We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in Fort Augustus”
Review of Thistle Dubh

Thistle Dubh
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thistle Dubh
Ranked #15 of 25 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Fort Augustus”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very lovely place, great room seems to be very new and comfortable, tea and coffee which is lovely after and long walk on The Great Glen Way. Great shower and nice breakfast. TV in room and free Wi-Fi. Had a pleasant stay and would recommend a stay here. Had a homemade ham and cheese sandwich for the walk next day - tasted very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely Place, great room all very new looking,warm and comfortable, tea and coffee which is lovely after and long walk. great shower and nice breakfast. TV in room and free Wi- Fi Pleasant stay would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Margaret & Gordon run a very comfortable and clean B&B. Very nice breakfast.A nice homely feel and very helpful people with clothes drying after getting wet on our walk in the morning. Very comfy bead and clean bathroom en suite. Good value and would recommend as a good place for people on the Great Glen Way

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Arrived here on the fourth night of my walk along The Great Glen Way.
A very smart and new looking building, lovelly large room, super shower.
A great breakfast the following morning. The owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here while walking the great glen, Margaret was warm and very friendly, she was very relaxed and made you feel the same, one of the only B&B that had tv and wi fi so even better, the room and beds were comfy and breakfast was lovely, I would recommened this to anyone looking for first class accomodation in Fort A
thanks for lovely stay Andrea and Laura

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Andrea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We needed a last minute B&B as a storm was preventing us from kayaking and we got quite lucky to find this place.

The rooms were spacious and clean, the hosts were very friendly, and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathanh590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here for one night before taking part in the Corrieyairack Challenge. This B&B is one of the best we have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and very good value for money. The owners are extremely friendly and attentive. Breakfast was very tasty and set us up for the challenge ahead. First class B&B, would HIGHLY recommend it. If we were ever in the area again we would definitely stay here!! FANTASTIC!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 25 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#12 of 25 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Inn B&b
Kings Inn B&b
#18 of 25 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Dubh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Dubh

Property: Thistle Dubh
Address: Thistle Dubh Thistle Dubh Thistle Dubh, Fort Augustus PH32 4BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thistle Dubh Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing