We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thistle Dubh

Thistle Dubh
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thistle Dubh
Ranked #14 of 29 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rural retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Set in 6 acres of glorious Scottish countryside. A friendly welcome from Chico. Lovely clean room and bathroom. Nice breakfast cooked fresh by a very chatty proprietor. Be sure to take your boots off before entering the house.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TR67_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked this at the last minute and did not know what to expect. How very surprised we were to find such an immaculately clean place to stay - all rooms were a good size and very tastefully decorated. the B&B is a couple of kms out of town but that is an advantage - it was so peaceful and a delight to watch the birds in the garden as we ate a delicious breakfast. Wanted to return but we ran out of time but will definitely return on our next uk visit. Definitely recommend this place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were walking the Great Glen Way and were so exhausted by the time we got to Fort Augustus (and this seems like the bright lights compared to where we'd been earlier). We rang Margaret to say we were on our way once we'd eaten and Gordon picked us up. Fantastic, we were so grateful.

We got a massive room with TV and en suite, breakfast was delicious and generous. We didn't feel under pressure at any point, it was all great. We didn't get the joke about the name of the B&B for a while, you need to know that Dubh is pronounced "Doo"..... :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inlikeflynnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed in Fort Augustus before and we love it, this was the first time we used the Thistle Dubh and what a treat ! the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. With a spacious residents lounge. Breakfast was very nice copious tea and toast ! a real home from home we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chalkstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very lovely place, great room seems to be very new and comfortable, tea and coffee which is lovely after and long walk on The Great Glen Way. Great shower and nice breakfast. TV in room and free Wi-Fi. Had a pleasant stay and would recommend a stay here. Had a homemade ham and cheese sandwich for the walk next day - tasted very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely Place, great room all very new looking,warm and comfortable, tea and coffee which is lovely after and long walk. great shower and nice breakfast. TV in room and free Wi- Fi Pleasant stay would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Margaret & Gordon run a very comfortable and clean B&B. Very nice breakfast.A nice homely feel and very helpful people with clothes drying after getting wet on our walk in the morning. Very comfy bead and clean bathroom en suite. Good value and would recommend as a good place for people on the Great Glen Way

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#12 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Inn B&b
Kings Inn B&b
#15 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Dubh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Dubh

Property: Thistle Dubh
Address: Thistle Dubh Thistle Dubh Thistle Dubh, Fort Augustus PH32 4BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thistle Dubh Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing