We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room for the Night”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Arrived in the rain, couldn't get to our room till 4:00pm but that was ok. Checked out Fort Augusta which doesn't take long but is pretty. Room was what we expected, wasn't big, but comfy- breakfast was awesome (thanks for the salmon & scrambled eggs) had more on menu for those that don't like salmon - hosts were very friendly. Good Stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaThe2Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

we stopped here for a one night stay ,everything you needed lovely and clean,nice shower .breakfast very nice,
Ideally located walk out of b&b straight to the locks and shops and places to eat Perfect . off street parking only one thing we noticed was no suitcase stand but that a minor thing overall lovely would use again .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller2371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent B&B, very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Room was compact but very clean and well equipped. Within view of canal locks with a good selection of places to eat virtually across the road. Good parking and great location for Loch Ness and the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Abbey Cottage. Lovely warm welcome. Nice room, pleasantly decorated and comfortable. Breakfast - very nice indeed. Location was perfect. I was a bit nervous as it is situated close to the main road through Fort Augustus but we were assured that the road is peaceful after about 9pm. This was in fact the case and we had a lovely time. Thank you. Would recommend a bit of gardening to make the outlook at breakfast time a bit nicer and to encourage more people to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

No need for an essay: the place is compact (but not in any way cramped), comfortable and very clean. The owners are friendly and helpful and the cottage is right in the centre of the action, next to the Caledonian Canal and swing bridge, and close to most of the village eating places. It ticks all the boxes, including good value.

On the basis of staying one night I'd have no hesitation in staying again for longer, if only to explore the interesting and unusual breakfast options.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BallsPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Best location b&b on The Great Glen Way. Rooms spotlessly clean, not huge but very comfy, lovely little extras, great shower, good quality tea/coffee etc. Breakfast very good, great in the conservatory looking at the comings and goings on the swing bridge. Hosts very friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely stay again. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Walking the Great Glen Way, we stayed at Abbey Cottage. Very welcoming host, clean and cosy attic style room with big comfy bed. Great location, handy for local pubs and cafes. Good breakfast to set us up for the day ahead!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fr8n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 27 in Fort Augustus
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kettle House B&B
Kettle House B&B
#1 of 27 in Fort Augustus
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond House Hotel
Richmond House Hotel
#12 of 27 in Fort Augustus
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corrie Liath B & B
Corrie Liath B & B
#11 of 27 in Fort Augustus
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Abbey Cottage Main Street | Off the A82 between the former Benedictine Abbey and the Caledonian Canal, Fort Augustus PH32 4BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £50 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of Fort Augustus. We offer 4 fully en-suite bedrooms throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Cottage Bed And Breakfast Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing