We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday base at the shore of loch ness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

First, there is a new separate Website for the B&B: http://www.aslaich.co.uk/

Sarah is taking great care of the guests, havin' always a word for you and assistance (weather forecast, traffic situation or maps).

The bedroom size was small but sufficient, as you could use the breakfast/common room if needed (to have a table to write some postcards), with private bathroom (shower). It was always perfectly made when I returned back there from the daily trip, and even small things I said were taken into account, e.g. i mentioned that i had far to many pillows (the 2 person bed had 4 big and 3 smaller pillows), and on the evening, the 'fairy' took some away and placed them on top of the warderobe (so i did not need to drop them off again).

I've also tested one of all breakfast options (from traditionall scotisch/english, smoked fish with scrambled egg, omelett or pancakes), and it was always good.

The location itself is central for this part of highlands, by car you can go well to Eilean Donan Castle and Isle of Sky (west), to Inverness or Tain (north), to Elgin and the whisky trail (east) or to Fort William and Ben Nevis (south).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowcat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

It has been a pleasure to stay there! We had a nice and friendly welcome, delicous breakfast and felt as if we where at home! Sarah made us feel so welcome and had a lot suggustions on what to do that it really made our trip!

We would definitly go there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freyakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in September. Sarah the host is very kind and friendly, she even washed and dried our dirty and soaking wet trainers when we left them outside, which we were hugely appreciative of. Was a very homely B&B, very clean and comfortable. Only thing I can fault it on is that the walls are quite thin. However I definitely would recommend it, make sure you try the haggis for breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hackmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Everything was clean, the service amazing, great tasting food. It was wonderful to sit outside and enjoy the view of the hills, especially after being in a car all day. We watched a movie in the common room before bed and it was so peaceful and it felt so homey and relaxed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at this cozy and lovely little place when visiting Loch Ness.....a friendly owner greeted and welcomed us and made us feel very comfortable during our stay.

I would definitely recommend this place for people visiting Loch Ness..... it is not too far away from the Loch and Urquhart castle, and has a good range of places nearby for evening meals......

Sarah also provided a good range for breakfast ......

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELFUN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Our first B&B on this trip - three others followed - and the first in my life. We arrived rather late and had reported so in advance. When we reached the premises we found at once the promised note at the door telling us what to do. Inside the light had been switched on to ease our orientation - very nice! The room containing three beds seemed rather crowded, buy since we were only a party of two that didn't matter. Breakfast was very good - it even included the option for Haggis! Our host herself was a dynamic and friendly woman who made sure that we didn't leave hungry ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lupus70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The host is warm and welcoming, the place is spotless. Despite that rooms are a bit small, the messy water pressure in the highlands might be a bit grating, the decor is more adequate for some tastes than for others (as i dont like pink in the slightest and truly believe that b and b and hotels decor shall be a bit more "for most of tastes"), the tiny nice details such as a nice host, a real fire which creates a nice atmosphere, the place kept at a good temperature (as northern scotland is cold in winter), and being ecologically aware, gives good points to this place. I saw a grouse in the garden, and the place is pretty close to Urqhart Castle which is what we wanted to see. Lovely breakfast. Would visit again :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empireofshadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
425 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Benleva Hotel
Benleva Hotel
#14 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#9 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
#19 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aslaich Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aslaich Bed & Breakfast

Address: East Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aslaich Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aslaich is situated near the Shores of Loch Ness in the peaceful and picturesque village of Lewiston, adjoining the village of Drumnadrochit. You can relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery of the Scottish Highlands in our comfortable, clean and totally private accommodation adjoining the family home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aslaich Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing