We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated and friendly B&B.”

Carn A Chuilinn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carn A Chuilinn B&B
Ranked #18 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideally situated and friendly B&B.”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I had a excellent stay at this B&B and was well pleased with the hospitality.On my arrival I was greeted with a cup of tea and a friendly chat then showen my room.Their was a great choice of breakfast.Anne was very helpful about any information I needed about the places I was going to see.I was very pleased with my stay and would recomend this B&B to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moseatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My friend and I travel annually and 2011 was Scotland. We rent a car and after a couple of nights, prebooked prior to landing, we take off to see the world. We take our chances on B&Bs and this one was a winner. The room was spacious, the bathroom newly redone and everything was spotless. The location was quiet and the hostess very accommodating. It is very near the town of Ft Augustus and we ate at a restaurant/pub there with great food. She offered to fix anything we'd like for breakfast and then visited with us as we ate to point out places of interests, sights to see, etc. I would recommend this to anyone for a great place to spend the night while seeing Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offtoseethewizard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Carn a Chuilinn is a lovely house on the edge of Fort Augustus, just a nice walk to the pubs and restaurants around the locks. Our hostess Anne was very friendly and helpful and served a wonderful cooked breakfast. There was also a wide selection of cereals, yoghurt, fruit and fruit juices. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a large power shower. We would recommend this accommodation to anyone planning a trip to this area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandVal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This was a first class B & B. We had used similar beds during our UK trip but this one was the best of them all.
Ann the owner was very friendly and very obliging to make our stay enjoyable.
Our room was well set up allowing us room to unpack, but open plan enough to see that we left nothing behind.
The only negative would have to be that we were on a tour and had to walk the 1.5km trek into town. If we had a car this would have been no trouble at all.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongfordGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zottegem
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We stayed 5 nights at this B & B accommodation as we had planned only three days. We felt ourselves at home, and Anne was the perfect hostess : always friendly, busy and asking if everything was fine.
We had a spacious and spotless room with a huge shower.
Although our knowledge of English is limited, we had a nice chat with Anne every time we saw her.
The breakfast was always really nice and Anne filled all our needs.
What is an asset : the accommodation is within walking distance from the lovely Fort Augustus where there are enough pubs and restaurants (Anne gave us sufficient information about it).
Fort August itself is a great base to visit some parts of the beautiful Scotland and we drove from there for example to Skye, Oban and Ullapool.
Alma and Luc, Zottegem, Belgium

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotenbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights and it was very clean, welcoming, excellent value for money, breakfast with plenty of choice and variety as well as timing to suit you. It is on the edge of the village but my wife has mobility problems and managed to walk it several times without a problem. Lounge was lovely and TV in there always available. Anne even came round and put the heating on if you were sitting in there.
You can find fault with anywhere if you want to but you would have to be very choosy to find fault with this place. I think you would find it difficult to find better value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyDandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I would recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in the Fort Augustus area. We received a very friendly welcome from Anne. The room was spotless, comfortable and the shower was great. Our breakfast was excellent with good choices available.
We will be back.
Catherine & Iain, from Erskine.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Macsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 27 in Fort Augustus
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond House Hotel
Richmond House Hotel
#12 of 27 in Fort Augustus
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carn A Chuilinn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carn A Chuilinn B&B

Property: Carn A Chuilinn B&B
Address: Fort Augustus PH32 4BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Carn a Chuilinn Hotel Fort Augustus
Carn a Chuilinn Bed And Breakfast
Carn A Chuilinn B&B Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing