We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome & lovely room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #6 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome & lovely room”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stopped here on way north and its a great location, very peaceful and quiet but not far from the Loch. The new owners are friendly & welcoming and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and there was a good Wifi signal and free. Couldn't fault it really and an excellent alternative to the main town, if you'd rather avoid all the touristy stuff. It makes a good base for exploring this lovely part of Scotland.

Room Tip: They also have an apartment for those who want to stay for a week or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innterupter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory240, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your kind words, Lisa and I are pleased to here you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again on any trips north in the future.

Regards,
Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a superb guest house & one of the best I've had the good fortune of staying in. You get all the home comforts but still have plenty of privacy in the large bedrooms. The attention to detail was exceptional. Plenty of tea, coffee available. Shower gel & shampoo if you forget it. Even shoe shine! We stayed just the one night as we were on a whistle stop tour of the Highlands but this was definitely a highlight of our trip. The location was also excellent - less than 5 mins from The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition & Urquhart Castle. Also just a short walk from the excellent Loch Ness Inn that did great food.

Room Tip: Go for the spacious Skye suite if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I had stayed here two years ago as part of a group. I returned because the surrounding area is beautiful and I recalled the Woodlands being nice. I was right, it was not only nice, but Liz keeps an extremely neat and tidy house. Our room had plenty of space, the bathroom was also very roomy. Great WiFi and a very good breakfast. Had a good time talking with our hostess and she gave us some great advice on the area. Shades/blinds in the room were excellent and did such a good job of blocking the light, we almost overslept.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in August in the Skye Suite, it was a beautiful room and very spacious with a good size en-suite; the house is perfectly situated only one mile from Urquhart Castle which is definitely worth a visit, it offers the best views of Loch Ness; in a lovely quiet neighbourhood with a selection of great restaurants all walking distance away.

Liz and her team are lovely, very friendly, and give a warm welcome, with plenty of flyers and menus to help you plan your trip.

Breafast the following morning was superb, if we are ever in the area again we will be returning.

Room Tip: The Skye Suite is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in the Syke suite while walking the Great Glen Way. We had time to look around the village, enjoy a drink at the Fiddlers and then eat at the Loch Ness Inn. The guest house is situated in a quiet location. The bed was big and we had our own siting area within the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here for one night in June 2012 and had a good night. The house is clean and bright with modern fittings. Lovely bathroom! Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. Our hosts were very obliging even though we were there earlier than would be considered normal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neenabecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for one night during a three day cycling trip. The accomodation is very clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good. Liz was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h2jx7f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
4.9 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: East Lewiston | Inverness-shire, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guesthouse is situated in its own spacious grounds with excellent parking and is within walking distance of the world famous Loch Ness. This family run Guest House is a real home from home and a must stay on your Highlands of Scotland Adventure. Run by Rory and Lisa Cameron you are assured of a real Scottish Welcome, with Rory's Australian and Scottish connections affectionately known as a "Scozzie" and Lisa with her Welsh heritage adds a real Celtic flavour to Woodlands. Rory having been in the hospitality business in the area for many years, is extremely knowledgeable of what to do, where to go and what to see and also has a great network of local contacts for organising Fishing trips, Walking trips, dining out, storytelling, and of course "Monster Spotting". The area around Drumnadrochit has a wealth of walks and is situated on the Great Glen Way and Woodlands is an Excellent Haven to rest up for the night. A short FREE taxi ride is on offer from Rory and Lisa to take you for dinner to the award winning Cobbs Restaurant, the only Restaurant and bar overlooking Loch Ness, where you can sample fine Single Malt Whisky and Local Beer from the Loch Ness Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing