We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth free entry”
Review of Nessieland

Nessieland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nessie, the creature supposedly inhabiting Scotland's mysterious Loch Ness, is undoubtedly one of the most well-known monsters in the world. Sightings started popping up in the late 19th century and ever since, Nessie has held the world's attention and the myth has refused to die. Visitors wishing to learn more about the legends surrounding Loch Ness can do so at Nessieland Castle Monster Centre in Drumnadrochit. While this miniature theme park is aimed at children, it offers plenty of educational displays. There are lots of newspaper clippings reporting sightings, grainy photographs and display panels explaining the mystery of the Loch Ness Monster. A multilingual documentary takes visitors on the hunt for Nessie and not only shows eyewitness accounts, but also underwater searches that have been taking place since the 1970s. Whether you end up being a believer or not, Nessieland offers a lot of fun. Kids especially enjoy the supposedly life-sized Nessie model that can be ridden, the large adventure playground and the caves. Of course, there is also a gift shop where the corresponding Nessie memorabilia can be purchased.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We called in with the intention of paying - unfortunatally our small child found the back door into the experience and we got a free glimpse of it, and I have to say it wasn't worth paying nothing to get into. Tired and dated it took us the time it took to catch up with the little one to decide not worth any entry fee. Needless to say we will not be returning, although the boat trip we booked there was fantastic - will try to put a review on about that......

Thank gingerlee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We read your review with interest and hope you enjoyed the cruise on Loch Ness. We are sorry you consider our presentation not worth paying for. Perhaps starting at the fire exit did not show everything in its best light. We do present interesting, informative and amusing information about Loch Ness, its history and its famous monster and receive many very positive comments from visitors who have enjoyed their visit to us, sadly they do not always post them as a review but they are nonetheless valid comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 239 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

As a family we usually find plus points in visiting somewhere but NOT this .
Its a tourist souviner shop with a cafe basically, amusement park???? no.
Paid £6.00 each adult, to go into a nessi world... Information voice of a Eastern European woman , photographs and information in a cold damp uninviting room, watched a film of interviews that had been the best bit, then went to find the amusements... Saw what can be discribed as a shack containing rooms of child style wallpapered with table football , dressing up .. Even my low maintenance daughter didn't want to even in the building let alone play in there.

1  Thank Fee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed by your recent visit and feel that perhaps something may have been 'lost in translation' as we do not advertise ourselves as an amusement park. Nessieland is a presentation for adults and children about Loch Ness and its famous monster and includes information about other events which have taken place on the loch such as the downed Wellington Bomber and John Cobb's water speed record. At £15 for a family ticket we consider the entrance price good value.

The presentation includes a lot of information and visitors are free to take their time and read as much or as little as they choose and to come and go as they please. The first part of the presentation is a representation of what 'Nessie's Lair' may look like and there are various sections displaying photos, information and models for children to look at and touch. (The voice-over is by a long-serving employee from France).

Nessie's Castle houses various activities for children and we have frequent comments from visitors that it is good to have somewhere for children to play indoors when it rains too much to fully enjoy the outdoor adventure playground.

We are sorry you felt unable to find anything pleasant to say about Nessieland as we are aware other visitors enjoy their time here browsing in the shop and having coffee, homemade cakes and snacks in the cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Went to both "Nessie" exhibits for the purpose of seeing the full monkey. Liked this one more because it was more down to earth and rich. There is a central corridor for the kids to play in and then an outer ring that simply has different posters that tell different stories about the loch, the monster, and the history. I thought it was brilliant. It ended with a terrific video where different, albeit eccentric, folk told their monster tales with a narrator (in a particularly bizarre shirt (Fred Flintstone?)) giving an overview for color. If you can read and do not need a flickering screen for entertainment, this is worth the visit. I would have stayed longer if my wife hanna dragged me oot...

Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and found our presentation interesting. we do try to offer information in such a way that visitors can read as much or a little as they like. We feel the documentary is also informative and has some entertaining moments. Come and see us again some time as we continue to add new things to the presentation.
PS. The narrator's shirt is what's called a 'Jacobite' shirt and is worn with the kilt. You can buy one in the gift shop!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went in for lunch before visiting. Only toasties left. Staff didn't seem to care, even when we asked for the already used table to be wiped that seemed to be too much trouble. During eating we then endured the hoover to help tidy up the crumbs from previous diners.
Couldn't believe the £30 price for 3 small toasties, a coffee & 2 hot chocolates.
Hence we left & didn't visit.
Would NOT recommended.

Thank STL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your visit did not live up to your expectations and that the cafe was not able to offer you what you wanted. I understand that you visited just after a particularly busy lunchtime and unfortunately some of the food we usually have on offer had run out. This can happen after an unannounced coach calls in. I fully appreciate this was irritating and completely outwith your control and only mention it to explain the lack of choice and why the hoover was being used during the day.
I am also concerned about the price you say you were charged for the food. Our prices are displayed outside the entrance to the shop and cafe and there is a copy beside the cafe till. It is highly unlikely that any staff member would have overcharged. The cost should have been just over £20 rather than £30 and our prices are generally considered to be very reasonable.
I apologise again that you visit was disapointing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

we visited thinking there would be more, wasn't sure what to expect, didn't think it was value for the money. don't rush to see it.

Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for writing us a review. I am sorry you didn't find your visit as exciting as you had hoped. We are careful to ensure that our website accurately informs visitors about what we have to see and do here at Nessieland and we had hoped we were good value for money with a family ticket for the presentation, documentary, Nessie's castle and adventure playground costing only £20. We have made a note of your comments and will certainly consider what changes we could make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nessieland also viewed

 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to Nessieland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing