We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the highlights of our trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one of the highlights of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a wonderfully charming bed and breakfast with the most delightful hosts! It is located on a small road, not so easy to find at first, but well worth it. The guest rooms are beautiful with marvelous bathrooms. Caroline is a fabulous cook and the breakfasts were incredible! The location is excellent, near to everything you want to do around Loch Ness. We would love to stay at Rowan Cottage again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline10_11, Owner at Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for your kind words and excellent review. It is good to know that we continue to do things right in ensuring our guests have a great stay. We look forward to hopefully meeting again.
Until then, take care.

Cheers
C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This B&B came highly recommended and it did not disappoint in any way. It was quite simply the best B&B we have ever stayed in. It was immaculate in its presentation and the attention to detail set it apart from everywhere else we have stayed. The host was knowledgable, friendly and could not have done more to ensure our stay was perfect. We both left feeling extremely relaxed and very happy. My recommendation for this place could not be higher and it is a must if you are visiting Loch Ness.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline10_11, Owner at Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Hi. Many thanks for your positive review of Rowan Cottage. It means an awful lot to me to know that guests have enjoyed their stay here.
I look forward to meeting you both again!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Some of the best travel moments are when you find something really great you don't expect. That was our experience from the moment we first set foot in Rowan Cottage. It was all about the great attention to detail and the touches that made this a relaxing and engaging experience. Our hostess Caroline clued us into where to eat (The Loch Ness Inn) the tourist traps to avoid (Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition) and best local places to see (Urquhart Castle on Loch Ness) The bed was the biggest and comfiest we had among the half-dozen BnBs we stayed at while walking the Great Glen Way. Outstanding breakfast, including Caroline's homemade preserves and bread that were accompanied by her witty and worldly conversation. Would definitely recommend this to others as a BnB that really strives to offer more and help create a true place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline10_11, Owner at Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Hi,

Thank you for the excellent review for Rowan Cottage. It is really nice to read such positive comments. We do like to be honest with our quests when asked our opinions about where to go and what to see to maximise on the precious time they have in our area, and am glad we have achieved that. We look forward to hopefully meeting you both again.

Until then,

Cheers!

C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Rowan Cottage on our next-to-last night along the Great Glen way. Arriving late and weary from walking, Caroline welcomed us warmly and showed us to a wonderfully comfortable room, complete with comfy bathrobes, a lovely snack/tea tray, etc. She helped with acclimating us to the area -- making dinner reservations for us and directing us to the Urquart Castle, a stunning beauty that was another highlight among many in Scotland. Breakfast the following morning was deeeeelicious: a wonderful fresh fruit salad and yogurt, freshly made bread, and made-to-order eggs/sausage. We would definitely return and recommend highly, as this is one of the rare B&Bs that is both luxe and comfy. Caroline was refreshing too -- warm, funny, smart, and wanting to make her guests feel at ease and at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline10_11, Owner at Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi.

Thank you for your positive review of Rowan Cottage. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. My aim is always to ensure that guests are comfortable and rested during their stay, and your great comments mean that I continue to do the right things right.
I hope to see you both again in the future.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Wow, what a lovely B&B! The room was stylish, immaculate, and had great attention to detail; robes and slippers, a little fridge for cooling a drink (and containing FRESH milk for tea!), really beautiful room with a HUGE comfy bed. Caroline was such a great friendly hostess we ended up leaving to start our walk late in the morning, we had been enjoying chatting for so long! Caroline couldn't have done more for us, and cooked a 6 star breakfast. Would recommend to anyone for a really special stay, whether walking or just visiting Loch Ness. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fr8n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline10_11, Owner at Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi.

Thank you so much for the excellent review. I am pleased you had a restful stay, albeit a short one. It was a pleasure to meet you both and look forward to meeting again in the future.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Rowan Cottage is a definite 5 star experience. We were blown away by every aspect. Our room was truly welcoming with lavish furnishing. The small decked balcony adjacent to the garden was a bonus.The beds were very comfortable and every little detail has been thought through. Bathrobes slippers and mini fridge to name just a few. Caroline was so helpful and cooked a feast of a breakfast. The Loch Ness Inn is within walking distance for an evening meal. Caroline was good enough to book us in on our arrival night. Well worth a second visit but alas such a long way for us to drive. If only we were a bit younger! Thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline10_11, Owner at Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hi
Many thanks for the wonderful review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. I also enjoyed our chats. Hopefully we will meet again, but for now, enjoy this excellent weather!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is definitely a five star experience. We had the second level room with a lovely deck and view of the garden. Caroline has literally thought of everything a traveller might need to be comfortable and happy. Our room was so appealing and well furnished with a great bed, comfy chairs, and all that we could wish for. Top that off with Caroline who did everything she could to make our stay a happy one. Breakfasts were delicious and advice on restaurants and hikes very helpful. Strongly recommend Rowan Cottage.

Room Tip: Room with the deck is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline10_11, Owner at Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hi.

Thank you so much for for the very positive review. It makes me very proud to know that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will both be back in the future. Have a lovely summer!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumnadrochit hotels
0.8 mi away
Spring burn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
5.7 mi away
BCC Loch Ness Hostel
BCC Loch Ness Hostel
#2 of 2 in Bearnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10 West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowan cottage is a traditional highland cottage situated in Drumnadrochit near Loch Ness. It carries the prestigious Scottish Tourist board 4* rating assurance of standard (Excellent). It has been carefully extended to provide a luxurious standard of 2 roomed en-suite b&b accommodation. A king-size upstairs room with private balcony or twin roomed downstairs with private courtyard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowan Cottage Bed & Breakfast Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing