We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Boat Trip Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Ness Cruises

Loch Ness Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: LOCH NESS CRUISES aboard "NESSIE HUNTER" You will find our LOCH NESS CRUISES booking office in CELTIC CRAFTS GIFT SHOP at the Junction of A82/A831 in DRUMNADROCHIT. Free Parking in NESSIELAND and you will find us at the bottom of the steps on street level,left of the pharmacy. Please note JUNE,JULY and AUGUST are busy and we do recommend you book early. Loch Ness Cruises on the Nessie Hunter can only be booked at Celtic Crafts, online or at participating Scottish Tourist Board Visitor Information Centres(VIC's)! CELTIC CRAFTS We invite you to visit this stunning shop offering a unique collection of Scottish quality jewelry, ceramics, textiles and mixed media art. Visit this little shop where made in Scotland is important and quality is at its best.
doncaster
Level Contributor
197 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Best Boat Trip Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

When visiting Loch Ness a boat trip is essential and there are many available but I would recommend this one above all others. Not only is the trip itself entertaining (the commentary is brilliant) but the addition of sonar and underwater cameras is fantastic. The gentleman who piloted the boat (and drove the bus) was lovely, had an answer for every question and could not have been more perfect for the job. Being disabled I was very nervous of getting on and off the boat but he was so helpful and kind and took time and care to ensure I was okay. The trip itself is surely one of the best ways to see the loch and Urquhart castle, and indeed to see Nessie!
We booked the trip at the Celtic Crafts shop at Nessieland and the lady there was really lovely, ensuring with the driver it would be safe for me to get on the boat with my disability before she took our money.
This is one boat trip we all want to do again next time we visit the loch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank badwolfbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandgeordie, Owner at Loch Ness Cruises, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review.
My wife and I try to go the extra mile to make sure that our clients have a most enjoyable cruise.
We try our best to make sure that passengers with any disability can come on our cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    58
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broby, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

When visiting Loch Ness, it is a MUST to go on a boat. This boat trip was not different from any others. It did the job.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Asger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandgeordie, Owner at Loch Ness Cruises, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review although we have to stress that we are not the same as other cruises.
We carry a maximum of 12 passengers and our boat is much more spacious than the other two 12 passenger boats running out of Drumnadrochit, and most importantly we do not transfer passengers to a different company when numbers are low.
If you book with Loch Ness Cruises, you will always go out on the Nessie Hunter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The Nessie Hunter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family loved the boat ride on the Nessie hunter, we had so much fun. My daughter loved trying to find Nessie while the driver operated the sonar radar and underwater camera - she even got to sit up the front of the boat with the driver while he told us stories about the search for Nessie. It was a miserable, cold and misty day when we went out but it didn't spoil it at all, it actually added to the mystery of the place. The cruise on Loch Ness took about an hour and we cruised passed the ruins of Urquhart Castle and which was spectacular and took some amazing photos. We went late in the day and had the entire boat to ourselves. Definitely recommended!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RaydarVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandgeordie, Owner at Loch Ness Cruises, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. We try to make sure that all our passengers are well entertained, especially children!
Or boat is spacious and with our large heated salon bad weather is never a problem! All our passengers have the choice of sitting in the heated cabin with its large panoramic windows, outside on the fore or aft decks or up on the flying bridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nessie Lives!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This ferry boat cruise is a must. The weather was great when we went and the castle and sights viewed from the ferry is a real treat. There were people from different countries taking pictures and videos of the movements in the water and we had them convinced it was truly the Loch Ness monster! Lots of fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wklima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandgeordie, Owner at Loch Ness Cruises, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for a great review I am pleased that you had a wonderful time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Lovely Trip in "Nessie Hunter"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Was in Drumnadrochit for family birthday celebration, spoke to a lovely lady on Saturday about going on cruise the following day and because there was 9 of us said we could get a wee discount! Done deal.
Sunday afternoon cruise(some of our party people had hangover)! was spectacular. Was the highlight of our weekend. Took some amazing photos.Would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Donz1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandgeordie, Owner at Loch Ness Cruises, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
What better way to cure a wee hangover than a trip on Loch Ness on Nessie Hunter!
We will always go the extra mile to make sure you have an enjoyable time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Ness Cruises also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to Loch Ness Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing