We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #6 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in the Syke suite while walking the Great Glen Way. We had time to look around the village, enjoy a drink at the Fiddlers and then eat at the Loch Ness Inn. The guest house is situated in a quiet location. The bed was big and we had our own siting area within the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    27
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
94
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here for one night in June 2012 and had a good night. The house is clean and bright with modern fittings. Lovely bathroom! Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. Our hosts were very obliging even though we were there earlier than would be considered normal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neenabecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for one night during a three day cycling trip. The accomodation is very clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good. Liz was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h2jx7f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My sister and I stayed here whilst walking the 'Great Glen Way' and I jokingly said "After to days 14 mile walk a bath would be the perfect end to the day", and we both laughed as there always seems to be a distinctive lack of baths on these walks. To our surprise after a warm welcome from Liz, she showed us to a lovely room and the light, large modern bathroom with an extremely comfortable bath with overhead shower - Bliss! The breakfast was delicious and it was nice to have fresh grapefruit and fresh coffee too. The guest house is conveniently located less than 5 minutes walk to the 'Loch Ness Inn' which does very good food and delicious local beer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My father and I stayed here for 2 nights during a one week trip to Scotland and loved it. The scenery around the B&B is just amazing. Though we were incredibly close to all the sights in Loch Ness (or amazing walking trails at Glen Affric) it was wonderful to feel like you had escaped into the Scottish countryside. The room was very nicely appointed and the bathroom was spacious. Liz was very helpful with recommendations regarding restaurants and we were delighted with her suggestion of an Indian restaurant just down the street that was very tasty. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank candidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Excellent accommodation and breakfast. Great quiet location, yet close to all facilities. Liz was very friendly and clearly took great care about everything.

Room Tip: Skye suite was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Woodlands is in the perfect location for exploring Loch Ness and the surrounding area. It is a 5 minute walk from the bus stop and 10 minutes from Drumnadroichit town. The main street of Lewiston is just down the road (the Lewiston Inn does fantastic food).

The owner Liz is very friendly and willing to offer advice about the area. She cooks guests a fantastic breakfast every morning. Our room had a fridge which was very useful.

Liz also went out of her way to provide us breakfast when we checked out - we were leaving before breakfast time so she brought up some food items the night before that we could store in our fridge for an early breakfast the next day.

Be sure to ask the owners how to get to their local - and more secluded - view of Loch Ness. It's well worth the hike - but wear runners!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 5 in Lewiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.9 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: East Lewiston | Inverness-shire, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guesthouse is situated in its own spacious grounds with excellent parking and is within walking distance of the world famous Loch Ness. This family run Guest House is a real home from home and a must stay on your Highlands of Scotland Adventure. Run by Rory and Lisa Cameron you are assured of a real Scottish Welcome, with Rory's Australian and Scottish connections affectionately known as a "Scozzie" and Lisa with her Welsh heritage adds a real Celtic flavour to Woodlands. Rory having been in the hospitality business in the area for many years, is extremely knowledgeable of what to do, where to go and what to see and also has a great network of local contacts for organising Fishing trips, Walking trips, dining out, storytelling, and of course "Monster Spotting". The area around Drumnadrochit has a wealth of walks and is situated on the Great Glen Way and Woodlands is an Excellent Haven to rest up for the night. A short FREE taxi ride is on offer from Rory and Lisa to take you for dinner to the award winning Cobbs Restaurant, the only Restaurant and bar overlooking Loch Ness, where you can sample fine Single Malt Whisky and Local Beer from the Loch Ness Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing