We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Scenery”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tigh Na Mairi Cottage
Ranked #13 of 26 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This B&B is right on the Great Glen Way and on the Caledonian Canal towpath, right at the top of the Fort Augustus locks. The views from every point of the house is spectacular and whiling the time away watching the canal traffic is fascinating.

The B&B is very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Julie and Clive are lovely people and great hosts.

Will definitely stay here again

Linda & Davy
Edinburgh

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank DavyPandhisTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Very welcoming hosts, nice rooms in lovely Fort Augustus.Great breakfast at a good price. We sat outside with wine and the scenery was awesome on a lovely summers evening. Ideally sited for GGW walkers right on the walk as you enter Fort Augustus

Room Tip: Rooms are on the smallish side but nicely done, we were at the back with no view. Top floor front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oowweenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

While walking the GGW we stayed atTigh na mairri for two nights.
The location is brilliant it is right beside the calidonian canal just south
of Fort William just after the lochs right on the GGW...Stunning
Julie & Clive make you feel very welcome with alot of local knowledge
with advice were to eat in the evening.
Lovely rooms, very comfortable, very nice breakfast with a menu to choose from.
hopefully be back soon .
My self, Sue, Joanne, ejoyed our stay Thank you both
Tony.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJTDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

On arriving at the Tigh Na Mairi, we were greeted by the owner Julie who was
very welcoming and made us feel at home. The room was lovely over looking the canal and
magnificent view of the mountains The breakfast was great with a wide choice
and nothing was to much trouble. We were traveling on motorcycles and provision was
made so we had safe parking. To say the least Julie and Clive made our stay enjoyable
cant wait to stay again

Room Tip: ask for the front upstairs room over looking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Julie and Clive (the owners) were very welcoming towards us and extremely accommodating to the strange requests and requirements from the visit I and my friends had when we stopped over on the way to and from Ben Nevis (Tigh Na Mairi is halfway between the airport near Inverness and Ben Nevis near Fort William). The rooms are modern and kept clean with en-suite bathroom or shower and also have small screen remote control freeview tv should you find the quiet all too quiet! The surrounding area in fine weather is simply stunning and well worth stopping here to see. That coupled with a suitable B&B for couples, families or small groups. Oh and the beds were freshly made up before our arrival and very comfortable. Thanks Julie and Clive for making our adventure in Scotland so easy and enjoyable.

Fort Augustus is a charming small town with plenty to see and do on a weekend break and not too far away are more activities for all interest and budgets for longer stays.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs facing the canal have the best views (also the one I was in had a bath).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Thank you Julie and Clive for a very warm welcome and sharing your knowledge of the district, it helped us appreciate the spectacular area. Comfortable beds were wonderful after busy days, lovely hot shower.
The view from our room at night overlooking the canal was magic with the lights sparkling on the water.
Breakfast was just how we like it, Will be back.
JP & Colin, NZ

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Despite our late arriving we were warmly welcome by Julie. The location by the canal is lovely and at walking distance from the center of Fort Augustus. The children really appriciated their first british breakfast with eggs sausages, baked beans.... The bathrooms were spotless and the family room facing our double bed room was very convenient as we have three children.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 26 in Fort Augustus
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kettle House B&B
Kettle House B&B
#1 of 26 in Fort Augustus
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Na Mairi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Mairi Cottage

Address: Tigh Na Mairi Canalside, Fort Augustus PH32 4BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh na Mairi's original buliding is nearly 200 years old with stunning views of the surrounding mountains and down the Caledonain Canal and Great Glen. Built on the bank of the famous Caledonain Canal at the top lock of the village of Fort Augustus, yet less than 5 minutes walk into the centre. The flight of locks from the top lock down goes down to the even more famous Loch Ness, home of Nessie the Loch Ness Monster. We have 3 double bedrooms all with en-suite facility, hospitality trays and hair dryers in all the rooms, private parking, wifi with a guest lounge and outdoor seating area. A self service continental style breakfast is served each morning, which consists of as cereals, fruit, yogurts,orange juice, tea/coffee and toast.Cyclists, motorbikers, walkers, canoeists/kayakers, golfers all welcome.Open all year round. Can be rented if available minimum of a 3 night stay as a self catering cottage for up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Mairi Cottage Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing