We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated B&B” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corrie Liath B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corrie Liath B & B
Ranked #11 of 29 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Canada
1 review
“Over rated B&B”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived with friends and found one of our bedroom's did not have a ensuit as booked, the bedrooms were very small with very little room for luggage. There was no chairs in bedroom so if you wanted to read or watch TV you had to sit on end of bed, you couldn't sit up in bed as the roof cut in at a sharp angle. There was no common area for guests to share to visit, read or watch TV. The bed had no top sheet just a duvae and the linen and towels were only changed every four days. They had no fresh fruit or yogurt with breakfast. We traveled Ireland and Scotland for 24 days and they were the only B&B that charged 10 percent down upon booking, now I see why they did, so be aware.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
All our rooms have their own bathroom either en-suite or private, 3 months before you stayed you chose to book one en-suite and one with private bathroom which was across the corridor. This information is clear on the website and was confirmed in the booking email. Because of the Loch Ness marathon we were full for the first night so unable to move you but did so at no extra charge to an empty en-suite room for the second night.

All our rooms have storage for 2 large suitaces under the beds and are average sized for Scotland. I don't understand why you couldn't sit upright in bed as our other guests manage to do so.

All our rooms have a comfortable folding chair, because most of our guests just use the bedroom for sleeping this is kept in the wardrobe unless needed.

The barbecue hut we have in the garden is used for our guests for socialising, the fire being lit for warmth, cooking or just ambience makes it a very popular place and was well used this year.

It is general practice in the UK to have a bottom sheet and duvet for bedding.

Although the Scottish Tourist Board do recommend linen and towels are changed every 4 days as you only stayed 2 days this is irrelevant.

We offer 4 traditional Scottish breakfasts which do not include yoghurt and fruit. All these breakfasts are listed in detail on our website complete with photographs.

Again it is ususal practice to ask for a small deposit on booking.

We are visited every year by Visit Scotland who confirm that we meet their requirements as a 3 star Guesthouse.

This is the first time in 6 years guests have tried to leave without paying their outstanding account.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we work very hard to make our guests' stay enjoyable and do everything we can to exceed their expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    39
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
65
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We, a group of 7 adults stayed at Corrie Liath B&B for 1 night of Sep 16, 2013. The bedrooms were small but clean and comfortable with toilet-ensuit. We enjoyed our barbecue dinner in the barbecue hut of the house. The owner, Andy prepared charcoal and eqipment in the barbecue hut for us with price only 5 GBP. The owners were friendly and hospitality. In my opinion, the house was too far to walk to Caledonian canal and Nessie wire sculpture of Fort Augustus. But we drove easily to city of Fort Augustus in few minutes. Full cooked scottish breakfast was good and delicious. In the morning, we enjoyed watching a lot of birds in the garden from the dining room.

Room Tip: Rooms at upper floor seems to be more privacy than the rooms at the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank umawadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed over for 1 night on way to Skye, Andy & Caroline are a lovely couple, very welcoming. The B&B was very clean, the choice of breakfast was really good but we opted for the full scottish, which was amazing. The centre is only a 10 - 15 minute walk so ideal location, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Glad you enjoyed your breakfast and your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Corrie Liath, and we can say that it is a beautiful b&b. The owners are very kind; they like chatting with their guests, above all the husband (it is a charming couple indeed). The rooms aren't very big, and a bit old fashioned, mountain style; if you stay at the ground floor you can hear the noises from the first floor, but they have all you need for a cosy stay: they are clean, quiet, with TV and DVD player and some books about the Highlands. The bb is quite far from the small centre of Fort Augustus, so we suggest to stop here only if you've got your own car (the owners offer a taxi service but it costs aprox. 5 pounds). The husband is also a good cook, and he makes fresh pancakes and a good full scottish breakfast. In the garden there is an amazing sauna-barbecue and a lot of birds. Nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have larger rooms but find that the smaller double is popular because of its more affordable price. Our rooms are in keeping with our location as naturally our guests like to experience the Scottish way. The 10 minute walk to the village is enjoyed by many of our guests after a day spent in the car especially if they take the route alongside the canal. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for one night on a motorbike tour of Scotland. Perfect location with parking for the bikes, on the outskirts of Fort Augustus but a short walk into town for the evening meal.

Very welcoming, rooms were all en suite/ had their own bathroom and everything was clean warm and well proportioned. They even have a BBQ room in the garden with a drinks fridge if you want to just sit and chill out for the evening - a nice touch. Breakfast was perfectly cooked with cereals and juices etc available.

Perfect location for exploring the area and couldn't be more comfortable here - would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wapscallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a lovely time at this b&b and nothing was too much trouble for Andy and Caroline! They are very friendly and happy to share any local information. Breakfast was super tasty and would recommend the haggis and scrambled eggs! They have a special BBQ hut and a well stocked with a mini bar and they operate an honesty box. The beds were incredibly comfortable so thanks to both for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beano2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

How lucky where we to come across this B&B The owners where great, rooms fantastic and the breakfast was unbelievable there was a choice of 4 different ones. Andy and Caroline could not do enough for you. Great place beautiful setting would go back.

Room Tip: Any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
1.3 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#12 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corrie Liath B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corrie Liath B & B

Property: Corrie Liath B & B
Address: Market Hill, Fort Augustus PH32 4DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double rooms from £55 per room per night including breakfast. Situated in a quiet location on the edge of the village and just a 10 minute walk to the centre where you will find plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops. All rooms have a lovely view, either of the local mountains or of our garden which has lots of birds including pheasants, partridges and woodpeckers. All our rooms have recently been renovated and have their own bright modern shower room. All rooms have free wifi, tea and coffee trays, complimentary toiletries, flat screen tv with dvd player, a selection of dvds and books and a hair dryer. We offer a choice of four different breakfasts served at flexible times. If you prefer we can swap breakfast for a packed lunch. We have an unusual hut in our garden for the use of our guests to relax in, ideal for friends to get together. We have plenty of off road parking and bicycle storage. Everyone is welcome, including walkers, cyclists and bikers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Corrie Liath B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corrie Liath B & B Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing