We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in the Highlands”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wht1
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great cottage in the Highlands”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great stay March/April for long weekend (4 nights). Very comfortable, clean and warm. Central location and easy to get to Skye or Balmoral or Mallaig and back in a day. Booking was straightforward and flexible.
Adrian was very good - when we arrived, the heating and hot water had failed. He gave advice by phone, but when that did not fix it, he came out immediately at almost 11pm (with a backup fan heater), and within 45 minutes, he had fixed the heating and water. Very impressive. Would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss_Suns...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint & Peaceful ”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this quaint cottage with a family of 3, ticked all our needs by far. Lovely set out cottage, all requirements were met and more, lovely little touches. Clean and fresh towels. Great location for the Great Glen and nearby Drumnadrochit, Urqhuart Castle is a must especially on a lovely day, scenery is breathtaking! Inverness is a short journey by car, plenty to do in surrounding areas so great location with this gem to come back to after a hard day sightseeing. Thank you Adrian.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert c
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top location for a trip with up to 4 people”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Riverview Cottage for a short period of 5 days. On arrival we where suprised how fully equipped this cosy cottage was. All what you need for a perfect holiday is there. We really loved our stay there. Compliments to the Riverview Trust and Adrian!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coseyness of the cottage
Liked least: we did not dislike anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you Robert. It always helps to know that we're getting right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roynjo201...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wee gem!”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We want to thank Adrian & the Trust for accommodating our unusual Sunday to Sunday booking request. The cottage is exactly as described, and the directions to locate it were spot-on (you really have to trust them, you can drive by the entrance very easily!). Despite being so close to the road the cottage was surprisingly quiet - perhaps due to the 4-feet thick walls! The kitchen is very nice and well-equipped, the bathroom is clean and everything in it functions well. The lounge is cosy but perfectly adequate. We travelled with our daughter and 2 young children, so we had to put a travel cot in the smallest bedroom - this was a squeeze, but worked well. We were lucky enough to have had some good weather so we were only really there for evenings, overnights & breakfasts but had we been weather-bound there is plenty to do - TV with DVD player, games console, books and board games a-plenty. Drumnadrochit is only about three miles away but we did not explore possible "cross-country" walking routes. I have to say the only criticism we could possibly make is the name of the cottage - "River's earshot" might be a little more accurate as we couldn't actually see the river from the cottage, but who cares! A lovely place, and while it is by no means offering a luxury / executive experience we are very happy to say that it is fully deserving of the 5/5 rating we have given. We would definitely stay again. Roy & Jo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well-appointed kitchen
Liked least: Wasps nest above front door!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
It was a pleasure as ever to contribute in some small way to an enjoyable time that you seem to have had. Thank you for looking after our cottage and leaving in such a neat and tidy condition, this helps enormously to keep our costs down for cleaning and change over. It is a fair point you make about 'Rivers Earshot', but only at this time of year when the little piece of woodland that we own between the cottage and the river is in full bloom. At other times then you will have a decent view through the trees to the river. We look forward to seeing you and other like minded guests again here in the Highlands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardWay...
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideally situated in the Highlands area for walks,scenery and wildlife”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very quaint highland cottage which is ideally situated for both local walking and to explore the neighbouring scenic locations such as Loch Ness, Drumnadrochit, Glen Affric to name just a few. Ideal therefore as a comfortable base for the walkers amongst you!. An abundance of wildlife can easily be seen as evidenced with the photos of deer very close by. The weather was very kind and would recommend this venue without hestitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Television set size
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N23enM17
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely snug and well appointed cottage on fine location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We (Dutch couple) stayed at RiverView for the first week of September 2013. It is snug, very well appointed and at a great location for roving about the Highlands. Contact with Adrian who rents it out was good, tips we gave were reacted on with courtesy and deposit return through PayPal worked nicely.
Real plusses were i.e. that there was stuff like washing up liquid, kitchen paper towel and handwash liquid. All things you use only a few spoonfuls of in a week. Heating worked fine (yes, weather was Scottish :-) and all was clean and fresh and plenty of fresh linnen.
Also nice was the coinphone in the house. This way we were not dependant on our mobiles with the sometimes iffy reception. Plus we could easily phone inside UK for pennies instead of expensive roaming charges when organising our outings etc.

We could write loads about the Higlands surrounding the cottage, but leave it at: just go roaming, it's gorgeous all around and even Isle of Skye is close enough. We don't have much to say about the town Drumnadrochit, because we were mucg on the go. But the jam at the Baking Birds is really good and the small eco-grocerie shop in the centre at the old farm is pretty good also! If you like historic buildings, a tip would be to take an Exlorers Pass with Historic Scotland (closest is Urquhart Castle). If you like whisky, Speyside is closest and riddled with distilleries to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: All was there, including wifi and contact with owner was good
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It has always been a pleasure to welcome our guests from Holland, who are consistently good customers.
As a thank you, RiverView Trust would like to offer a small discount to any future Dutch guests. Please just let us know at the time of booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshwathRa...
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be aware. Deposit not repayed after repeatedly chasing.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Accomodation didn't have anything special. The name is misleading. The TV wasn't working and after the stay when we asked for return of deposit repeatedly we were given all false information claiming damages when we only used the cottage only for overnight sleep.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
After 17 groups booking in this year we think just one bad customer is a good rate, but still disappointing. We should have known better when this guest arrived with a different group of people to the ones which they booked. We wont allow this again. We are sorry sir that you are angry about your small deposit, but TripAdvsior agreed with our decision and we would like to ask them to remove your unfair and untrue comments. As the party that booked was not the party that stayed we think you should be barred from leaving any comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing