb. Room 3 suited me as a solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear BabaTate,

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are all very touched. I was great to have you back with us and we are already thinking about your next visit! Stag has been spoken to and will do a little dance next time... Keeping you away from the rain is our daily challenge and we do this armed with numerous weather forecasts. Most of them are often wrong but we still try!
It was a pleasure to spoil you and we look forward to doing it again.

Kind regards
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    70
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
79
345
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just back from a brilliant couple of nights at Kylesku Hotel. Wish we'd visited sooner. Magical spot and great place to stay. Tanja and Sonia have created something very special. We had a night at The Albannach on the way up and we'd recommend the combination of both. They're different but share a passion for local ingredients, imaginatively prepared. Although they're not miles apart, the landscapes surrounding each are subtly different and deserve a decent amount of attention. We shall return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room One which had a beautiful view over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Simon017,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Tanja and I are very touched by your comments.
We are extremely lucky to live here and the scenery still surprises, and inspires us.
I hope you will be able to return very soon so that we can show you some new walks and spots where you will feel the awesomeness of this incredible corner of the UK.

Kind regards
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We've been to the Kylesku hotel many times - it is a fair drive from where we stay- however it is well worth while. Every time my hubbie has the Seafood Platter (he can't get past this on the menu) and even though some of the items were not available, the waitress explained what they had added to make up for it! I always go for the burger as it is always well cooked and well presented. I also found it great that our waitress talked knowledgeably to other groups in their language - German and French. Amazing service with amazing food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mags h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear mags h,

What a lovely review! Thank you.
I am pleased to read that you were explained what was or wasn't on the seafood platter when you come to visit us. We have to rely on the day's catch and natural cycles. At the moment, we are unable to get our local mussels as the alga bloom is in full flow. As we aim to get things locally, I must accept this yearly phenomena and not try to get them from Sheltand or further afield.
The burger is a work of love as our butcher knows is stuff and we love eating it as much as anything else on our menu.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Kylesku.

Kind regards
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have been staying and eating at this wonderful hotel over many years.(Indeed I will be back in the Autumn.)I have always enjoyed all of my visits and only once,a few years ago had a below par meal(far too salty mussels).However,the current owners and their team have improved the place significantly and undertaken some super refurbishment,which is on-going.
Aside from the one afore mentioned incident the food is superb and a better setting to eat it in is hard to imagine.
The service, friendly staff and the few locals are a pleasure to spend time with.
The sunsets are beautiful and watching the wildlife is a pleasure.
I strongly recommend the Kylesku,and I'm sure it will leave a lasting impression,as good as it has for me.
It also has a F/B page----which I would urge the owners to use more frequently----it takes the edge off missing the place when I'm not there.Looking forward to the Autumn and my next visit.
See you soon.

Room Tip: Ask for Loch views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Northernroamer,

You have managed to describe what we try to do very well. We are incredibly lucky to be in the setting we are in and we hope to do it justice. The hotel is our home to us but also to our team and we try to make it very welcoming.
Sometimes, sadly, we fail, and I am still thinking about theses mussels. Following your feed back, we make sure to only use unsalted butter in the garlic butter we use which is I fear the cause of your below par meal.
Regarding FB, we have neglected it a bit this year but we will do a lot more this winter... You will have to watch and see...
I look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind regards
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A warm welcome and all staff so helpful, nothing too much trouble. Beautiful room with lovely view of the loch. Even the bathroom had a wonderful view! The food was delicious, wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Nicola P,

Thank you for your very kind words.
I am delighted that you had a lovely stay and hope you will be able to return very soon.
I look forward to welcoming you again to Kylesku.

Kind regards
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel - we stayed for one night but that was enough to convince me to return!

On arrival one of the owners, Sonia greeted us in such a welcoming manner and showed us to our lovely room overlooking the loch. Perfect size with all that we needed, including a great bath!

We ate in the bar, the food was amazing. I would highly recommend.

The hotel is right on the harbour and has seats outside to admire the wonderful scenery.

After a great nights sleep the breakfast was just what we needed to round up a lovely stay, definitely try the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, or the blueberry pancakes!

Thank you for a wonderful stay Kylesku Hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cas1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Cas1291,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that we all delivered on service and food. We are far from perfect and will often question ourselves, but we aim to welcome everyone in a way that is as homely as possible.
You are right, breakfast is the most special time of day and always deserved a treat.
I hope you will be able to return to Sutherland very soon and /i look forward to welcoming you again to Kylesku.

Kind regards
Sonia
Director, Kylesku Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Travelling alone to the highlands with a 3 and a half year old to stay in a hotel - albeit just for a few days - is probably not the most obvious of holiday choices so I approached our visit with some trepidation. I shouldn't have worried as the staff at the Kylesku were exemplary in their care of both me and my son. Nothing was too much trouble - the finding of frozen peas for a faddy eater, the getting of milk at the bar of an evening for bedtime stories, the procuring of maps and suggestions of beaches and places to go with a wee one, and then Mark from behind the bar showing my son how to go crabbing off the jetty outside the hotel one evening. We had THE most lovely time and I felt very relaxed throughout our stay (or as relaxed as one can be with a small person!). Don't think we were getting anything special though as it was clear everyone in the hotel and bar around us was getting just the same amount of care and attention from both the staff and the owners. Highly recommend it for either staying over or for a meal as the food was just fabulous; just a shame we didn't stay longer and I could have worked my way through more of the menu!

Room Tip: Family room was tastefully decorated, modern and very spacious - plenty of room for my young son to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorksK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear CorksK,

Your review is so heart warming, I am not to sure what to say.
It was a real delight to have you and your wee one with us. Nothing is trouble for us as we are here and we have the things (most things...) in the kitchen. I hope this holiday will be a great memory for him also: learning how to "crab" is a life saving skill in the right hands!
You mentioned that we give out maps etc. We do this to insure everyone can get the best out of the area following what one can do. Sutherland can be awesome with a little help: a young child would not climb a mountain but could certainly build a sand castle!
I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and hope you will return soon to sample some more.
I look forward to hearing from you very soon.

Best wishes
Sonia,
Director, Kylesku Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kylesku
10.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
368 reviews
11.6 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
134 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
12.5 mi away
B&B Philosophy
B&B Philosophy
#1 of 1 in Stoer
31 reviews
6.9 mi away
Croft 338 B&B
Croft 338 B&B
#1 of 2 in Drumbeg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kylesku Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kylesku Hotel

Property: Kylesku Hotel
Address: Kylesku, Kylesku IV27 4HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Kylesku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylesku
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kylesku Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome in the heart of real Highland wilderness. Kylesku is a delightfully peaceful village on the shores of two large sea-lochs, Loch Glendhu & Loch Glencoul. Set in the heart of real Highland wilderness, it makes a perfect base for exploring Sutherland and North West Scotland.The Kylesku Hotel itself is an old coaching inn dating from 1680, and is situated by the former ferry slipway on the shores of the loch. The hotel, bar and restaurant are open to residents & non-residents alike. It is an independently run small hotel with current owners Tanja Lister & Sonia Virechauveix eager to provide a warm welcome.The views from the hotel overlooking the loch and the local mountains are awesome with the bar, restaurant & lounge providing a perfect vantage point for overseeing the local wildlife - an abundance of seals, red deer and birds, or even our more elusive neighbour, the local otter.We are passionate about food, and with local fishing boats landing daily in Kylesku, seafood is a speciality. Fresh langoustines, lobsters, spineys, crabs, mussels and haddock are available, alongside quality meat & game. We also offer a choice of vegetarian options, all of which can be washed down with wide selection of wines, beers & malt whiskies. We are proud to be included in the 2012 Michelin Guide to Eating in Pubs. Our aim is simple: to tempt you with the freshest, local, quality food, in welcoming, friendly and comfortable surroundings. We hope our wealth of local knowledge will help you to get the most out of your stay here. There is something for everyone, be it walking, climbing, fishing, wildlife watching or simply combing the many deserted white sandy beaches of the North West Coast. We are happy to help you to plan your itineraries whether by car, on foot or pedal power.Our hotel is also featured in the 2012 Good Hotel Guide and in Claire MacDonald’s famous recipe book Scottish Highland Hospitality, where she states that “Kylesku Hotel combines everything I consider to be essential for a visitor to the Highlands - comfort, really good food in an old hotel with all the present-day amenities, and truly spectacular scenery wherever you look.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kylesku Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing