We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Taste of Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Very friendly and very Scottish, from the friendly welcome and the decor to the food and location. Just a quick drive, or a pleasant walk to Urquhart Castle.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reneedevosbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

This was the hotel for our Contiki tour. The rooms were decent, bathrooms were really nice but the tv didnt work. The restaurant was great- friendly staff, amazing food (the shoulder of lamb is delicious!). The bar and sitting area was great.. it felt like we were at home. The wifi was free, but quite slow and could only be picked up in certain spots in the lobby/bar. Good location, easy to get into town, and there was a gift shop right beside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Very poor for the price, 140 pounds for one night in a family room. Room old faschioned, cold, shabby and uncharming. Food terrible. It looks lovely in the photos but the hotel is not like it at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We arrived in Loch Ness after a long drive and had no accommodation. After an initial call we we able to book two rooms at short notice. The staff were welcoming and warm. The open fire in the bar was inviting and staff very friendly. The restaurant food was excellent with the best Scotch Broth I've had.
I loved the tartan carpet and the rooms were neat and clean. Could do with a TV upgrade would be my only suggestion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Loch Ness Lodge Hotel was disappointing. The rooms were old, tired and very dark. Our room at £129 for two nights including breakfast was poor, the view was none existent over the back of the hotel roof and the loch was nowhere in sight, despite specifically asking for a room with a view during a very quiet weekend! The television with four dodgy channels should not be in the room and the tea making facilities was a very old kettle plugged into a socket on the floor. The oversized table lamps made the room feel even smaller and cramped but still did not light it sufficiently.The breakfast was enjoyable, but some of the staff left a lot to be desired. I would not book this hotel again,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We were stuck in a squall and couldn't find camping at the bottom of the bay. Night fell and so we beached our kayaks and walked up to find this Hotel. Rewarding in the extreme, from the front desk to really nicely appointed room to the bar and restaurant. Staff and lodging were all excellent. Evening food was great too. Breakfast not so excellent but the hot chocolate was great.

Special mention to the lady at the front desk who didn't look twice at the wetsuits and gear and even offered to take them to be dried for the morning, which we gratefully accepted. She was unfailingly polite and helpful. We really felt welcome.

Room was very comfortably appointed with new bathroom, piping hot water and no lack of pressure. Bar and restaurant were as over the top hunting lodge, Scottish style as you'll ever see, but that's what you're here for anyway right? If you want Marriott then stay in London or New York. Personally I loved the dark wood and tartan everywhere.

Only downer was the surroundings outside the front door, which is Nessie playground for kids. A bit weird but ignore that and this place is a little gem.

Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobsoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Lovely, traditional highland hotel (even the carpet was tartan!). Staff friendly and gave us a warm welcome. Found this hotel by chance, after being badly, disappointed with our original hotel booking down the road.( After a 9 hour drive - not what you need! ) and we even got a good deal! Room was comfortable. Views from window were excellent. Food in restaurant was very, very good. Huge 'barn like' bar area with a mix of locals and tourists from all around the world. Real fires and a well stocked library room - highly recomended. Loch Ness Exhibition Centre, craft shops and Loch Ness boat trips on the doorstep and a village green complete with pub. Urquhart Castle 2 miles down the road. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,251 reviews
14.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glenurquhart House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Lodge Hotel

Address: | Off A831, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: £108 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 50 bedroom hotel caters for all clientele, families, couples, singles, friends and groups. We have a restaurant that serves a table d' hote menu three course meal. Our Pibroch Whisky Bar has an extensive choice of whiskys. The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centre is on hotel grounds and Nessie Hunter Cruises, hourly cruises on Loch Ness depart from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Loch Ness Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel Drumnadrochit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing