We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room was clean, quiet, and perfect for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Family room was clean, quiet, and perfect for us!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for our family of 4, with two 10 year olds. It's in a complex with shops, and the monster exhibition. We booked a boat tour with the desk, as well. There is not really a clear view of the loch, but the location was still good. The restaurant had a nice breakfast. There was a fun, historical hotel that we walked to for dinner, for a change of pace.

Room Tip: We had a family room at the back, #26. It opened to the hillside and was VERY quiet. Just right f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twintravelers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james037, Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I am very pleased you were happy with our family lodges situated behind the hotel. As you have said they are very quiet with plenty of parking and on the odd occasion you can even spot some very rare red squirrels!

Regards
Angela Gillies
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    111
    85
    53
    47
See reviews for
93
168
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Drumnadrochit Hotel sits very close to the Loch Ness (Scottish Loch = Lake), Always kept saying Lake loch ness. It is a small hotel around 5 - 8 miles from Invernes City Center. The rooms are built like a wooden cabin, even though they are housed in Brick Building. The road around the hotel is very quite ,considering the fact that it is very close to the Loch Ness.
I think it was a little expensive, but I had booked on Friday for a saturday trip.(So do not know how much they normally charge).
This place is worth staying if you do not want to stay in the city of Invernes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayaram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we were travelling round Scotland, we were ready to stop for the night and came across this hotel. Chloe the receptionist was amazing, nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was delicious. atmosphere in bar good. The rooms are a bit tired but very clean. Bed could have done with a new mattress, but was still comfortable. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEANandROBsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james037, Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. As you said our receptionist Chloe is amazing and we are so very happy to have her! I’m glad you enjoyed our restaurant and bar which was renovated at the beginning of the year.

As the hotel is under new management we are looking to update our rooms however we keep our standards very high with cleanliness and staff.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Angela Gillies
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed to the building atthe back. It was noisy, you could hear the otherswalking as ifthey were inside your room! Not very clean and it was smelly in the bathroom. I definately do not recomend to stay there. There are some nice b&b at the village.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nakos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james037, Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I am terribly sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us at the hotel and unfortunately we are unable to prevent noise from heavy feet. However I will look into the matter of the bathroom as we do pride ourselves on cleanliness and I’m very disappointed our high standards were not met on this occasion.

We hope to see you again in the future and give our hotel another chance.

Regards
Angela Gillies
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Drumnadrochit hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Another hotel on the Great Glen Way. The room was very comfortable, but it seemed to get very hot for reasons I couldn't fathom. One big annoyance was that the WiFi was only available in public areas, which were shut after 9pm. The only place to pick it up was sat outisde the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james037, Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I’m glad you found our rooms comfortable even if they were a little warm. In Scotland we are not used to such hot weather which we have experienced this year. Luckily all our rooms have windows and generally a good breeze at night.

As for the Wi-Fi we have recently upgraded our systems so now all rooms have great Wi-Fi access.

Regards
Angela Gillies
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a basic no frills hotel. My room was clean but unfortunatly the paper thin walls made it feel as though I was in the next room with the couple having a chat into the small hours. The resturant/bar was comfortable and the food was ok but not as described on the menu. Breakfast was average. As ever in this type of establishment staff were run off their feet trying to cope with several tasks at once, couldn't fault them. All in all ok at a push but I found there are far superior B&Bs nearby that are cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for a night while on a 3 day site seeing tour,check in was very fast and easy,but the rooms were way out of date, small TV with only 4 channels...2 channels being news, no wifi anywhere,we were given the password but could not get wifi anywhere in the hotel.Parts of the room we were in felt like we were going to fall through the floor in spots,the bathroom was about 30 years old and needs updating badly,it is a high step up to the bathtub for a shower and even more so when trying to get out, there is nothing to hang onto when trying to step out of the shower.Both soap containers in the room were empty, walls were paper thin,could hear everything that was going on in the rooms besides us,we new when my sister and brother inlaw fell asleep because we could hear him snoring.

Restaurant opened at 6;30 am, service was fast, but food was nothing special, I had the full Scottish Breakfast and the Black pudding was really really dry,so much that I couldn't eat it.

I would recommend staying at a B&B in the area if you need to stay in Drumnadrochit .

Room Tip: Try to get a B&B for your stay,you will be far better off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gelaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
15.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
14.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
757 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glenurquhart House Hotel
9.9 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumnadrochit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumnadrochit Hotel

Property: Drumnadrochit Hotel
Address: Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumnadrochit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the world-famous Loch Ness Exhibition Centre, this family-run hotel is ideally located for touring the Highlands and offers peaceful surroundings, cosy accommodation and free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.A warm, friendly welcome awaits all guests and the Hotel is committed to providing efficient, attentive service with all the hallmarks of true Highland hospitality. As part of the Exhibition Centre, the Hotel also benefits from a variety of shops (including the Nessie Shop and the Whisky Shop) and can even offer cruises on Loch Ness during the Summer months.The Hotel offers 29 en-suite rooms, each of which is effortlessly comfortable and impeccably maintained. All rooms come fully equipped with a wide range of modern facilities and conveniences including free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV with Sky channels, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There is a choice of Single, Twin, Double and Family Rooms as well as inviting Superior Rooms.The Loch Ness Bistro offers hearty home-cooked cuisine made from the finest locally sourced produce and ingredients. Diners can expect to enjoy comfortable surroundings set against some spectacular views of the village of Drumnadrochit, the hills and the Great Glen beyond. The Loch Ness Cafe serves a variety of hot and cold drinks as well as snacks and light lunches. They can also arrange special packed lunches, perfect for a delicious loch-side picnic whilst enjoying a day of sightseeing. For those seeking further relaxation the Hotel offers a selection of lifestyle enhancing massage treatments. Business delegates are sure to appreciate the excellent conference and meeting facilities, flexible and well-equipped they can cater to a wide variety of different events.The Hotel is located in the Highland village of Drumnadrochit on the west shore of Loch Ness and offers ample on-site parking for all guests. It is situated just off the A82 and is approximately a twenty minute drive from Inverness which offers excellent rail links to all major destinations across the UK. For those flying in, Inverness Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands next to the world famous Loch Ness. Whether enjoying a scenic stroll along the shore or a spot of monster hunting on the Loch itself, there is always some new adventure just waiting to be discovered. The Loch Ness Exhibition Centre offers a world-class insight into the Loch’s wider significance through a multimedia exhibition that takes visitors on a journey from the dawn of time to the third millennium. In the summer months it also provides intimate cruises across the Loch taking in the imposing ruins of Urquhart Castle and the unspoilt beauty of the Great Glen. A diverse selection of tour options are also provided by Jacobite Cruises, offering indoor and outdoor viewing, snacks, refreshments and a fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drumnadrochit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumnadrochit Hotel Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing