We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad, but we've stayed in worse”
Review of Motel 6 Manchester

Motel 6 Manchester
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Manchester
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 14 November 2007

After reading the reviews, I almost canceled our stay here. But in Manchester for TripRewards users, there is not much choice (actually there are no Choice Hotels). We prepared for the worst.
First, we passed up the motel because they did not have their sign turned on. When I checked in there was no one at the front desk, even after I rang the bell several times. I finally called the front desk on my cell phone and the staff member showed up. She was very friendly. She did seem a bit confused because the only information my reservation had was a name and date. Thankfully we were able to get a big enough room for a family of five and was able to redeem our points for it.
We were prepared for the worst but it was better than we expected. The king bed room was big enough for all of us. It was run down with mold. We didn't see any bugs but it was late October. Breakfast was limited to say the least. But we know that breakfast at these places are pretty much non-existent. There was no staff available at check-out.
If you have allergies, you won't want to stay here. My husband's and two kids' allergies went nuts.
We travel the country quite a bit with three young children so we're always looking for good deals and free stays. We don't expect much and we know what to expect. Believe it or not we stayed in worse places but this one was near the bottom. This stay just cements that we will try to avoid Super 8s from now on (expect for the one in Plainfield, IN which is awesome).

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bigwaggsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2007

My wife's name for the place says it all. We're pretty easy to please. We traveled for two weeks from Florida to Colorado and back and this is the only place that I definitely would not recommend. Very unclean. The mold in the shower was so bad that we both felt bad the next morning. And my wife is usually not allergic to anything. From our experience and the other reviews, it sounds like they were flooded or have major water distribution problems there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAGBolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We were exhausted when we checked into this filthy motel, and didn't check the room before going to sleep. We were awakened early the next morning by ants crawling in our beds. Pulling the shower curtain back revealed black mold along the ceiling above the tub. I have lung disease, and suffered an extreem coughing fit soon after entering the motel room and again that morning. Since I am also allergic to mold, it is pretty obvious what set me off. The lady at the desk refused to refund anything and said since we stayed all night it was our problem. I have pictures of the mold, but why bother posting them? Our letter to the corporate office received no response.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank atesmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

This hotel needs some major remolding. The bathroom had mold along the bath tub wall. The shower is too short so you have to duck down to get under it plus the water pressure is not good. The wall under the sink is moldy and watered spotted. Need lots of pillows to sleep on because they are so thin and flimsy. The pool & hot tub are are not working so why have them.
If it was not pouring down rain when we arrived, we would have gone some where else.

Very disappointed with this chain. Will never stay at any more Super 8's.

Very frequent Harley weekend traveler

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thunderfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

I thought the outside looked cleaner than the other low priced hotels but the inside was dreadful I should have looked at the room first. Carpet and pillows were sticky, the bathroom was dingy and the toilet seat was broken. The airconditioner was so loud we could barely hear the TV at full volume.
The breakfast was the worst I have ever encoutered, a paltry selection of cheap breadstuffs, the cereal container was nearly empty and I found a bug in the milk. This place should have been $20 cheaper. The only nice thing was that it had HBO and you could walk to some restaurants and stores.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hardendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brainerd, Minnesota - North Fort Myers, FL
1
Reviewed 29 January 2006

The shower and bathtub was terrible. The shower was low pressure and when you pulled the thing to turn on the shower the water kept coming from the water spout. When you finished your shower the bathtub was half full of water. The next morning we were expecting coffee and something to eat. Well NO coffee, the pots were empty and no one around. Note on desk leave the key here.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
kentucky
13
Reviewed 10 July 2005

this place is terrible...first room has the floor soaked with beer...so i ask to change...they move me...then an hour and a half later four policemen barge into the room holding flashlights and guns...yelling at me asking if i have a receipt...there was a shift change and the person who moved me did not tell the next worker....spiders in the bathroom....the worst...do yourself a favor and don;'t stay here...very rude staff

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
3.7 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Luxury Suites
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Manchester
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 17 in Manchester
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Manchester

Address: 2430 Hillsboro Blvd, I-24 & Highway 41, exit 114, Manchester, TN 37355-6535
Region: United States > Tennessee > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £42 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Manchester 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Manchester, TN is located off I-24, halfway between Nashville and Chattanooga. Manchester is the host of the Bonnaroo Music Festival each June. Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms, pet friendly environment and the lowest rate of any national chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing