We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal”

The Bothy Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“great meal”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

the bothy serves up a great meal with excellent service at a great price and a very good pint of tenents lager, worth a visit if you are in fort augustus, but don't be too late, it does get very busy for lunch and evening meal

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    334
    180
    101
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing special.. ”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We'd arrived at what must have been there busy time with only one table free. A good sign you'd think.
I was disappointed, I'd eaten here once before and it was excellent, today however was just mediocre. We ordered Haggis to start, think it would be served typically with mashed neeps etc. No, solid lumps of turnip on top of oatcakes the topped off with the haggis, looked great but then the oatcakes were soggy, turnip undercooked and haggis wasn't anything special.
We both ordered different types of chicken main courses. Have to say, to hot to taste what it was supposed to be flavoured with, the sauce on mine wasn't really a sauce it was just what can only be described as a watery cream.. presentation wise, I think you may be stuck in the 70's with the salad garnish.. didn't stretch to desserts, maybe that was a good thing..
Staff however were friendly enough, albeit no older than 18!!

Helpful?
1 Thank bullchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good Food & Excellent Service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Ate here a couple of days ago on our way to Oban. The food was very tasty and fairly priced. Quick attentive service by the lovely friendly staff. Will definately stop here again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudydudy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived around 17.30 to find that most things were off the menu, to the point I asked what was left...
The meal itself was okay, but it was a case of hobsons choice as everthing else I liked was off. Service was slow and it wasnt even that busy.
Think what made it worse was the fact were were sitting by the window, watching the kitchen staff smoking then going back to the kitchen...very off putting.
Would I go there again I doubt it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyers2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indaiatuba, SP
Level Contributor
331 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“medium”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

a medium restaurant in fort augustus ,loch ness,typical scotland food,but not superb.
price good,if you are travelling and stop to eat ,ok.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bothy Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to The Bothy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing