We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking The Great Glen Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 29 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walking The Great Glen Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights (days 2 to 5 of 7) whilst walking The Great Glen Way.
A perfect base in very homely accommodation, on the doorstep for good bars and eating houses with an excellent breakfast to set you up for the days walking.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    19
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
104
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in this lovely B & B. It's a perfect location for exploring Loch Ness and the Highlands. Our hosts were very welcoming and interesting to chat with. Breakfast was good. The room was nicely appointed and the shower was awesome. Will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank studioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Abbey Cottage is in a great location, and the owners are friendly and engaging. The rooms were clean and comfortable. breakfast was also great, with plenty of different choices you don't find in the average B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Arrived in the rain, couldn't get to our room till 4:00pm but that was ok. Checked out Fort Augusta which doesn't take long but is pretty. Room was what we expected, wasn't big, but comfy- breakfast was awesome (thanks for the salmon & scrambled eggs) had more on menu for those that don't like salmon - hosts were very friendly. Good Stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaThe2Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

we stopped here for a one night stay ,everything you needed lovely and clean,nice shower .breakfast very nice,
Ideally located walk out of b&b straight to the locks and shops and places to eat Perfect . off street parking only one thing we noticed was no suitcase stand but that a minor thing overall lovely would use again .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller2371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent B&B, very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Room was compact but very clean and well equipped. Within view of canal locks with a good selection of places to eat virtually across the road. Good parking and great location for Loch Ness and the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Abbey Cottage. Lovely warm welcome. Nice room, pleasantly decorated and comfortable. Breakfast - very nice indeed. Location was perfect. I was a bit nervous as it is situated close to the main road through Fort Augustus but we were assured that the road is peaceful after about 9pm. This was in fact the case and we had a lovely time. Thank you. Would recommend a bit of gardening to make the outlook at breakfast time a bit nicer and to encourage more people to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Abbey Cottage Main Street | Off the A82 between the former Benedictine Abbey and the Caledonian Canal, Fort Augustus PH32 4BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of Fort Augustus. We offer 4 fully en-suite bedrooms throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Cottage Bed And Breakfast Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing