We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Idea in a Brilliant Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Ness Glamping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Ness Glamping
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Idea in a Brilliant Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights after finishing our final university exams in summer 2013. It was the first time we had gone 'glamping' and will definitely go back.

The hosts were welcoming, happy to help and gave us plenty privacy.

The pods were the perfect size and spaced apart from one another. They were clean and set up the way we had asked. It was an added bonus having a TV/DVD player, although not everyone would be looking to use that on this type of holiday. No problem to use the outdoor bbqs (bought charcoal from the hosts).

Drumnadrochit was a 30-40 minute walk along the road and had some tourist shops and nice cafes/restaurants.

Prices were reasonable/the same as similar glamping sites.

Would go back and travel around the local area again.

Room Tip: Choose Armadilla 1 or 2 if travelling in a group of 2 (or less). Armadillas 3 and 4 are close to ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0m_Y22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    22
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
26
98
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

So my wife has been desperate to go camping for years but after camping on countless occasions (in the wind, rain and cold) as a kid, it wasn't something I was keen on, so we agreed to meet in the middle and go glamping for a couple of nights. I wasn't disappointed, the armadillas were fantastic, comfortable and I was amazed they squeezed all the mod cons into such a small space. The setting was beautiful and the facilities were fantastic so will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EDRGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Had a pleasant 2night stay just after the armadillos had been installed loved them especially as they were brand new.The owners were nothing other than pleasant maybe over time other guests spoiling it for people hence the reading of rules I'm guessing anyhow it is there business after all i suppose we found them really helpful and friendly.There is a busy enough road but didn't bother us we were relaxed and enjoying ourselves enough to ignore it had a great stay would return it is however a 3hr drive away scenery is beautiful on the way but overall a great anniversary treat thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornhollio_21
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed in Armadilla 4 for one night with my mum. Was meant to coming with my husband but he couldnt make it so Mum decided to 'brave it' with me - as at 60+ she never thought she would be going GLAMPING !! On arrival we were greeted by a very nice lady as owners were away at the time. We ordered our breakfast for the next day £7.50 for cooked. We were given clear instruction on how to collect this in the morning. You collect your breakfast from the house in the morning and take it back to you Armadilla or to the BBQ enclosed hut or sit outside - seating provided. Was very tasty and hot. We were shown all the facilities on site and shown how to operate lights etc in our Armadilla. Our Armadilla was perfect - great lighting, clean and very comfortable. There is a fridge, kettle and cutlery provided. Slept so well :-) The bathroom is very small but is a luxury to not have to go outside in the night to go to the toilet !! There is enough room to have a decent shower.
Just wanted to also say due to miscommunication our beds were made up as a Double on arrival - we needed twin beds with our change of arrangements. This was not a problem as at - we took a walk to the river and when we came back after 20mins twin beds had been made up :-)

Would highly recommend for couples or friends.

Room Tip: Wifi limited in Armadilla 4 (but good wifi from BBQ hut)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornhollio_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

After just returning from my weekend trip to Loch Ness glamping, I am already looking to book again!

This place is fantastic. The photos don't do it justice. At first I thought the armadillos would be cramped, however they are actually very spacious inside! The wet room looks small until you are inside with the door closed, there's a lot more space than you think! The armadillos are also equipped with a kettle, toaster, cutlery, sugar and tea bags which is great! Breakfast is available for £7.50 which consists of the usual sausage, bacon, scrambled egg etc, however the breakfast is lovely and it's great you are able to take it back to your armadillo to eat indoors or out.

The owners were not there the first night we arrived, but another lady showed us around when we arrived. We arrived pretty late, around 9.30pm, and she had no problems at all to show us around and tell us about Drumnadrochit. Very friendly and pleasant lady! I finally got to meet the owners briefly on my second night and they both seem so friendly too.

I will most definitely be recommending Loch Ness glamping and I will be returning.

Thanks again for a brilliant stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Thanks for the most perfect three days - the pod was clean and cosy with everything thought of.
The site was wonderful - relaxing beautiful and with little surprises like hammocks and swings and a wonderful gazebo hiding by the river - many thanks to Alison for looking after us and being attentive without being intrusive .
We will definatly be back :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delilah416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a magic time over 2 days.
Loads of walkies for the dog. She's even chilled out now.
Mega friendly hosts.breakfast filled us up for the day of walking.
Will defo be back next year.
Weather amazing for the 2 days

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
6.1 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.0 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Glamping

Property: Loch Ness Glamping
Address: | Anderson Farmhouse, Drumnadrochit IV63 6XT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping is glamorous camping. The site is set in Glenurquhart by Loch Ness close to the beautiful Glen Affric. Glamping is the ideal compromise between camping and luxury accommodation. The accommodation units are called Armadillas and have full en suite facilities, underfloor heating TV, DVD, iPod dock, fridge and a fantastic view. Breakfast is available for those who are not into making it themselves. The area is a haven for walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Glamping Drumnadrochit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing