We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome, Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 29 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Welcome, Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the second time we've stayed here (last time was in May 2011). The warm welcome from our hosts, the quality of the room, and the breakfast was as good as our first stay. We had the back double and single rooms upstairs, and both rooms were comfy, clean and had everything you could want, including a well stocked tea tray. Breakfast - we were spoiled for choice - ended up having 2 Scottish breakfasts (love the haggis!) and Mum had the omelets which she thoroughly enjoyed.

We'll definitely be back when we're up that way again - its such a lovely B&B, with friendly & welcoming hosts, and its in a wonderful setting (Fort Augustus is truly charming).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    19
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
104
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a wonderful B&B. The host is very personable and helpful.A wonderful breakfast was served and was amazed that there is a specials board, not seen that in a B&B before. Loved the in-house movie selection, again not seen this anywhere before. Room was sparkling clean and tidy as were all facilities. Lovely warm and quiet room which was overlooking a cricket pitch. Cannot believe that people would find anything to criticise and I am a bit of a diva when it comes to staying in hotels or B&B's. I highly recommend Abbey Cottage and will definitely stay here again if lucky enough to visit Scotland again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrijed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Whilst our first floor front bedroom was not over large, there is everything that you need, including a great walk-in shower.(no bath) TV/Wi-Fi/Etc Etc. The large double bed was very comfortable. Although overlooking the main road, we were not bothered by the traffic during the night, but we experienced a little bit of noise from the shower of the next room. There is a great selection of food for breakfast, and the whole building is spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wonderful B&B, wonderful host, wonderful breakfast. Loved the in-house movies available. Very handy to Great Glen way. Highly recommended. Room was SUPER clean and tidy as were all facilities viewed. Lovely warm and quiet room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey324533564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The room was nicely arranged despite very low roof + high rate of humidity (smells....)
Well equiped. Comfortable bed.

I had (bad) pancakes with raisins when displayed was blueberries. It was replaced, but globally this is the cheapest breakfast I had in Scotland.

Staff was...."special"

Would not recommend the place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fortaugustusdotorg, Owner at Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
We are sorry that this reviewer did not enjoy their stay with us, and as you will see we do not normally respond but we thought that a score of 2 out of 5 was a little derisory considering our previous reviews.
We have to admit that our pancakes were labelled incorrectly on the specials board and for this we apologise, however the pancakes this reviewer had is a popular choice for those with a sweet tooth.
We must admit that we would not like to speculate what “special” or “weird” mean for fear of taking offence, however we advise that this reviewer looks for a considerably higher standard of accommodation in future as we clearly cannot provide the level they require.
We are glad you liked the bed and the facilities in your room though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights (days 2 to 5 of 7) whilst walking The Great Glen Way.
A perfect base in very homely accommodation, on the doorstep for good bars and eating houses with an excellent breakfast to set you up for the days walking.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in this lovely B & B. It's a perfect location for exploring Loch Ness and the Highlands. Our hosts were very welcoming and interesting to chat with. Breakfast was good. The room was nicely appointed and the shower was awesome. Will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank studioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Abbey Cottage Main Street | Off the A82 between the former Benedictine Abbey and the Caledonian Canal, Fort Augustus PH32 4BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of Fort Augustus. We offer 4 fully en-suite bedrooms throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Cottage Bed And Breakfast Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing