We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub fayre”

The Bothy Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pub fayre”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stops serving at 8 so not that convenient, and they had run out of some of the choices before that!! Food was good, and I was able to have the haggis and neeps (though the neeps weren't mashed!)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    342
    189
    104
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

With a choice of eateries in Fort Augustus, we consider that this was an excellent find. We received a warm welcome, not only from the owner (always nice to see the owner working in a place) but also our waitress. The portions of food are quite large, and the fish and chips are great! (Home made batter!) They make a point of mentioning that they source as much food as possible from local suppliers. It was also nice to see white wine actually served chilled! (An excellent Chardonnay) Excellent value for money and we would have no hesitation in returning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Didn't manage to eat here”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived cold and wet and asked for coffee with lunch. The machine was broken. Asked for tea. That's the same machine! No kettle? Sorry, no! We left.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Snecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OK but nothing more”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We used the Bothy both as a pub and as a restaurant during a recent weekend in Fort Augustus. As a pub, the cask ale was a tasty pint and it served up a decent cup of coffee, although the barmaid could have been a bit cheerier and welcoming.

For dinner, our starters of venison pate and cullen skink were highlights but the skink could have been warmer. Our fish and chips main courses were huge portions and good value for money. Desserts were OK, but nothing special. One dessert was sent back as it had cold custard and the replacement was pretty much the same unfortunately. We couldn't be bothered sending it back a second time. On the plus side the restaurant staff were an improvement from the previous days barmaid.

Overall I'd say OK pub grub with some courses better than others. Nice family atmosphere in the restaurant, mixed staff, but OK value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilsner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“pleasant lunch”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Popped in for lunch on a Saturday whilst we were staying nearby, the bar and conservatory/restaurant area were both very busy but we managed to get the last table in the conservatory! After a short while a very polite young waitress came and took our food and drinks order. Garlic bread for starters and then I had a cheese toastie while my boyfriend had a burger, overall we were pleased with the food, just sort of typical pub food. It was cheap and cheerful with friendly staff. Would return if we were in the area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bothy Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to The Bothy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing