We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but musty smell”
Review of Tigh Na Mairi B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tigh Na Mairi B&B
Ranked #13 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Real shame the property has a musty smell, which gets you if you waken up through the night. Julie is a very warm person who looked after us well during our stay. Still some decorative work to finish off which will further enhance the feel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Julie and Clive made us very welcome from the start. The room, though a wee bit small, was very comfortable and the view onto the canal was a delight. The breakfast was ready when we wanted it, and was wonderful.
They run a very good b&b and are not intrusive in the slightest.
Excellent value for money and well worth a visit, right on the Great Glen Way, or just for a visit to fort Augustus. Look no further than here.

Room Tip: Don't look anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gusedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We needed a family room but the only available was a double on the grouund floor, small and with very small bathroom and with no inroom wifi. Nevertheless we have been charged for the child too (never paid so much in a beb during this trip to Scotland). The place smelled musty. The location is nice and quite, breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Ideally situated on the Caledonian Canal just above the locks at Fort
Augustus. A short walk to places to eat in the town. (would recommend
the Boathouse) The place is being renovated at the moment but it's
spotlessly clean, the rooms are lovely and bright and you get a really
good breakfast. Clive and Julie are really good hosts and offer a 3 day
option for the Great Glen Way picking you up and dropping you off again
at key points around Fort Augustus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My family (4 adults +one 9 yrs old girl + one 17mnth old boy) spent 4 nights at Tigh Na Mairi. It was an excellent stay, we enjoyed it very very much! Julie and Clive were really friendly towards us, our rooms were always kept neat and tidy, breakfast was served proply and deliciously! (my toddler son still keeps mentioning repeatedly the lady who served breakfast...!) We were told good advices where to go and what to see, and the location - next to the Caledonian Channel, just a stone's throw from Loch Ness - is more than scenic. It is well worth going and staying there, folks; highly reccommended to visit the place!

Room Tip: Upper rooms view to the Caledonian Channel, marvellous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank László H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Ideal, quiet, tranquil, location near to village & Loch Ness, lovely breakfast, Julie & Clive are friendly, helpful & obviously very caring hosts - what's not to like. We've stayed here many times, always book Tigh Na Mairi 1st (and sometimes 2nd & 3rd) when visiting Scotland and keep returning, so something must be right. Can't reccomend enough, easily 5/5.

Martin & Tracy East Yorkhire

Room Tip: Any, all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were traveling around Scotland as a family of four and tried to find b&b that could give us comfortable stays at not too much expense. In Fort Augustus we found this in the absolute lovely b&b Tigh Na Mairi. Nice rooms, very nice bathrooms, good breakfast and the very lovely view of the beautiful canal, away from houses and trafic. And on top of that our lovely hosts Julie and Clive. Thank you. We will be back another time.

Torben and Emelie

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Torben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 27 in Fort Augustus
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kettle House B&B
Kettle House B&B
#1 of 27 in Fort Augustus
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond House Hotel
Richmond House Hotel
#12 of 27 in Fort Augustus
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corrie Liath B & B
Corrie Liath B & B
#11 of 27 in Fort Augustus
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Na Mairi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Mairi B&B

Address: Tigh Na Mairi Canalside, Fort Augustus PH32 4BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh na Mairi's original buliding is nearly 200 years old with stunning views of the surrounding mountains and down the Caledonain Canal and Great Glen. Built on the bank of the famous Caledonain Canal at the top lock of the village of Fort Augustus, yet less than 5 minutes walk into the centre. The flight of locks from the top lock down goes down to the even more famous Loch Ness, home of Nessie the Loch Ness Monster.We have 2 double bedrooms and 1 triple bedroom all with en-suite facility, hospitality trays and hair dryers in all the rooms, private parking, wifi with a guest lounge and outdoor seating area.A traditonal hearty Scottish breakfast is served each morning, as well as cereals, fruit, yogurts,orange juice, tea/coffee and toast.Cyclists, motorbikers, walkers, canoeists/kayakers, golfers all welcome.Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Mairi B&B Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing