We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Ever Experience of Scotland”
Review of Old Pier House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Pier House
Ranked #10 of 26 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our First Ever Experience of Scotland”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My husband and I booked to stay at the Old Pier House for Saturday and Sunday, leaving the bank holiday Monday.
This was our first time to Scotland and afte a seven hour drive, we arrived to be greeted by the rudest person ever "JENNY" .
We arrived at 11.30am, which was early but on the phone Jenny said it would not be a problem. When we rang the bell nobody answered. As there was picnic benches around the grounds we decided to have a sandwich and wait.
Thirty minutes later Jenny passed and we waved to her. Two dogs came over to us, sniffing around us as dogs do. My husband rightly or wrongly gave the dog a piece of his sandwich. Without even an introduction Jenny came over to us screaming and shouting "What are you doing feeding my dogs, you have no right!!!".
We felt like naughty school children being shouted at by an irrate headmistress.
My husband apologised several times but Jenny kept on screaming.
We both sat there for 10minutes stunned.
We thought she may apologise when we booked in. We went up to the house and rang the bell, the door was open and we could hear people talking but were left there for 10minutes. My husband had to shout "hello" several times before Jenny appeared.
My husband apologised again about feeding the dogs and we thought Jenny should apologise for the way she had spoken down to us. She refused and began shouting at us again for feeding the dogs.
We told Jenny that she was rude and that this was our first time to Scotland and that we didn't want to stay at her B&B. Her reply was "GOOD". So we left.
On arriving home Jenny had sent an e-mail apologising saying that if we had of let her calm down we could have been friends.
We asked around the area about Jenny and was told that she was eccentric and that her dogs have the run of the place.
If you have children and you stay at the Old Pier House please make sure that they don't feed the dogs. Jenny upset us and we would hate to think how traumatised a child would be.
Jenny have you ever hought of working for the Scottish Tourist Board.
Thank you for ruining our first ever experience of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ppcmac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    28
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
45
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The Old Pier House is in a beautiful location and we were all looking foward to our stay (me, husband and two kids). Unfortunately, the host Jenny, was run off her feet and therefore unable to deliver the service previous guests seemed to have experienced.
The welcome she gave us was luke-warm, any questions we asked were greeted with rushed answers and she disappeared a number of times, leaving us guessing about things.
The Family room was fine but not great, and the same can be said for our breakfast.
Even though there are animals about, it's not a place I'd reccommend for children.
Maybe if Jenny hadn't been so rushed our experience would have been better. She has a lovely house in a truly wonderful setting, but we won't be going back there. We will definitely visit Fort Augustus again though.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Great view, nice room, super breakfast. Right on the loch, superb location, very friendly hosts (and dogs!).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu_Chan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Can I just say firstly what a truely wonderful lady Jenny the owner is.She welcomed us into her home like old friends.
I stayed here with my partner and son for a birthday treat.I could not have picked a better place as everything was just perfect.
The old Pier house is run by Jenny ,where she gets her energy from i have no idea.She's always about to give you advice ,warm conversation and help.Jenny is there at breakfast time encouraging you to make the most of her fantastic full scottish..yum.To gather up her super friendly horses that have the run of the place ...My sons favourite was Dougal a little shetland poney with a huge personality.And the overall running of The Old Pier House.
We were very kindly allowed to use the two rowing boats on the little lake just ouside the Pier house much to my sons joy...we were never out of them.there's a real tree house to climb and fields of highland cattle to find.
The walk to fort Augustus takes about five minutes along a nice long private drive.
The old Pier house realy was a perfect gift...I loved Lochness and staying here just made my birthday a birthday I'd never forget.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Only needed to stay one night, No rooms available in the main house, so Jenny offered me a log cabin, i said yes and was not sure what it would be like. It was well signposted and found the house with no problems, Jenny is a real character, i got the feeling she would bend over backwards to make your stay as good as possible. Log cabin i got was for 2 people, had a double bed, shower, small kitchen area and seating. Was different from the standard B&B i have been to many times and i just loved it. Very peaceful, very quiet, good view from the massive patio doors. We had a great time, nothing better than getting up and cooking your own breakfast as i did. Very homely, i felt very welcomed and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

A huge piece of land with a really nice house in the middle, typically scottish! I would recommend this B&B! I'm sure we can see Nessie from the bedroom ... :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiliDam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We spent 2 nights during mid May at the Old Pier House and couldn't have chosen a better venue. There's no where else on Loch Ness that's provides the space and views that are on offer here. The accommodation itself maybe resembles a farm house - big welcoming lounges - super breakfast room which allows you to make drinks all day long including your evening cup of cocoa of required. The bedroom (we were in the main house) is pretty basic - but that's just exactly what you want here and it was spotlessly clean - great shower. The house sits within many acres and you're free to roam around on some lovely walks. Highland cattle(very friendly), horses,dogs and a cat give you the feeling of a farmstead. The owner - Jenny couldn't be more helpful both in her knowledge of the area and tips for eating in the nearby village of Fort Augustus - just a 10 minute stroll away alongside the loch. There are a number of lodges in the grounds avaliable for rent - ideal for families. Of all the places we stayed in during our tour of Scotland, this is the one we would return to without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireMovingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Corrie Liath B & B
Corrie Liath B & B
#11 of 26 in Fort Augustus
173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Pier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pier House

Property: Old Pier House
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Old Pier House, a Highland farmhouse on the shores of Loch Ness, near the pretty village of Fort Augustus. We offer bed and breakfast in the main house open from April to October and self-catering facilities in our Loch Ness Log Cabins which are open all year round. This is a very private location on a peninsula in Loch Ness with stunning loch and mountain views yet only a ten minute walk or a two minute drive from the centre of the village. Located in the heart of the Highlands we are ideally situated as a central base for your Scottish touring holiday. We welcome walkers, cyclists, canoeists, horses and camping groups. There is plenty of parking and storage space. The 125 year old house with magnificent views has been extended to provide comfortable en-suite ground floor bedrooms, sitting rooms with log fires and a large bright breakfast room with superb views. Originally the Old Pier House was the end of the line for the West Highland Railway where big paddle steamers carried timber, cattle and people up the loch to Inverness. The old pier still remains and provides wonderful photo opportunities, a great picnic location and moorings for small boats. We have friendly Highland cattle and ponies that graze naturally on the heather hills, fields and surrounding woodlands. We speak fluent Gaelic, French, German, Italian and Spanish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Pier House Hotel Fort Augustus
Old Pier House Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing