We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant twin-room, garden views + birds/rabbits - and a huge shower!!”
Review of Corrie Liath B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corrie Liath B & B
Ranked #11 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Little to add to all of the good reviews, but just to correct one erroneous review - the twin room overlooking the garden has a full en-suite with a HUGE SHOWER with sliding door, so twice the size of most B&B en-suite showers.
Otherwise, an excellent stay in this top of the range B&B, which we - like others - describe as a 'lucky find'. It isn't so strange is it that for a couple running a B&B like this - the harder they work, the luckier we their guests get !!

Thanks, folks - see you in Fort Augustus again one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear if you are bothered by traffic though, as someone who is often disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lonesometravellerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

This room is one of the nicest in our opinion and the newly refurbished shower room is definitely appreciated by guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I arrived here with my boyfriend and my family to spend a few days travelling around Loch Ness and chose this place as a resting spot. I have to say that from the moment we arrived Andy and Caroline could not have been nicer. The breakfast each morning was gorgeous. We were lucky enough with the weather on the Saturday to be able to use the fabulous BBQ hut and Andy helped us out a lot in setting it up! Anything we needed they were happy to oblige us with and they were full of information about where to go to eat and drink and places to see. I would highly recommend this b&b to everyone

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

The barbecue hut is an ideal place for a group to gather in the evening and is often popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We're just back from spending a few days in the Corrie Liath and I have to say our stay was faultless. The owners, Andy and Caroline are the nicest people you could meet and nothing was too much trouble. They pride themselves on offering a standard of service you won't find elsewhere.
The breakfasts were fantastic and we also got a chance to use the BBQ hut which was pure class.
If you're planning a stay around Lough Ness I can not recommend this guest house enough. It's just a short walk from the Fort Augustus village and is convenient for everything.

Thanks again Andy and Caroline. We really appreciate all you did to make our stay a brilliant one!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Happy to have you stay, luckily the weather allowed you to really appreciate the outside deck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when we were touring Scotland. The twin room was lovely, with every possible convenience and a great shower room. Caroline and Andy were very friendly and helpful, making us feel really welcome. Breakfast was very nice, especially as we ate in the dining room overlooking their beautiful garden, where we could watch a huge variety of birds, including a pheasant and also a rabbit feeding. A 15 min walk to centre of Fort Augustus, but this meant we were not eaten by "midgies" from the Loch!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the garden and are very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PetetheHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Being that little distance from the centre of the village and Loch Ness does mean we don't have a problem with midgies or noise from the pubs and restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A lovely place , with a BBQ hut in the garden incl. a fridge were the guests can have cold drinks after a long day´s drive to Fort Augustus. The centre of the village with the restaurants is in walking distance (10-15 min). The hosts are very nice, the breakfeast is very good, and the beds are really comfortable (good & firm mattresses). I would stay again at Corrie Liath for the next trip to Fort Augustus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Caroline and Andy couldn't have been more helpful and have thought of everything! From homemade jams to inner tubes, from every information leaflet and guide book you might need to permanent entertainment at the bird table. We were made to feel very welcome and the rooms, although not spacious, were well furnished and equipped and most importantly clean! We can highly recommend Corrie Liath as a good central point for stopping as we did on a touring holiday or for a longer stay to use as a base for Central Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

It seems all the birds in the area know we serve a good birdie breakfast and come to eat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

In response to a couple of reviews I would like to say that I booked the small double room with private facilities and found the room was indeed small, just as described on the website, and the private facilities were not en suite. The shower room was high quality, pristinely clean and well worth the short hop across the corridor! The room was fully equipped with nothing missing. It was absolutely fine! Another review mentioned Corrie Liath being expensive. We did find that all the B and Bs in Scotland were a little more expensive than we had expected. In Fort Augustus, a tourist hub, predictably prices were a little more than elsewhere, however Corrie Liath offered extras! The breakfast menu offered a wide choice of the predictable traditional cooked breakfast and also some wonderful alternatives including delicious home-made pancakes and sauce. Mmmm….. Furthermore what also sets Corrie Liath apart from the average B and B is the outside seating area and the BBQ and beer fridge with an honesty box, not to mention the cleanliness. The hosts had thought of everything. Add on to this their friendliness, hospitality, helpfulness and their ability to be so well organised, this has to be the number one B and B choice in Fort Augustus. Thank you Andy and Caroline.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ACM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrieliath, Owner at Corrie Liath B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this very informative review. It is important that our guests understand that a private shower room is not the same as an ensuite, but is a bathroom for the sole use of the occupants of the room but is across the hallway and not in the bedroom. Our smaller rooms are competitively priced so if you only intend to use it for sleeping it is a popular choice, everything else is the same with a well stocked drinks basket, bottled water, tv with dvd player, complimentary toiletries etc. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.5 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 27 in Fort Augustus
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Richmond House Hotel
Richmond House Hotel
#13 of 27 in Fort Augustus
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kettle House B&B
Kettle House B&B
#1 of 27 in Fort Augustus
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corrie Liath B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corrie Liath B & B

Address: Market Hill, Fort Augustus PH32 4DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double rooms from £55 per room per night including breakfast. Situated in a quiet location on the edge of the village and just a 10 minute walk to the centre where you will find plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops. All rooms have a lovely view, either of the local mountains or of our garden which has lots of birds including pheasants, partridges and woodpeckers. All our rooms have recently been renovated and have their own bright modern shower room. All rooms have free wifi, tea and coffee trays, complimentary toiletries, flat screen tv with dvd player, a selection of dvds and books and a hair dryer. We offer a choice of four different breakfasts served at flexible times. If you prefer we can swap breakfast for a packed lunch. We have an unusual hut in our garden for the use of our guests to relax in, ideal for friends to get together. We have plenty of off road parking and bicycle storage. Everyone is welcome, including walkers, cyclists and bikers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Corrie Liath B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corrie Liath B & B Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing