We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome awaits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 26 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Really enjoyed our one night stay at Mavisburn. We were a party of four adults and one teenager and all of us could have stayed here for a lot longer. Excellent location for touring the West of Scotland, would definitely like to return to enjoy the hospitality which is second to none. Couldn't fault it from the breakfast to the bedrooms and, of course, our hosts, so friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimH177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Hello and thank you so much for your lovely review.

John and I are really pleased that you all enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to help in ensuring that your stay was a good one.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Scotland and thank you again for your kind review.

You would be more than welcome should you find your way up here again.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed (unfortunately) only for one night but loved it. This B&B is located very quiet just a couple of minutes outside of Fort Augustus and simply beautiful. The house itself is clean and wonderfully decorated, the hosts are very friendly and the breakfast just right. Sitting in the breakfast/living room you have a nice view on a beautyfully arranged garden. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HugoHackenbusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review on your short stay here with us. John and I are really pleased that although, as you say it was a short stay, you nevertheless enjoyed our peaceful haven in the forest!

Thank you again, it was a pleasure to meet you all.

Kind regards
Elaine & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We only stayed there one night as a stopover on our way to Skye. The best thing I can say is I wish we could have stopped for longer. Lovely setting in the middle of a forest clearing; very quiet and peaceful; and very dark at night - no street lights! We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and during our short stay; great breakfast to start our day and onward journey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hello Alan and thank you for this lovely review.

John and I are really pleased that we helped make your onward journey to Skye a memorable one for you both! We hope that you enjoyed your stay on the Island and had a good journey back home.

Thank you again, we appreciate your comments greatly.

Best wishes to you both
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Lovely setting, friendly and welcoming hosts, clean and fabulous rooms, what more could one ask for? Breakfast was excellent and the hosts couldn't do enough in making us comfortable. Thoroughly recommended a stay here, if you are not in the area, get yourself there, it will be worth it!!

Room Tip: Clicked on the pool and fitness thing by accident and the stupid thing won't let me undo it, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you Lynne for putting a lovely review on your stay here with us.

We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your 2 nights with us and that we helped make your stay an enjoyable one.

It was lovely to meet you all and we hope that you had a good trip back down South.

Thanks again.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our stay at Mavisburn was altogether too brief. We selected based on Trip Advisor reviews as a stop over point on a journey south, so we expected it to be good, but we were blown away by the experience. The hosts were brilliant - attentive, friendly, welcoming, but also discrete, all of which contributed to a very relaxing atmosphere. The facilities are excellent, warm, and well appointed; the breakfast was most enjoyable and the location stunning, even when viewed through a dismal wet December day!

A stay at Mavisburn is to be thoroughly recommended - you are unlikely to be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroatieBuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your short stay with us, and we are both delighted that you felt very relaxed and comfortable too!

We try to make our guests stay with us, as enjoyable as possible, no matter how long they are with us and by receiving reviews on your experiences, ensures we are are hopefully keeping on track with our aims.

Thank you once again and we hope that you enjoyed your trip down south.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Mavisburn B&B in Fort Augustus, Scotland. After a monumental drive (8-ish hours due to traffic!) my wife and I arrived to be greeted with a warm welcome, cup of tea and some biscuits (Which was most appreciated!). Having got married on the Friday and travelling up to Scotland on the saturday for a surprise weekend away, I was able to communicate with John and Elaine (The proprietors) before-hand and they arranged to have some sparkling wine and chocolates in my room ready for our arrival (I requested this, so don't just expect it!) and we both really appreciated them going out of their way to accomodate us like that. Set in absolutely stunning "middle of nowhere" type surroundings, to say the Mavisburn B&B was idyllic would be an understatement! We live in the city close to motorways, main roads and airports and so the peace and tranquility afforded by this location was appreciated before we even set foot in the door. Aside from John and Elaine themselves who are the perfect hosts (Attentive without being intrusive, full of local knowledge and always ready to point you in the right direction - Not to mention the architects of a fantastic breakfast!), the actual B&B is immaculate and homely. You don't feel like you're in a show-home, nor do you feel like you're in a museum where nothing can be touched - The best comparison I can make is it's as though you're staying with friends. Friends with a bloody nice house! The rooms are warm and cosy, the beds comfortable and large enough to accomodate my 6'5'' frame easilly - honestly, it was like sleeping in a big marshmallow - I didn't want to get out of bed! Honestly, Everything you've read in other Tripadvisor reviews and even my own won't really do the place and the hosts justice, you've got to see and experience it yourself to believe it - if you're looking to stay in the western highlands at any point - Mavisburn really needs to be your first port-of-call.

Room Tip: No room service or fitness centre as this is a B&B however, we stayed in the standard double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Wow! Thank you Andy and Joanna for such a lovely, detailed review on your stay here with us! We are absolutely delighted that we helped to make your honeymoon weekend a memorable one. We were delighted to have helped in some small way and we appreciate your kind comments greatly!

As you mentioned in your review, we will try to do our best to meet everyone's requests to help make their stay an enjoyable and comfortable one too. Guests only need to ask.

Enjoy your new life together and look after each other too!

Thank you again, we are delighted to have helped with your plans.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Touring Scotland with hubby we booked Mavisburn on reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Excellent communication on booking with very clear instructions on how to find the B&B (thank you much appreciated as would have struggled without!). The B&B is tucked away in a quiet hamlet within the forest and thus was very peaceful & dark. Elaine was extremely welcoming with tea, biscuits, local history & advice on where to visit (and where not to visit) on our next days travelling. She also gave good recommendations on where to eat that evening and offered us an extensive library of DVDs to view if we so wished. The room was spotless and well equipped. Breakfast the next morning was served overlooking the garden where we could see the mists over mountains & forest. The food was excellent and set us up nicely for our day travelling from Fort Augustus to Kyle of Lochalsh - with many stops between.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank First-time-in-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing your short stay with us. We appreciate your comments and I am delighted to see that the information that we send to our guests, prior to arrival, is proving a hit and a help too!

I am so pleased also, that you were comfortable during your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction, we do try our best for all our guests and it is great when we receive positive feedback.

Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday around Scotland and thank you both again, it was lovely to meet you both.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0 mi away
Kettle House B&B
Kettle House B&B
#1 of 26 in Fort Augustus
196 reviews
0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,261 reviews
0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
410 reviews
0 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast

Address: Mavis Burn 2 The Steadings, Fort Augustus PH32 4BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mavisburn B&B offers 3 rooms on a Bed and Breakfast basis. The B&B is situated in a forested area, just 2.5 Miles (approx 3.75 Kms) from the centre of Fort Augustus. We have a large Superior Double room and a standard double room, both with en-suite facilities, along with a single room, which has it's own private shower facilities opposite the room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing