We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walkers' paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Rowan Guest House
Ranked #5 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
perthshire
1 review
“Walkers' paradise”
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Long distance walkers can't always be the easiest guests. We arrived dry but many must be soaked when the Glen Rowan door bell is answered. The welcome was first class and the offer of tea much appreciated. Glen Rowan is spotless and every need is anticipated. Even better, our request for an early breakfast was readily accommodated and of course the breakfast was superb - we had to walk many miles to find poached haddock. Our hosts, Vanessa and Alistair deserve your visit.

  • Liked — the welcome
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
150
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Stayed as a familly of four in adjacent rooms for 4 nights. Modern building, rooms average size but kept clean and serviced daily. Really enjoyed the breakfasts with good choice and very friendly and attentive host who also helped us find and book places to eat in the evenings. Good views from breakfast area and a big garden to play in. located in quiet road, with many other B&Bs here and elsewhere in Drum... Very good spot for visiting countryside and Loch ness. Would certainly go back.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank ifletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

Lovely B&B, on a quiet street. Nice gardens where one can sit for awhile and listen to the birds and the stream going by. Alistair & Vanessa great hosts. When we arrived they offered us tea or coffee, talked about the places to visit in the area. Suggested restaurants for our evening meals and even made the reservations for us. Their breakfasts were excellent with juices, fruit, yoghurt, dry cereal, oatmeal (if one wanted it), and great cooked breakfast with eggs, sausage, bacon, or smoked salmon and haggis or blood pudding if anyone wanted it. The room was extremely clean, with a shower and nice touches of complimentary toiletries. All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Liked — good breakfasts,good hosts
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra-Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

If you want to spend a nice holidays near the Loch Ness, you have to stay in this amazing B&B.

The owners treat you like family. You will find a confortable bed and clean bathroom, a magnificant garden and delicious breakfast.

Allistair&Vanessa also provide you some nice suggestions of lovely places to visit. You won't be lost!

Completely recommended, it is 5* .

  • Liked — very good
  • Disliked — we haven't seen Nessie
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joao_Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, County Durham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2007

From our hosts waving 'hello' as we pulled up on our bikes, to them waving us off the next morning, our stay was a delight!

The bikes went into the garage, we were welcomed with coffee and biscuits in the beautifully furnished lounge, the bedrooms and en-suite were top hotel quality and everything gleamed like a new pin.

Our hosts booked us a table in the local Indian Restaurant, gave us a free drinks voucher, then drove us there too. What service!

The room had loads of nice little extras, e.g. a disposable razor and ladies personal products.

The breakfast was really good, with a wide choice available.

Alistair and Vanessa were exceptional hosts and their home really did feel like ours. The place is laid out with guest rooms and living space on the ground floor and our hosts living on the lower ground floor.

The gardens were amazing and we could have had drinks by the stream if had not been raining.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k1200ltgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

A smart, clean bungalow with an excellent dining room and very comfortable room. Very nice hospitality tray in the room and small, but well laid-out bathroom with the full requisite of complimentary goodies. Breakfast was excellent (though the option of dining slightly later would have been nice), and superb advice from our hosts re. local restaurants & attractions. Throughly recommended.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabl0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Excellent telephone manner Mr Ferguson(Alistair) private joke!!!!
After a lovely warm welcome from both Alistair and Vanessa and then being shown to our extremely well appointed rooms which had special little touches that even some fairly high class hotels do not offer their guests, we were then offered the choice of a hot drink which could either be taken in the guest lounge or the beautiful garden. We opted for the garden which was such a lovely tranquil setting beside the river.
Alistair even advised us to pre-book our evening meal on the Friday as he realised how busy Drumnadrochit would be, he also provided transport to the local hotel as well as on Saturday morning to the concert venue.
At the last minute on Saturday morning Vanessa provided us with 5 packed lunches which were greatly appreciated as the day wore on.
Overall everything about Glen Rowan was excellent and we highly recommend it. In our opinion 5 star accommodation with such welcoming and friendly hosts. ENJOY!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BORLUMMUDFAIRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.8 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
14.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
4.5 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spring burn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rowan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rowan Guest House

Property: Glen Rowan Guest House
Address: West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish Family Bed and Breakfast, Comfortable Bedrooms, Hearty Scottish Breakfast, Riverside Garden and Guest Lounge. Close to Loch Ness, Urquhart Castle & Loch Meiklie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Rowan Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing