We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Rowan Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Drumnadrochit Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glenurquhart House Hotel(Balnain)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priory Hotel(Beauly)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
302
28
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
28
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch nesslovely gardenstayed longerexcellent breakfastplaces to visitdinner reservationsstayed two nightsurquhart castlenice staylocal attractionsplodda fallswalking the great glenlocal pubbiscuitsdouble roomlovely roomhome from home
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Alastair and Vanessa are very good hosts and made us feel welcome the moment we stepped in the door. Alastair spent time to ensure we had everything we needed. His summary of each of the restaurants was entertaining and he certainly knew his stuff. Breakfast was welcome and well cooked by Vanessa. Only small negative was the size of the room but this was minor in comparison to the friendliness of the hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stylezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Alastair & Vanessa are particularly attentive hosts and they made us feel right at home. Only had 1 night there but would have been happy to stay longer if our itinerary had allowed.
Can't agree more with all the reviews I have read except we must have got the big room as there was loads of space.
Had a great discussion about Scottish independence (or not) over breakfast and didn't leave until mid morning so we weren't left with the feeling we were being hurried.
Brilliant!

Room Tip: The size of the room and the view are not important if you are merely sleeping there so disregard picky reviews on that subject. If the review rates the hosts and the food highly then that's one to go for!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hospitality at Glen Rowan Guest House is top notch. Alistair and Vanessa make you feel right at home, the atmosphere is familial and low key. While Alistair ist reponsible for the "glam and glitter" (his words), Vanessa whips up delicious Scottish breakfasts. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The room walls are thin, but since the warm atmosphere at the house leads to courtesy from the guests, everything is nice and quiet. The packed lunch option is good and cheap. The nearby Loch Ness Inn restaurant offers very good food and is a 5-minute walk from the guest house. For those liking to walk, it takes a 20-minute car ride to get to Glen Affric, which is a beautiful national nature reserve. The city of Inverness is also about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneMattiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Rooms are small, showers are average. However all is soon forgiven because the proprietors are real quality. Alistair has a real flair for the job and is complemented perfectly by Vanessa. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurence w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I must say Alistair went above and beyond with hospitality. We arrived having had a flat tire in the middle of nowhere and needed to get a new tire and he was very kind in helping us arrange that. Lots of helpful suggestions that were knowledgeable for places to find an evening meal. the room was clean and the king-size bed was comfortable. The room was not huge but the big bed made up for that (and was probably the cause of the reduced space but very worth it!!) The breakfast was great and we got to listen and partake in a great discussion about Scotland separation with another couple staying there. All in all a great little place to stay and I would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRHCaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews