We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic, will be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #9 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I cannot praise the Woodlands enough. On arrival the view of the house is picture perfect and looks welcoming. As soon as we walked through the door, we couldn't have been made any more welcome by Rory. We were given all the information we needed, including times for breakfast, places to visit. We were taken right to the door of our room and told if we needed anything just to let Rory know. Our orders for breakfast were taken the night before. The room itself was absolutely spotless, very comfortable, homely, warm and well equipped also had blackout blinds which is great. Very impressed with the added extras in the bathroom, this all made our stay so much more comfortable. Breakfast was really good quality an adequate portion and perfectly cooked. A huge selection of teas, juices cereals to suit everyone as well as a full cooked breakfast. This is a fantastic place to stay, I would definitely recommend it 10/10. We stayed at the Mackinnon Country House Hotel the night before which was double the price for 0 customer service and pretty much 0 everything else really. THANK YOU Rory for a great stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: Just ask Rory, he will let you know. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cah1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory240, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your kind honest review, your words mean a lot to us! We try our hardest to ensure every guest staying with us receives all the information they require on the local area, and of course has the option to order from our beautiful breakfast menu!! Please do come and stay again sometime soon, and just remember to book direct with us to ensure your specific room at the best possible price!

Cheers,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the self-contained apartment that forms part of Woodlands' accommodation. It was clean, modern & well laid out. We were made to feel very welcome by Rory and were also delighted by the thoughtfully provided breakfast refreshments, toiletries etc. Ideal for smaller families.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank GariochScotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory240, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for your review, and yes you are right! Our apartment is ideal for short family breaks away, please keep it in mind when booking anything more than one night and remember to phone to book this room.

Cheers,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This guest house is perfect. The family who run it are very warm and friendly. Our room was gorgeous and absolutely immaculate.
The situation of the property is ideal for exploring lots of places of interest.
The owners had put together a guide book for guests which was fantastic, they had thought of everything, we found it very helpful.
The breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend this guest house to everyone thinking of booking, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory240, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Wow, thank you very much for your very kind words. I am so pleased to hear that you have found everything with our guest house above your expectations! Our bedroom folders are full of info, however I am always available to give you any further info you may require. Please remember to phone ahead next time you come to stay with us to ensure you gain the best available rate as well as your desired room.

Cheers,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were given an apartment with a kitchen which was useful as we didn't have to rush for breakfast :) The place is modern and very clean. The place was cleaned daily with a change of fresh towels. The owner Rory gave us tips on places to visit and restaurants nearby, which was very useful. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irgam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory240, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks very much for your review, I am really pleased to hear you liked our self contained apartment. It is really handy with the kitchen, and also with the continental breakfast which you can take at your leisure. Please remember next time you are coming to stay with us, or any other guests looking to stay - Phone ahead to make your booking and ensure you get the specific room you require. Cheers,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here last week and couldn't fault our stay. Room and bathroom were modern, homely and very clean. Owner was talkative and helpful but left us to it, letting us know where he was if we needed help which we appreciated. Breakfast had a good selection of freshly cooked dishes to order in advance, the full scottish was lovely. Location is very close to the Loch, with restaurant and bar (loch ness inn) a couple of minutes walk. Also we had planned to go to Urquhart castle the morning after which turned out to be only a few minutes away.

All in all would thoroughly recommend here to stay if visiting Loch Ness, thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinburgh186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory240, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you very much for your very true review, we are here to help all of our guests as much or as little as they need. We have a wealth of knowledge in the local area, so really can help plan days out!! Thanks again, and remember to book direct next time you are here at Loch Ness!

Cheers,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hosts were very friendly, the breakfast was delicious, the room was spacious and clean, the location was great...what more to say? We stayed with our 1.5 year old son and he loved it also! We would stay there again. That should say it all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDLichtenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory240, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Eric, I must say you have summed us up pretty well I would say! Thank you for your honest comments, it always helps future travellers when they are considering booking. You know where we are next time you are here at Loch Ness, we would love to see you all again! Please remember to book direct with us next time, to ensure your specific room!

Cheers,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This place is really nice. Not much to complain about to be honest. Great location. Near the town Centre and loch ness and the castle. The house itself and the rooms are very fresh and modern. The price is very good aswell. Just thumbs up for this place, location, freshness, price and the rooms.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory240, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words on our guest house. We do try our hardest to ensure all guests enjoy themselves whilst here at Loch Ness with us. Please phone ahead next time to ensure you get the best room in the house!

Regards,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumnadrochit hotels
0.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
0 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kilmichael House B&B
Kilmichael House B&B
#18 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
159 reviews
4.9 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
90 reviews
0 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#31 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Address: East Lewiston | Inverness-shire, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: £34 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guesthouse is situated in its own spacious grounds with excellent parking and is within walking distance of the world famous Loch Ness. This family run Guest House is a real home from home and a must stay on your Highlands of Scotland Adventure. Run by Rory and Lisa Cameron you are assured of a real Scottish Welcome, with Rory's Australian and Scottish connections affectionately known as a "Scozzie" and Lisa with her Welsh heritage adds a real Celtic flavour to Woodlands. Rory having been in the hospitality business in the area for many years, is extremely knowledgeable of what to do, where to go and what to see and also has a great network of local contacts for organising Fishing trips, Walking trips, dining out, storytelling, and of course "Monster Spotting". The area around Drumnadrochit has a wealth of walks and is situated on the Great Glen Way and Woodlands is an Excellent Haven to rest up for the night. A short FREE taxi ride is on offer from Rory and Lisa to take you for dinner to the award winning Cobbs Restaurant, the only Restaurant and bar overlooking Loch Ness, where you can sample fine Single Malt Whisky and Local Beer from the Loch Ness Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing