We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Travelled as a family with a young child.

When we first arrived, I was not happy. We had been driving eight long hours, I was in desperate need of a toilet and a stretch out on a bed, but when we got there, there was no one home. We had to wait an hour before anybody turned up. Had no way to let anybody know, that we were there. The place looked worn down, not been decorated since the 40s, and to add to bad mood, we didn't have en-suite. We did have our own private bathroom but we had to leave the room to get to the bathroom (which was straight opposite to the bedroom).

After I had a chance to freshen up, Sarah, the owner came to introduce herself and straight away I felt more cheerful, she was very friendly and chatty. Made us feel right at home. We stayed for two nights and she was always as lovely, always had time to chat and recommend places to see that we would not have come across without her.

The breakfast was good. Had a good variety to choose from. We tried the fry up on the first morning, and it was good. I found mine too salty, but I don't eat cooked breakfasts usually, I just like to try them out when I am away. Loved the haggis! My partner and son loved their breakfasts, they were happy with theirs. So the saltiness was my issue alone:) The second morning I had smoked haddock with scrambled egg, one the best things I have ever tasted!! My partner had a cheese omelette and son had another cooked breakfast. Both loved theirs, again.

The B&B is located in the most beautiful spot, the views from the bedroom were breath-taking! The local village is a walking distance away. There is a kids park nearby as well, which my son loved. It was a chance for him to do something fun after a long day of walking. Sarah and Darren had kids as well, so they provided playful company in the evening as well, which was nice.

After my initial shock of the old décor, I learned never to judge by first impression. It was clean, bed was very comfortable and the décor made absolutely no difference to our enjoyment. I don't care if the place was orange overall, the owners are still lovely, food is yummy, slept really well.. No complaints at all! We are actually looking to go back as soon as. It was our first time at a bed and breakfast, and we would definitely visit Aslaich again! Next time, I will let them know what sort of time we will be arriving though..:)

Room Tip: Room 1 had the bathroom outside the room. Also it is the first room when you come in, so at night wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    28
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent two nights here as my wife wanted to stay in a bed and breakfast and see Loch Ness. This place checked off both boxes.

The breakfast is great and the B&B is within walking distance of Urquhart Castle. There is also a great restaurant in Drumnadrochit called Fiddlers that is well worth a walk.

We both highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolamroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It is a very good B&B located in a quite village 15 miles from Inverness. A very good place surrounded by natural beauty.
The owner is very hospitable & ensures that you have a pleasant & comfortable stay.
The rooms & the whole establishment is neat & clean and it feels like home. The lounge has a TV & a good selection of movies & games. The breakfast was delicious & was served hot.
Had a very pleasant & relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeradhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed one night on a Highland Experience tour. The room was clean and well-appointed though a bit small. Bathroom appeared to be recently renovated. Host was lovely and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The B&B had a nice lounge area with a television, fireplace and fair selection of DVDs.

Only complaint, the walls are a bit thin. A small group of traveling together occupied the other rooms of the B&B and they were quite noisy going in and out of eachother's rooms throughout the evening.

Overall I would return if I found myself in Drumnadrochit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed after a long walk as part of the GGW. Sarah was a wonderful host as we had just arrived tired from South Laggan, 35 Miles away. She had booked dinner nearby for our arrival, but as we were late, she was kind enough to rustle up an omelette and coffee which were very welcome. The beds were excellent and there was even wireless although we were too tired to do anything.
Breakfast was superb. We thought this was great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Lovely B&B in a modern bungalow split into guest rooms on one side and family home on the other. Rooms are modern and well equipped if a tad small. Fine for a one night stay, which was the case for our first night on a Highland tour. The breakfast room has stunning views and the breakfast did not disappoint. The nearby Benleva Hotel is perfect for a good quality pub meal and their own brewed Loch Ness real ales.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

Found this b&b via a third party website. Booked a triple room but were given 2 double rooms as the triple room had been taken. We were still given the same rate as the triple room which was a really nice touch. Would recommend booking directly with the owners.

The b&b was easy to find. The rooms were great and the en-suites were great. We arrived to a roaring fire which was much needed as we needed the heat!

Sarah was very welcoming and made us feel like a member of the family.

The b&b was near a number of other places to eat but we decided to have the curry (the fire was too warm to leave!)

Breakfast was substantial and the coffee was great - just what was needed to get us going in the morning!

The b&b was a 5 minute drive from Urqhart Castle so the location was perfect!

Thanks again for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ-BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Ness Backpackers
Loch Ness Backpackers
#1 of 1 in East Lewiston
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aslaich Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aslaich Bed & Breakfast

Property: Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Address: East Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aslaich Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aslaich is situated near the Shores of Loch Ness in the peaceful and picturesque village of Lewiston, adjoining the village of Drumnadrochit. You can relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery of the Scottish Highlands in our comfortable, clean and totally private accommodation adjoining the family home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aslaich Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing