We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 1 Week Holiday Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aonach Mor at the Highland Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went up to Scotland in the half term holidays and it was amazing. The room had a fully equipped kitchen-diner-living room with a television with a DVD player and lots of DVDs to
play and it also had a BT vision box with catch up. IT had a storage cupboard that had two badminton rackets, two tennis rackets, a vacuum cleaner, two bags filled with golf clubs ,some jigsaw puzzles and some board games. The swimming pool was great even though it wasn't very deep. The lounge was great with a snooker table and a table football game. We had our own BT wi-fi router in our room. The bathrooms were excellent. The bedrooms were excellent. Best holiday ever!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. So pleased that your stay with us at the The Highland Club was your best 1 week holiday ever…we can't ask for more than that :) Please come back soon.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

What an idyllic location! We stayed for a weekend and it was certainly not long enough. The facilities are to a very high standard and there is plenty to do whether the sun is shining or the weather is inclement. Facilities include a snooker table, table tennis, croquet, tennis court, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, giant chess and long corridors to contemplate! The apartment is very spacious and incredibly well appointed with a fantastic private garden featuring a new patio, smart patio furniture and large gas burner BBQ. If you want to have a stylish and relaxing holiday in a beautiful location then this is the place to go! A great central location to explore a beautiful part of Scotland.

Room Tip: For excellent outside exclusive space- garden including BBQ facilities -Abbey Garden apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mearnsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the Abbey Garden apartment. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the facilities on offer at the Highland Club and the private garden and BBQ facilities of this lovely ground floor apartment. We hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent four nights in this third floor apartment. The views were incredible. Climbing the 110 steps from the front lawn to the bedroom was worth the trip. Aonach Mor provided a welcome greeting, showed us the apartment and then allowed us to enjoy the sanctuary that is the Monastery Tower. If you are able to make the climb this apartment is definitely worth the trip. The abbey is perfectly situated as a central location to visit the highlands. You enjoy the peace of a small town and can get to all natural attractions within one hours' drive. The apartment is well appointed with wifi included. If you are a couple traveling without children this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you Paul for taking the time to write us a review. We were very pleased that you came to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in the Monastery Tower (Monastery 19). The views are superb, and I agree well worth the climb. Thank you again & best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent a week at one of the self-catering houses here, 2 adults 1 10-year old boy and a collie. Excellent accommodation especially the well-equipped kitchen (not many places you can bake a decent loaf of bread) which means that self-catering is much easier. Also a very good shower, and the TV will take an X-box. The swimming pool isnt very deep but is beautiful; its in the old scriptorium with a view of the mountains-how cool is that? The village is a short walk away through the grounds, which are also lovely and the view of the loch in the morning is stunning. Pictures dont really do it justice. The village is small but has a decent supermarket and butcher so you can find almost everything you need. Dont underestimate how long it takes to get here (the highland roads are slow and windy) but its a fabulous place. Make sure you take the speedboat ride too, and take your dog with you-a dog lifejacket is provided!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvbStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for the information provide in your review, I am sure other guests of Aonach Mor at The Highland Club will find it very useful. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back some time soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from 5 nights in this 3rd floor apartment with views directly down the loch. Just fantastic! I'm Scottish and have NEVER stayed in a Scottish rental place as cool as this. I booked directly with the owner who, along with the staff at the venue, Charles and Pebble were very kind and helpful when we had an unforeseeable problem.

The 2 bed apt was luxuriously appointed, the pool was warm and spotlessly clean, the club room was quiet and beautiful but the view from the window of the apt makes it really special.

We were a family group of in laws and our 4 year old daughter and we want to return so that we can use the grounds /and facilities to their full extent, Snow and icy wind hindered that but didn't stop the trout from attacking my lures 50 yards from the back door. 5 minute walk to the shops and pubs too so it really is all good.

Our boiler broke down so we had limited hot water and we were told that there may not have been enough hot water to shower 6 people consecutively even if it had worked. Just one to bear in mind. That said. We'd be back in a hearbeat,..Well done the owners!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank STEVEUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is our second visit to the Highland club in six months. We first came in September 2013 and stayed in Abbey church 15, it was fantastic with Great views of the loch. This time we wanted to stay in another of the stunning apartments and we took the three bedroomed old school 12. It has a fantastic open space for the living room, dining area and kitchen with the most beautiful window over looking the sports facilities , Caledonian canel and Loch Ness. The appartment has 3 spacious bedrooms and two bathrooms. We've taken residence in the very large mezenne bedroom which also shares the large gothic window.

We have two boys aged 2 and 4, the first time we came to the abbey we did wonder if we could fill a week keeping the boys entertained, but it was brilliant, we never moved the car for the first 5 days, we were lucky with the weather and the boys and us were so relaxed just playing in the grounds ,spending time by the loch shore, swimming and wandering up into fort Augustus itself. There are some good entertaining things for the kids on route to Inverness and to fort William. So we are back again and the kids just love it, they don't want to leave, and we will be back time and time again.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, you can't help but feeling a little bit special when you wander around the Highland Club...

It's a strange thing , I want to tell the world about the highland club , but at the same time I want to keep it to myself, just in case it's fully booked the next time we want to visit...

The Highland Club is a fantastic highland retreat where you can't help but chill out..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHUNKYJACOBITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for your review, it was lovely to welcome you and your family back to the Highland Club. Sounds like your boys had a great time! Thanks again, we hope to see you back for your 3rd visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent a week at the Luxurious fabulous St Andrews Chapel over New Year 2013/2014.
Cannot recommend this apartment highly enough, the quality and finish combined with the tranquility of the resort were unsurpassed.
Thanks To the management team for welcome and service, the whole experience was superb,
the Chapel stunning and quality of furnishings amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for your review of the beautiful St Andrew's Chapel Apartment, it was lovely to welcome you back and we hope to see you again some time soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
6.8 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonach Mor at the Highland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonach Mor at the Highland Club

Address: Fort Augustus Abbey | Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonach Mor at The Highland Club Scotland is within the incredible environment of the Grade I listed St Benedict's Abbey and sleeps from 1 - 8 people. We care for over 40 apartments, one, two and three bedroomed. Every apartment is fully equipped, overlooking either the beautiful Abbey grounds or stunning Loch Ness. We are not just a booking agent, we own one apartment and are on-site every day to care for the apartments and our guests.There are 20 acres of grounds, tennis, cricket pitch, football pitch. The Club Lounge has a full size snooker table, table tennis, table football and free Wi-Fi. There is also an adventure playground, barbeques, picnic tables and a superb waterside restaurant. Our accommodation will give you an unforgettable holiday or short break. Fantastic INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, sauna and steam room and fitness room now available to guests. The lovely village of Fort Augustus is just a two minute walk, central in The Highlands for touring. Wheelchair access is available in some apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aonach Mor at the Highland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonach Mor At The Highland Club Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing