We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Loch Ness Glamping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Ness Glamping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Keen campers we felt it was still a bit cold for the tent. We stayed in armadilla 4 and as other reviews have said wifi is not great. We did find once we got connected ( in the BBQ hut) we could receive a signal standing at the door of the armadilla. We took all our usual essential but quite a lot was not needed. Plates, cutlery, pots and pans, BBQ pit, towels, bedding, chairs washing up liquid etc were all provided. Little mix up when we arrived regards to the date. But sorted quickly. Overall we had a great stay, really enjoyed the comfort of having our own toilet, wet room , tv and underfloor heating. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Loch Ness Glamping
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Means a group of friends are just back from Glamping. We absolutely loved it. The Armadillas were gorgeous! So clean and have everything you need. There is also an indoor BBQ which was perfect. Everything was spotless and the beds are comfortable. Also the owners were very helpful and so nice. Made us feel very welcome. We will definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weebritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a weekend break here. We were very excited as we have never seen anywhere like this before. Being winter, it was dark when we arrived and we were greeted at the reception by the male owner who seemed friendly and was helpful. Understanding that we were very tired after the 3 and a half hours it had taken us to get there, he was quick to show us to our pod and gave us a tour around the site. The pods were very clean and were kitted with everything you could possibly need for the weekend - kettle, toaster, plates, bowls, cutlery, mugs, cups, towels etc. There is also a communal microwave in the BBQ hut. However, one thing we came across was that although there was a microwave, the bowls provided in our pod were not microwave safe. We also found it very hard to sleep at night as the room was too warm. We couldn't turn the underfloor heating off as it is winter and we would freeze, however, when it was on it got too warm. There wasn't much ventilation either - just a fan for the bathroom and a fan in the main part of the room to clear the condensation off the windows. It would be good if there was a window that could be opened. I was amazed at how well the shower worked. The bathroom is small (which is to be expected) - but functions well.... And surprisingly the toilet seat manages to stay dry even though the lid gets wet from the shower being practically right over it.. Just remember to take your toilet roll out the bathroom before you have a shower! The mood lighting is a nice touch - very romantic. Was nice lying down listening to the rain patting off the roof. All in all, it was an experience - not the worst and not the best. It was cool and quirky and a novelty to try out for the weekend although, being so far away, I don't think we will be rushing back.

Room Tip: We stayed in POD number 1. Only thing about this room is that the tv doesn't get a great signal...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham A, Owner at Loch Ness Glamping, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your review and your constructive points. The design of the Armadillas does not allow for an opening window however the door can be opened in warm weather to allow for fresh air. The desired heating temperature can be altered and we have mobile phone contact numbers in the folders, we are quite happy to come and alter the heating if required. We will provide microwave safe bowls for next season. The TV signal has been improved since your visit. I trust you enjoyed your first experience of Glamping and realise that it is not to everybody's taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had two nights stay in the stable cabin. The accommodation was spotless and well set up for our arrival, towels etc had dog with us as stable is dog friendly which was ideal. Cannot fault the accommodation one bit. Staff were friendly and informed us of good places to visit. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tn22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at Loch Ness Glamping for two nights and were not disappointed.

The armidilla pod was lovely; warm and comfortable with great facilities. It was also spotlessly clean - cannot fault it at all. The indoor BBQ really added to the experience - it was a great opportunity to chat to other guests while we cooked. The weather didn't really lend itself to taking advantage of the outdoor facilities that were on offer - hammocks and an area by the river across the road - but I can imagine that they are lovely in the sunshine.

The site was a little further out than we expected, but this wasn't a problem as there is free parking in Drumnadrochit to explore the village. Also, some local restaurants offer a 'pick up - drop off' service which is very helpful.

We didn't have much interaction with the owners but they seemed nice. The information in the pod on the pod itself and local area was very helpful, although I couldn't find any information on the check out time anywhere in the pack!!

This was a great experience, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Firstly we didn't find the male owner very friendly ... left us feeling this was purely a financial enterprise (which of course it is but no harm in making your guests feel welcome!). The armadilla we stayed in was lovely but the bed was hideously uncomfortable!

These units are so well insulated that by morning the windows were covered in condensation and it felt a bit airless (the window didn't open).

As stated by other visitors I was really disappointed by the location ... if people keep reporting they are disappointed about the location then there must be something misleading about the website! This is my main issue.

All this said we did have a nice trip but we wouldn't go back and won't be recommending to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Raceybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham A, Owner at Loch Ness Glamping, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We are sorry that you found your glamping experience disappointing. Glamping is never meant to be 5 star accommodation but we try to provide as much comfort as possible in the Armadilla's. There are many traveller pictures on this site which show independent views of the location. Whilst there are no opening windows there is a room ventilation fan fitted in the Armadilla's to deal with the condensation. Reading through the other reviews I have only seen one complaint out of 44 reviews about the location all the other comments are positive. We are sorry you didn't enjoy the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My partner and I, have just returned from 3 nights in an Armadilla pod at Loch Ness Glamping and I can safely say it was just an amazing experience. The pod is warm, comfortable and romantic, with storage, shower room, tea and coffee making facilities, tv, iPod dock and underfloor heating. So much better than staying in some stuffy old B&B. Its so cosy at night and the bed is incredibly comfortable. Location-wise, it is ideal just minutes from Loch Ness and within easy reach of Inverness airport, the Cairngorns, Glen Affric (a must!) and only an hour and a half from the Isle of Skye (amazing drive through spectacular scenery!). I highly recommend this place. The site is gorgeous as well, surrounded by trees. Make sure you have the breakfast, which is takeaway from the site's B&B house...best breakfast - delicious haggis!! YUM! I didnt want to leave! We're definitely going to stay again - only thing I would say is they need more pods as you need to book early!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
14.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
425 reviews
2.0 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
14.8 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 35 in Inverness
491 reviews
10.9 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Glamping

Address: | Anderson Farmhouse, Drumnadrochit IV63 6XT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping is glamorous camping. The site is set in Glenurquhart by Loch Ness close to the beautiful Glen Affric. Glamping is the ideal compromise between camping and luxury accommodation. The accommodation units are called Armadillas and have full en suite facilities, underfloor heating TV, DVD, iPod dock, fridge and a fantastic view. Breakfast is available for those who are not into making it themselves. The area is a haven for walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Glamping Drumnadrochit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing