We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine Scottish Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tramps B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tramps B & B
Ranked #13 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
“Genuine Scottish Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My daughter and I received a warm welcome for our late arrival in this lovely, village setting, not too far off the main road near Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle. Mary, with her Highlands hospitality, offered excellent choices for breakfast (made to order), in their charming conservatory breakfast room with individual tables for guests, with a view putting you in an authentic Scottish setting. Thank you Mary for starting our Highlands adventure with your suggestion for picnic walk, packed lunch, some local stories, and your gracious hospitality!

Room Tip: Triple room (3 single beds) has a large, luxurious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
63
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Tramps isn't the most luxurious B&B we stayed in on our trip but it was quiet, clean and the breakfast room was nice with a great view. Having said that, Mary is the reason to stay at Tramps. She was so wonderful, helpful and friendly to us and others and made us feel really welcomed. It was my husbands birthday and she and her granddaughter brought out some cup cakes and a card for him - way above and beyond. There was also a desperate traveler that stopped by in hopes of finding a room. Mary was booked up but quickly got on the phone and called around to try and help this person out. You'll be hard pressed to find a nicer or better hostess so if you're looking for a good value and don't need down pillows, a water view or a giant bathroom you'll be happy with Tramps.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptaconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in this lovely B & B for 3 nights. Mary is indeed a warm and welcoming hostess, though due to family commitments was not there for the whole of our stay but she chose her substitutes well and we were well looked after by Marjorie and Sandy. Our room was comfortable and clean with good ensuite and easy to use shower. The conservatory dining room offers wonderful views of the surrounding hills to enjoy whilst eating an excellent breakfast. We would certainly like to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheenaEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Lovely warm welcome, tea or coffee and goodies offered on arrival if you like, otherwise Mary will show you straight to your super room. Stayed in the comfortable, clean twin room with great ensuite. Fantastic dinner at Loch Ness Inn and great nights sleep. Good breakfast to set you up for the day. Stay here you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Pamlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Lovely warm welcome from Mary when we arrived, she had tea, coffee, cakes and biscuits waiting for us. Room was warm, lovely and clean. Can't wait to go back Drumnadrochit, will definitely be back to stay at Tramps. See you soon Mary.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnats80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

A wonderful Scottish welcome from Mary on arrival with a cup of tea and cakes and biscuits. These were very welcomed as we were staying at Tramps as part of walking the Great Glen Way. Mary was great and very helpful - she booked our evening meal, gave us useful information for the rest of our tip and was a great hostess. The rooms were very clean and had all the necessities you could need. A good choice of breakfast which was lovely. A great place to stay and Drumnadrochit is a lovely village to visit. Would definitely recommend. Thanks Mary

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_Travellers121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family of four stayed for 2 nights in their side lodge. It was a little house, complete with kitchen and living room. It was extremely comfortable, and just perfect for us. We were able to spread out, and relax completely. The proprietors were very welcoming & brought cookies over when we arrived, and made sure that the WiFi reached all the way to the back of the lodge. Breakfast was in our own kitchen, and therefore more flexible but not cooked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kzh43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.8 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.4 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
4.5 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 5 in Lewiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spring burn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Spring burn Cottage Bed & Breakf...
#10 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tramps B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tramps B & B

Property: Tramps B & B
Address: Tramps Balmacaan Road, Drumnadrochit, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Tramps B & B Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing