We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever B & B”
Review of Kilmore Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilmore Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Ever B & B”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Can fault this place, great owners full of what to do and lots of local places to eat on the door steep, now had WIFI which was great, food, beds location all A1 - go!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
75
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We spent two nights at this lovely guest house this summer when we traveled around Scotland for 16 days last month. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. Breakfast was excellent. We appreciate that Alan and Sue served us with local produce. We had the best mushrooms here! Alan told us he cooked them with butter and olive oil to give an extra flavour to the mushrooms. Sue's poached eggs were excellent too!

Alan and Sue are nice and hospitable. They are also knowledgeable locals who could always give foreigners good advice.

We drove to Ullapool before checking in. We told Alan that we didn't really like Ullapool as it was only a fishing port. When he asked where we planned to go the next morning, we told him we planned to drive to Kyle of Lochlash. Alan advised us to travel to Black Isle instead if we didn't like Ullapool. Thanks to his advice, we had an excellent day in the area, seeing the hidden beauty of Loch Mullardoch, the red deers in the wild, and Fairy Glen. He clearly told us how to get to different places, what signposts we should pay attention to, where to have a tea break and lunch, and where to have seaside walks.

We did some research before setting off from our own city. We read Insight Guides Scotland and information in many websites. We had not read about Black Isle, Cannich, and Loch Mullardoch. We would have regretted if we hadn't taken Alan's advice. Alan was right - Always ask the locals where to go. Alan was so considerate that he gave us a map before we headed for Cannich.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindaandivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stayed at this B&B from 2nd to 7th May 2010 and this is our personal opinion of this guest house.

Sue and Alan could not be more welcoming, they treat you like family rather than guests and couldn't do enough for you. Their local knowledge is excellent. A huge bonus was the guests lounge - we were even able to watch a DVD.

Although this guest house does not offer evening meals, there are plenty of places nearby to get a good meal and there is plenty of variety. Two local hotels even offer a "drive and dine" service where they will pick you up and after your meal, when you are ready, they will take you back to your guest house.

Our only observation is that if you do not drive, the local public transport system is not brilliant and not particularly cheap either. That said, this is a beautiful area and this guest house is excellent. We'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutantommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Lovely clean, comfortable, spacious and well-equipped bedrooms, cozy residents lounge with log fire. Excellent choice of breakfasts, all served in the dining room looking out onto the garden and pond. Friendly owners who are very knowledgeable about the local area and Scotland in general. Excellent base to go off and explore with relaxing evenings spent in the local pub (which serves good food and local ales). We come back here time and time again and it is always a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Darbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Big room, comfy beds, nice hosts and a lovely dog. Walkable to the pub but not in the 'town' centre (although it's a hamlet, not a town!).

No wifi and rubbish o2 signal (as is the case all around here) are main drawbacks.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton (UK)
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Kilmore farmhouse is in a fbeautiful location literally on the doorstep of Loch Ness, 25 minutes from Inverness airport, 5 mins from Urquhart castle and an hour away from the Nevis range.

Sue and Alan are superb hosts, offering great value for moeny as the breakfast and room are fantastic.

We also made a new friend Cassie the farmhouse adorable black lab.

We enjoyed it so much we're going back again next year.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank J4Joolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2008

spent weekend here and found it to be very nice , rooms are clean and comfortable , breakfast was exelent and service was great , the Farmhose is also nicley placed in the village with some lovely views , also only a 30second walk from the BENLEVA HOTEL which was great for evening meals, and has a fine selection of whiskey and beers ,

Will definetly be back next year .

  • Liked — freindly owners
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potandpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.5 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmore Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmore Farmhouse

Property: Kilmore Farmhouse
Address: Kilmore Road, Drumnadrochit IV3 6UF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are extremely proud to have been awarded The Location of the Year Award 2016 by the prestigious Luxury Travel Guide, an international awards programme in recognition of all holiday & tour options from large operators to small, independent guides. Situated just a little outside the village centre of Drumnadrochit this peaceful four star bed and breakfast haven gives you all the relaxation you need on your highland holiday without taking you too far away from what's going on around you. Enjoy our award winning breakfast and relax in the guest conservatory or guest lounge anytime during your stay. All of our guest rooms are on the ground floor and have had brand new en suite installed in 2016. Enjoy your stay with us! Colin and Frances, your friendly hosts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilmore Farmhouse Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing