We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Service in traditional scottish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
March in Cambridgeshire
1 review
“Fantastic Wedding Service in traditional scottish hotel”
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We got married at Urquart Castle and all our family (25 of us) stayed at the hotel and we held our wedding reception at the hotel, all the staff were all fantastic and friendly and always smiled. Myself and my family were all impressed with the rooms and the food and the service that we all received. Nothing is too much trouble and they always gave a warm welcome. Our wedding day and reception was organised via the hotel and it ran like clockwork, we couldnt have wished for a better venue and they gave us a fantastic day, nothing compares to this hotel. We will definitely be going back again. A big thumbs up and thankyou from the Richardsons and Jacksons.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeekChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    121
    93
    63
    59
See reviews for
113
162
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hale,Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

After checking various websites we decided on The Loch Ness Lodge Hotel due to the impressive photos. However, the reality could not have been further from the images. The pictures on the websites depict a clean, fresh and bright environment but the hotel is dark and dingy with fittings and fixtures that would be at home in the 1970's

The location of the hotel is also disappointing as Loch Ness was not in view; when we visit this area again we will be staying in Fort Augustus and would strongly advise anyone else to do the same.

Places to eat in Drumnadrochit were that poor we decided to drive the 14 miles into Inverness to eat out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haleduthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochNessLodge, Business Development Manager at Loch Ness Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
The Loch Ness Lodge Hotel is a Traditional Scottish Lodge in the Highlands of Scotland built in 1740 and then extended in the 1960s, rooms have been decorated many times between then and now, our rooms are in neutral shades and not overpowering to the eye.

If we were made aware of your feelings during your stay - we would of tried to resolve the matter.

There are 4 restaurants in the village of Drumnadrochit each giving there own style of food perhaps this was not to the guests taste but Inverness has a wider range of restaurants in the highland City!

Kind Regards

Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Drumnadrochit hotels

kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Shabby, poor standard of cleaning and maintenance. Indifferent service. Parking available but limited. Not on the waterside and loch ness not visible from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogknobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The hotel was clean and rooms well appointed although a little dated. If like me you are expecting a view of the loch i'm afraid you will be disappointed. The photo they show hides the fact that directly infront of the hotel is a car park which overlooks a busy road running through the village. The hotel has no outside space which can be used by guests and if you want to see Loch Ness it 's a two mile journey through the village. The food was very disappointing and not inexpensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudydog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Very well located to visit loch Ness area and Urquhart Castle. Bedroom clean, confortable, spacious. Nice loundge. Good service at reception. Minor issues: bedroom in front of Loch Ness visitor centre car park, so sometimes very noisy until 8pm. Poor service at breakfast (one of the 2 waitresses was totally exasperated when customers waved at her to order...we ourselves at to wait for more than 10 min to get the breakfast menu. In addition, there were no highchair available altough we had asked for one at the reception the day before and they had replied it was no problem at all). We did not like the food at breakfast either, too greasy, nor the selection at the buffet. Apart from that, good hotel. But we tought it was not really good value for the money asked.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank babybecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

amazing! what a price!!! its not a chrome/fancy/modern hotel, its a period scottish lodge! dark wood and character! food excellent, dont let other revviews put you off this place is ideal! family friendly, stall all excellent, even shown to our room!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12121874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We booked our 2 night stay online through a booking site for £64 each with breakfast and dinner on one of the nights which was a good deal.The food was fine but for some reason the chef couldn't cook eggs as the scrambled egg was lumpy and hard and when my girlfriend asked for a boiled egg she got a poached egg and when she said to the waitress she said,we dont do boiled eggs on a sunday,which we thought was rather odd.There advertising that there rooms are refurbished but there was know way ours was (room 6)and not like the room pictured by another reviewer,the bed was terrible as we rolled into the middle of it due to concave shaped mattress,however the room was clean.The hotel bar is lovely and really cosy however the bar prices are shocking,£3.80 for a pint of tennents lager,come on we scots pride ourselfs on our hospitality and your charging prices like that.Its location is excellent but if we were to stay in drumnadrochit again we would choose another hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottish74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
15.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
415 reviews
14.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
757 reviews
9.9 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
383 reviews
11.1 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Lodge Hotel

Property: Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Address: | Off A831, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 50 bedroom hotel caters for all clientele, families, couples, singles, friends and groups. We have a restaurant that serves a table d' hote menu three course meal. Our Pibroch Whisky Bar has an extensive choice of whiskys. The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centre is on hotel grounds and Nessie Hunter Cruises, hourly cruises on Loch Ness depart from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Loch Ness Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel Drumnadrochit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing